Down and Across Audiobook, by Arvin Ahmadi Play Audiobook Sample

Download Down and Across Audiobook

Down and Across Audiobook, by Arvin Ahmadi Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
Author: Arvin Ahmadi Narrator: Assaf Cohen Publisher: Listening Library Audio Length: Release Date: February 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780525589792

Publisher Description

Discover the secret to success in this incisively funny debut, for fans of John Corey Whaley, David Arnold, and Ned Vizzini! "Quirky and charming, wise and unpredictable." --Khaled Hosseini, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Kite Runner Scott Ferdowsi has a track record of quitting. Writing the Great American Novel? Three chapters. His summer internship? One week. His best friends know exactly what they want to do with the rest of their lives, but Scott can't commit to a breakfast cereal, let alone a passion. With college applications looming, Scott's parents pressure him to get serious about a career path like engineering or medicine. Desperate for help, he sneaks off to Washington, DC, to seek guidance from a famous professor who specializes in grit, the psychology of success. He never expects an adventure to unfold out of what was supposed to be a one-day visit. But that's what Scott gets when he meets Fiora Buchanan, a ballsy college student whose life ambition is to write crossword puzzles. When the bicycle she lends him gets Scott into a high-speed chase, he knows he's in for the ride of his life. Soon, Scott finds himself sneaking into bars, attempting to pick up girls at the National Zoo, and even giving the crossword thing a try--all while opening his eyes to fundamental truths about who he is and who he wants to be.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Arvin Ahmadi’s novel shares a lot in common with its irrepressible hero, Saaket. It’s quirky and charming, wise and unpredictable, and, dare I say it, full of big-hearted grit.”

    - Khaled Hosseini, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • “Arvin Ahmadi’s earnest debut is a charming romp of a book, a heartfelt tour of a city through the bright eyes of a hopeful heart. Ahmadi proves his grit and then some with Down and Across."

    - David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Arvin Ahmadi’s voice will be a dynamic entry into YA literature. Down and Across is a thrilling game-changer that touches on the universal journey of self-discovery with a deft hand and riotous humor.”

    - Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author

Awards

  • A Publishers Weekly Pick of YA Books That Explore the Immigrant Experience

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Arvin Ahmadi grew up outside Washington, DC. He graduated from Columbia University and has worked in the tech industry. When he’s not reading or writing books, he can be found watching late-night talk show interviews and editing Wikipedia pages.

About the Narrator

Assaf Cohen is an AudioFile Earphones Award-winning narrator. He has appeared in various plays, short films, and television shows. He grew up in Palo Alto and attended UC Berkeley where he earned a bachelor’s degree in integrative biology. He continued his classical training by earning a master of fine arts in acting from the Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University under the instruction of legendary acting instructor William Esper.