Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle Audiobook, by Chris Hedges Play Audiobook Sample

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle Audiobook

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle Audiobook, by Chris Hedges Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
OR
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Jonathan Yen Publisher: Tantor Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 6.33 hours at 1.5x Speed 4.75 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: April 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781977379139

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

12

Longest Chapter Length:

58:51 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

35:43 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

47:09 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

12

Other Audiobooks Written by Chris Hedges: > View All...

Publisher Description

A Pulitzer Prize-winning and New York Times best-selling author charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate America that craves fantasy, ecstasy, and illusion.

We now live in two Americas. One—now the minority—functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other—the majority—is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority—which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected—presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this “other America,” serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture—attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies—to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

Download and start listening now!

“This urgent book forcefully illuminates what many across the political spectrum will recognize as a serious and growing threat to the very concept and practice of an open society.”

— Publishers Weekly on American Fascists 

Empire of Illusion Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 (4.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 (3.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 1
Story: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 (4.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Narration Rating: 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Story Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Hedges is an erudite and important analyst of our culture and politics and deserves to be widely read. This 2009 book is now a bit dated (in 14 short years we recognize much of his forecast has come true!) but ever so relevant. Nonetheless the narration by Yen is poor. Yen's voice and style do not match the book's or Hedges' genre. "

    — TomC, 7/20/2023
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — David Smith, 9/4/2018

About Chris Hedges

Chris Hedges is a Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist, host of the Emmy Award­–nominated RT America show On Contact, and author of two New York Times bestsellers. War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. He was a foreign correspondent and bureau chief in the Middle East and the Balkans for fifteen years for the New York Times. He previously worked overseas for the Dallas Morning News, Christian Science Monitor, and NPR. He holds a Master of Divinity from Harvard University and has taught at Columbia University, New York University, Princeton University, and the University of Toronto. He has taught college credit courses through Rutgers University since 2013 in the New Jersey prison system.

About Jonathan Yen

Jonathan Yen is a commercial voice-over artist and Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator. He was inspired by the Golden Age of Radio, and while the gold was gone by the time he got there, he has carried that inspiration through to commercial work, voice acting, and stage productions. From vintage Howard Fast science fiction to naturalist Paul Rosolie’s true adventures in the Amazon, he loves to tell a good story.