Extended Audio Sample

Download Echoes of Betrayal Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Echoes of Betrayal, by Elizabeth Moon Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (590 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Moon Narrator: Jennifer Van Dyck Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Paladin’s Legacy Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

All is not well in the Eight Kingdoms. In Lyonya, King Kieri is about to celebrate marriage to his beloved, the half-elf Arian. But uncanny whispers from the spirits of his ancestors continue to warn of treachery and murder. A finger of suspicion has been pointed toward his grandmother, the queen of the Ladysforest elves, and that suspicion has only intensified with time and the Lady’s inexplicable behavior. Clearly, she is hiding something. But what? And why?

Meanwhile, in Tsaia, the young king Mikeli must grapple with unrest among his own nobility over his controversial decision to grant the title and estates of a traitorous magelord to a Verrakaien who not only possesses the forbidden magic but is a woman besides: Dorrin, once one of Kieri’s most trusted captains. When renegade Verrakaien attack two of Dorrin’s squires, suspicion and prejudice combine to place Dorrin’s life at risk, and the king’s claim to the throne in peril.

But even greater danger is looming. The wild offspring of a dragon are on the loose, sowing death and destruction and upsetting the ancient balance of power between dragonkind, humans, elves, and gnomes. A collision seems inevitable. Yet when it comes, it will be utterly unexpected, and all the more devastating for it.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “This is an excellent series, and Echoes of Betrayal is particularly well done. Elizabeth Moon is a consistently entertaining writer, and this book lives up to her standards.”

    San Jose Mercury News

  • “Rousing action and intriguing plot twists.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Leah | 2/15/2014

    " I feel dismayed and tricked that now there are FIVE books in this sequel series--so no resolution to any of the storylines. Which are getting more interesting, but also more fragmented. Sometimes it feels like no-one's getting anywhere. I'll keep reading to find out how it all ends but I'm getting a little impatient... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Craig | 1/21/2014

    " Another entry in what has become a really excellent fantasy series. Some of my complaints of the previous book hold true with this one - split narrative, abrupt, inconclusive ending, etc. - but I've come to accept that the whole series is, unrepentantly, just one very long book published in sections. It may hinder the appreciation of each of those sections somewhat if read as they're published, but when it's finished, it's going to be one helluva wonderful (overall probably 5 star) book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Lian Tanner | 1/20/2014

    " Much of the joy of these books is Moon's wonderful world-building and the very convincing characters she creates. The exciting moments are there, of course, but it's the slowly unfolding stories that are so compelling, and the lives of the characters, who by now feel like old friends. The level of detail is perfect and the focus is slightly different with each book - so with this one we get a lot more of Arvid Semminson that we have previously. And I LOVE the dragon. Can't wait for the next book, which comes out in June. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Royan | 1/10/2014

    " At first a bit confusing since it's been awhile since the last one. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations