Extended Audio Sample

Download Dog Beach Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dog Beach, by John Fusco Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: John Fusco Narrator: Feodor Chin Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Acclaimed screenwriter John Fusco’s thriller follows the exploits of Louie Mo, once Hong Kong’s greatest stuntman turned Los Angeles knee-breaker, as his latest target unexpectedly casts him in the role of a lifetime.

Leaving behind a successful career as a stunt double in Hong Kong to escape entanglements with the Chinese Mafia, Louie Mo now makes his living in Los Angeles as a hired knee-breaker, putting fear into the hearts of people reneging on payments to investors.

Troy, an aspiring director with NYU credentials and encyclopedic movie knowledge, is beginning to realize that he’s made a deal with the devil by agreeing to direct a film for producer Avi Ghazaryan. When Avi’s sketchy investors hire Louie to scare Troy into finishing their movie, Troy’s reverence for film and keen eye save him from a beating when he recognizes Louie Mo as the stuntman extraordinaire he once was and begs Louie to take the lead role in the movie based on Troy’s own pet screenplay.

For Louie Mo, this chance at redemption might be his last. As his past catches up with him and his body becomes ever more broken down, he teams up with Troy in a race against the clock—and the bad guys—to pull off an impossible film of epic proportions.

Dog Beach is a fast-paced, smart, and hilarious thrill ride. Equal parts dark satire and high-velocity action novel, it’s perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Don Winslow.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • Dog Beach is a gem: a Hollywood novel by a guy who knows Hollywood. In this wonderful world of stuntmen and screenwriters, rising stars and falling producers, everyone is a step away from a blockbuster—if they can just stay alive to the final reel. Fast and funny and filled with surprises.”

    Chris Bohjalian, New York Times bestselling author of The Sandcastle Girls

  • “Fusco channels Elmore Leonard and Quentin Tarantino in this vivid, action-packed tale of Asian gangsters and Hollywood moviemaking…Sharp dialogue complements the pitch-black comedy.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Louie Mo, an aging stuntman who made the leaps and took the falls for all those buff actors in the old action movies, is the star of this novel. Both Louie and the novel are wise and gently humorous, tougher than they seem, and casual about their mastery of craft.”


  • “This is a poisonously funny Hollywood noir nightmare, smart and savage. I loved it.”

    Warren Ellis, author of Red and Gun Machine

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

John Fusco is an American novelist and multi-award-winning screenwriter. His debut novel, Paradise Salvage, was shortlisted for the 2001 Crime Writers of America Debut Dagger Award for best first crime novel. His screenplays include The Forbidden Kingdom, Crossroads, Young Guns, Young Guns II, Thunderheart, Hidalgo, and Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron. His screenplay for Hidalgo won the Spur Award in 2005 for best western drama script, and Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron won eight film awards and a nomination for an Academy Award in 2003 for best animated feature. He was born in Connecticut and is a graduate of New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts.