Extended Audio Sample

Download Evil Librarian Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Evil Librarian Audiobook, by Michelle Knudsen Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michelle Knudsen Narrator: Emily Foster Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2014 ISBN: 9781491534755
Regular Price: $9.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

He’s young. He’s hot. He’s also evil. He’s…the librarian.

When Cynthia Rothschild’s best friend, Annie, falls head over heels for the new high-school librarian, Cyn can totally see why. He’s really young and super cute and thinks Annie would make an excellent library monitor. But after meeting Mr. Gabriel, Cyn realizes something isn’t quite right. Maybe it’s the creepy look in the librarian’s eyes, or the weird feeling Cyn gets whenever she’s around him. Before long Cyn realizes that Mr. Gabriel is, in fact…a demon. Now, in addition to saving the school musical from technical disaster and trying not to make a fool of herself with her own hopeless crush, Cyn has to save her best friend from the clutches of the evil librarian, who also seems to be slowly sucking the life force out of the entire student body! From best-selling author Michelle Knudsen, here is the perfect novel for teens who like their horror served up with a bit of romance, plenty of humor, and some pretty hot guys (of both the good and evil variety).

Download and start listening now!

bcmi

Quotes & Awards

  • “Hysterical! Smart and funny, with a little drama, a little romance, and just the right touch of evil.”

    Stephenie Meyer, New York Times bestselling author of the Twilight Saga

  • “It’s all terrifically entertaining from start to finish, with Cyn’s wry voice narrating her transformation from musical theater–loving, crush-having teen to musical theater–loving, crush-having teen who can also kick some demon butt. The plot is particularly well done here, with several encounters with Mr. Gabriel and other demons providing moments of both horror and humor and eventually culminating in the final demon-human battle.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

  • “Knudsen jumps from picture books and middle-grade fiction to YA with this self-aware supernatural dramedy, which sees an ordinary teenage girl caught up in a war between various evil factions, with the souls of her schoolmates at stake…An entertaining tale with room for future installments.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Narrator Emily Foster’s blend of pragmatism and emotionality embodies teenaged protagonist Cynthia Rothschild as she fights the demon librarian who is menacing her school and seducing her best friend. The everyday triumphs and struggles of a group of high school students create verisimilitude for listeners as a supernatural battle builds around them. Foster uses this same humanizing power in her characterizations, which endear audiences to Cynthia while making the demons intriguing and unnerving. Foster’s high voice, almost rushed pace, and earnest intonation work well for Cynthia and her friends. She reserves a vocal boisterousness and silken determination for Cynthia’s demon enemies. This is a great listen for YA listeners who favor romance and humor in their thrillers.”

    AudioFile

  • “If Louise Rennison and Christopher Moore had a bibliographic love child it would be this cheekily narrated supernatural offering…Occasional swearing, a dash of romance, and plenty of laugh-out-loud moments round out Knudsen’s enjoyable comedic tale, reminiscent of the original Buffy film.”

    School Library Journal

  • “High school can feel like hell some days, especially when you see the new librarian’s ritual summoning circle, or spot his giant wingspan unfurl during study hall…There’s plenty to like here: a budding will-they-won’t-they romance, demonic possession, musical theater references, and more. Knudsen keeps the terror well-tempered with plenty of hilarious situational comedy and touches of the absurd.”

    Booklist

  • “The spirit of Buffy is alive and kicking in this bloody debut for teens from an author better known for her children’s books…Forget paranormal romance; this horror-humor-romance pastiche is where those in search of hot nonhumans should set their sights.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Smart, problem-solving, and loyal, [Cyn] makes an engaging heroine… The first-person narration ranges from self-deprecating wit to breathless, punctuation-free anxiety during suspenseful moments, emphasizing Cyn’s terror—and her determination to save those she loves despite her fear. An excellent choice for fans of Cynthia Leitich Smith’s Tantalize series or Larbalestier and Brennan’s Team Human.

    Horn Book

  • Evil Librarian, the author’s debut young adult novel, is a fun story for teens who enjoy a bit of horror with a lot more humor and just a little romance. Despite the seemingly heavy pretense, the horror is tame and unfrightening. Dialogue between the characters is laced with plenty of sarcasm and innuendo, and readers will enjoy a romance between Cyn and Ryan that lacks much of the angst of other young adult romances. Readers will find the relationship between Annie and her adult love interest creepy, but their interactions remain platonic. Also, Cyn focuses on an opportunity to make out with Ryan a bit too much, even in serious life-threatening situations. Readers will find the motivation for Mr. Gabriel’s evil takeover to be a bit stretched, but the irony of an evil librarian will not be lost.”

    VOYA

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Michelle Knudsen is the author of many books, including the fantasy novels The Dragon of Trelian and The Princess of Trelian. She is also the author of the New York Times bestselling picture book Library Lion, illustrated by Kevin Hawkes, as well as the picture books Argus, illustrated by Andréa Wesson, and Big Mean Mike, illustrated by Scott Magoon. About Evil Librarian, she says, “Like Cyn, I have always loved musical theater and have also had my share of hopeful/hopeless crushes on fellow cast members. Especially the bass-baritones. (You know who you are.)” Michelle Knudsen lives in Brooklyn, New York.
About the Narrator

Emily Foster began her voice talent career in Los Angeles, both as a character in short animations and as a narrator for television documentaries. She studied acting in Detroit and in Portland. Audiobooks are a recent addition to her performance résumé.