Extended Audio Sample

Download Evil Librarian Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Evil Librarian, by Michelle Knudsen Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michelle Knudsen Narrator: Emily Foster Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

He’s young. He’s hot. He’s also evil. He’s…the librarian.

When Cynthia Rothchild’s best friend, Annie, falls head over heels for the new high-school librarian, Cyn can totally understand why—he’s really young and seriously hot and apparently thinks Annie would make an excellent library monitor.

But almost immediately, Cyn starts to sense that something about Mr. Gabriel isn’t quite right. Maybe it’s the creepy look in the librarian’s (literally) mesmerizing eyes or the weird feeling Cyn gets whenever she’s around him or the blood and horns and giant bat-like wings that appear when he thinks no one is looking. Before long, Cyn realizes that Mr. Gabriel is, in fact, a demon.

Now, in addition to saving her beloved school musical, Sweeney Todd, from technical disaster and avoiding making a complete fool of herself with her own hopeless crush, who happens to be the only other person who knows the truth about Mr. Gabriel, Cyn has to save her best friend from the attractive yet very very bad clutches of the evil librarian, who has not only bewitched Annie but also seems to be slowly sucking the life force out of the entire student body!

Download and start listening now!

bcmi

Quotes & Awards

  • “Hysterical! Smart and funny, with a little drama, a little romance, and just the right touch of evil.”

    Stephenie Meyer, New York Times bestselling author of the Twilight Saga

  • “It’s all terrifically entertaining from start to finish, with Cyn’s wry voice narrating her transformation from musical theater–loving, crush-having teen to musical theater–loving, crush-having teen who can also kick some demon butt. The plot is particularly well done here, with several encounters with Mr. Gabriel and other demons providing moments of both horror and humor and eventually culminating in the final demon-human battle.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

  • “Knudsen jumps from picture books and middle-grade fiction to YA with this self-aware supernatural dramedy, which sees an ordinary teenage girl caught up in a war between various evil factions, with the souls of her schoolmates at stake…An entertaining tale with room for future installments.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Narrator Emily Foster’s blend of pragmatism and emotionality embodies teenaged protagonist Cynthia Rothschild as she fights the demon librarian who is menacing her school and seducing her best friend. The everyday triumphs and struggles of a group of high school students create verisimilitude for listeners as a supernatural battle builds around them. Foster uses this same humanizing power in her characterizations, which endear audiences to Cynthia while making the demons intriguing and unnerving. Foster’s high voice, almost rushed pace, and earnest intonation work well for Cynthia and her friends. She reserves a vocal boisterousness and silken determination for Cynthia’s demon enemies. This is a great listen for YA listeners who favor romance and humor in their thrillers.”

    AudioFile

  • “If Louise Rennison and Christopher Moore had a bibliographic love child it would be this cheekily narrated supernatural offering…Occasional swearing, a dash of romance, and plenty of laugh-out-loud moments round out Knudsen’s enjoyable comedic tale, reminiscent of the original Buffy film.”

    School Library Journal

  • “High school can feel like hell some days, especially when you see the new librarian’s ritual summoning circle, or spot his giant wingspan unfurl during study hall…There’s plenty to like here: a budding will-they-won’t-they romance, demonic possession, musical theater references, and more. Knudsen keeps the terror well-tempered with plenty of hilarious situational comedy and touches of the absurd.”

    Booklist

  • “The spirit of Buffy is alive and kicking in this bloody debut for teens from an author better known for her children’s books…Forget paranormal romance; this horror-humor-romance pastiche is where those in search of hot nonhumans should set their sights.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Smart, problem-solving, and loyal, [Cyn] makes an engaging heroine… The first-person narration ranges from self-deprecating wit to breathless, punctuation-free anxiety during suspenseful moments, emphasizing Cyn’s terror—and her determination to save those she loves despite her fear. An excellent choice for fans of Cynthia Leitich Smith’s Tantalize series or Larbalestier and Brennan’s Team Human.

    Horn Book

  • Evil Librarian, the author’s debut young adult novel, is a fun story for teens who enjoy a bit of horror with a lot more humor and just a little romance. Despite the seemingly heavy pretense, the horror is tame and unfrightening. Dialogue between the characters is laced with plenty of sarcasm and innuendo, and readers will enjoy a romance between Cyn and Ryan that lacks much of the angst of other young adult romances. Readers will find the relationship between Annie and her adult love interest creepy, but their interactions remain platonic. Also, Cyn focuses on an opportunity to make out with Ryan a bit too much, even in serious life-threatening situations. Readers will find the motivation for Mr. Gabriel’s evil takeover to be a bit stretched, but the irony of an evil librarian will not be lost.”

    VOYA

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations