Download Every Human Intention: Japan in the New Century Audiobook

Every Human Intention: Japan in the New Century Audiobook, by Dreux Richard
Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Dreux Richard Narrator: Dreux Richard Publisher: Random House Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2021 ISBN: 9780593394588
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A thoughtful, illuminating exploration of modern Japanese politics and culture through the eyes of an investigative reporter   Dreux Richard presents post-Fukushima Japan in three illustrative parts. He follows members of Japan’s Nigerian community, who have been affected by Japan’s flawed and exploitative visa system. He surveys the northernmost town in Japan, which is rapidly depopulating as its residents age and die. And he takes us into the offices of nuclear regulatory officials who cannot agree on the parameters of their own earthquake fault review, which will determine whether the nation’s riskiest reactors will be allowed to restart.   Richard’s perceptive and probing reporting establishes him as an authority on his subjects, but he remains aware of his status as an outsider and interpreter for his readers. The personal elements in his subjects’ stories as well as his own expatriate perspective provide a distinctive understanding of today’s Japan that goes far beyond politics, truisms, and sensational arguments. Download and start listening now!


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review