Download Everyone in Their Place: The Summer of Commissario Ricciardi Audiobook

Everyone in Their Place: The Summer of Commissario Ricciardi Audiobook, by Maurizio de Giovanni Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Maurizio de Giovanni Narrator: Grover Gardner Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Commissario Ricciardi Series Release Date: July 2015 ISBN: 9781483098067
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Naples, 1931. Together with his indefatigable partner Brigadier Maione, Commissario Ricciardi, a man driven into solitude by his paranormal “gift” of seeing the final seconds in the lives of victims of violent deaths—a talent that also makes him a highly effective investigator—is conducting an investigation into the death of the beautiful and mysterious Duchess of Camparino. The duchess’ connections to Neapolitan privileged social circles and the local Fascist elite make the case a powder keg waiting to blow.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Reading a novel by Maurizio de Giovanni is like stepping into a Vittorio De Sica movie. The sights and smells of Naples are pungently evoked in Everyone in Their Place, the latest entry in a superb historical series set in Fascist Italy during the 1930s and featuring one of the most melancholy detectives in European noir crime fiction.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Combines a rare setting for a whodunit, Fascist Italy, with a classic fair-play puzzle and a highly unusual lead…[and a] convincing portrayal of life under Mussolini, which included government directives to demobilize crime reporters and bar reporting of stories that could have ‘an unhealthy effect on the spirits of the mentally weak.’”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “In the popular field of historical noir featuring gloomy but brilliant detectives, de Giovanni’s series easily stands out as a success. His is a classic detective story built on clues, motive, and character, where political turmoil seasons the plot but doesn’t overwhelm it. An excellent choice for mystery fans and readers of international fiction.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Will resonate with those who love complicated thrillers. Grover Gardner’s narration is easy on the ear. His voice takes listeners through the winding streets of the Italian city and the many turns in this plot. He sets a steady pace, retelling the details of gruesome crimes in a matter-of-fact tone that allows listeners to focus on the story rather than the violence. Gardner’s performance is reminiscent of the voices used in radio shows of this era.”


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Maurizio de Giovanni lives and works in Naples. In 2005 he won a writing competition for unpublished authors with a short story set in the 1930s about Commissario Ricciardi, which was then turned into the first novel of a series. His books have been successfully translated into French, Spanish, and German and are now available in English.

About the Narrator

Grover Gardner (a.k.a. Tom Parker) is an award-winning narrator with over a thousand titles to his credit. Named one of the “Best Voices of the Century” and a Golden Voice by AudioFile magazine, he has won three prestigious Audie Awards, was chosen Narrator of the Year for 2005 by Publishers Weekly, and has earned more than thirty Earphones Awards.