Extended Audio Sample

Download Don't Turn Around Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dont Turn Around Audiobook, by Michelle Gagnon Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.76705882352941 out of 53.76705882352941 out of 53.76705882352941 out of 53.76705882352941 out of 53.76705882352941 out of 5 3.77 (17 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michelle Gagnon Narrator: Merritt Hicks Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Persef0ne Trilogy Release Date: August 2012 ISBN: 9780062227706
Regular Price: $22.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been a victim of the system ever since her parents died. Now living off the grid and trusting no one, she uses her computer-hacking skills to stay safely anonymous and alone. But when she wakes up on a table in an empty warehouse with an IV in her arm and no memory of how she got there, Noa starts to wish she had someone on her side.

Enter Peter Gregory. A rich kid and the leader of a hacker alliance, Peter needs people with Noa's talents on his team. Especially after a shady corporation called AMRF threatens his life in no uncertain terms.

But what Noa and Peter don't realize is that Noa holds the key to a terrible secret, and there are those who'd stop at nothing to silence her for good.

Fans of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour the story of Noa, a teen soul mate to Lisbeth Salander.

Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_003088

Quotes & Awards

  • “Be prepared to stay up all night reading.”

    VOYA (starred review)

  • “Gagnon’s YA debut is a pulse-pounding scary-great read…[that] will have teens begging for more. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for preteens and teens, a surefire hit.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “A tight, well-written thriller from a bestselling adult writer. The action and the developments come fast and furious all the way to the end.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “A fast-paced, rip-roaring thriller for all ages.”

    Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “Gagnon’s writing draws readers effortlessly into an adrenaline-packed ride. This is a smart, gripping addition to the growing hacker-action genre with strong appeal to fans of Doctorow’s Little Brother and Falkner’s Brain Jack.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

  • “A sophisticated, mind-bending thriller.”

    Katie Crouch, New York Times bestselling author of Girls in Trucks and The Magnolia League

  • One of the Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books for Teens in 2012
  • Selected for the Autumn 2012 Indie Next List for Young Adults
  • Nominated for the 2013 International Thriller Writers Award for Best Young Adult Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Willow | 8/11/2015

    " Why isn't this a movie yet??? This series is much better written than other well-known young adult dystopian novels such as The Mazerunner or Hunger Games series. It is creative and edgy, and I appreciate the research and time the author has spent getting facts straight and creating an illness that seems terrifyingly real. The author shows kids from all walks of life and develops the characters so that you feel connected to each one. You become invested in all of them, even those who don't frequent the pages or the bad guys. They are complex and inteiguing to get to know. She brings to light the very broken system of foster care and adoption and how children get lost in the cracks, a very real issue of today. The author makes hacking and the electronic world come alive in a way those who are not technologically in the know can understand and find interesting. I love this series so much!!! It has the creativity of young adult fiction with the excellent writing of an adult fiction writer. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melissa | 2/19/2014

    " Fast paced action. I almost wanted to Google PEMA just to check it out. Actually, now that I'm thinking about it again, I think I still might! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Beth Dailey Kenneth | 2/4/2014

    " CAUTION: cussing and brand dropping "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gina | 11/29/2013

    " A young girl wakes up on an operating table with no idea how she got there. This engrossing story is full of action and suspense. The characters are likeable and I am hoping there will be a sequel. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kelley | 11/1/2013

    " Not a bad book, lots of action, but I didn't really connect with the characters. I'll read the next one, though, to see where this is going. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Steph | 10/21/2013

    " Similar to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, but for YA. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rachael Woohoo | 10/18/2013

    " Hmm... not as good as I expected. Still a pretty quick & exciting read though! [3.5 / 5] "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Judy | 10/12/2013

    " Could not put it down, read it in less than 48 hours. Can't wait for the next one "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tara | 8/22/2013

    " I loved the book. The characters were very real and the book read very easily and well. I can't wait to see what the author has in store for future PER5EF0NE books.Definitely a book that grabs you from the start and keeps you reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Zeddd | 6/24/2013

    " Really liked this book, hope there is a sequel, but I'm pretty sure it ends there. Suspenseful, thrilling, and captivating, left me to read continuously throughout the day :) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Parajunkee.com | 5/26/2013

    " Full of anxiety and evil corporations... "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Ain Sunaim | 3/23/2013

    " Hmm.. I have a mixed feelings about this book. While the plot is pretty okay, but for some unknown reason, I just couldn't really get into the style of writing of this book. But nevertheless, I would probably be reading the next book of this series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lois | 3/11/2013

    " Of course it's the first in a series. Argh. A little over the top, with how quickly and blatently our pair of heroes get found. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Flora Ibarra | 2/27/2013

    " fabulos!!!! susspensfull. worth every word! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Doug | 12/16/2012

    " A really good story that keeps you turning the pages wondering what could happen next. I hope that there is another book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Terry Fuller | 10/13/2012

    " This is a great YA thriller. The author, Michelle Gagnon, did an excellent job researching the tech and medical side when writing. The book reads more realistic (stuff you and I would actually do) then some of the other "written for Hollywood" type books out there. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marnie Cushing | 9/23/2012

    " Can't wait for the next one! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Michelle Gagnon has been a modern dancer, a dog walker, a bartender, a freelance journalist, a personal trainer, and a model. Her bestselling thrillers for adults have been published in numerous countries and include The Tunnels, Boneyard, The Gatekeeper, and Kidnap & Ransom. Don’t Turn Around was her first young adult novel.

About the Narrator

Merritt Hicks made her television debut playing a crazy werewolf cheerleader on the WB’s Clueless two-part Halloween special. Since then she has appeared in several other television shows and films. Also a talented musician, she is the lead singer for the band Stealing Venus. She lives and works in Los Angeles.