Extended Audio Sample

Download Extinction: A Thriller Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Extinction: A Thriller, by Mark Alpert Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (91 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Mark Alpert Narrator: Todd McLaren Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A malevolent, artificial life form created by military scientists threatens to destroy humanity in this smart, Crichtonesque thriller.

Download and start listening now!

BK_TANT_002862

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Kristin Lundgren | 2/18/2014

    " A really great Crichtonesque novel of AIs reaching Singularity in the not too distant future. Jim Pierce, an ex-military designer of robotic bio-enhanced prostheses for veterans, is estranged from his hacker daughter Layla, but a Chinese assassin shows up at his lab, looking for information on her, and Jim knows that she needs his help. Enlisting help along the way from various people from his past, and a new "partner," Kirsten Chan, from the NSA, he goes looking for Layla. It turns out that the Chinese, working with others, have created an AI called "Supreme Harmony," a self-aware, self replicating bio interface with swarm intelligence that plans to take the earth from man. Utilizing swarm technology, and drones the size of flies, as well as human/machine hybrids, Supreme Harmony plans to make it look like the US is behind some recent attacks on China, thus escalating a global war. Pierce, with his super enhanced bionic arm, is able to hunt down and find Layla, and work to dismantle the group. All in all, it's fun, readable, and moves along swiftly. While I thought Suarez's Daemon was better in terms of AI, that was in a different form, and this is pure bioengineering, the true Singularity. From the author's website: "All the technologies described in Extinction are real. [The novel's author is a contributing editor at Scientific American, which has reported on the recent advances in brain-machine interfaces.] In one form or another, our machines will eventually replace us. Extinction tells the story of how it could happen tomorrow." Since first introduced in Crichton's Nano, and later in his newer Micro (finished by Robert Preston), this one dovetailed neatly into that genre, and, with plenty of action, is worth a read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Kim McGee | 2/10/2014

    " They are coming and they are not happy with us. Supreme Harmony is a company that has mastered artificial intelligence. Their robots are linked together and have been designed using the human brain but now something is happening - they are aware. Fantastic science fiction (we hope!) mixed with a high speed government thriller. What has started as technology to help mankind has fallen into the hands of the wrong people and now the world and all humanity is at stake. Fans of Michael Crichton's Micro and Jurassic Park will appreciate the irony of man's creation turning against its master because of a power struggle. This book will be available for everyone on February 22nd. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Matt | 2/3/2014

    " Really interesting and engaging book. Loved the character development and the action was fantastic. Some of the things are difficult to wrap your brain around, but just take it for what it is and enjoy the ride. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Erin | 1/13/2014

    " A good idea, but I had a lot of trouble connecting to the characters. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations