Extended Audio Sample

Download Death on the Sapphire: A Lady Frances Ffolkes Mystery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Death on the Sapphire: A Lady Frances Ffolkes Mystery, by R. J.  Koreto Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: R. J. Koreto Narrator: Justine Eyre Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Lady Frances Ffolkes Mysteries Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

An extraordinary woman living in extraordinary times, Lady Frances Ffolkes is an Edwardian-era suffragette who has an uncanny ability to attract danger and romance.

When Major Colcombe, a family friend and war veteran, dies under mysterious circumstances, the good Lady discovers that he was working on a manuscript about South Africa’s bloody Boer War, which reportedly revealed a scandalous mistake that cost many innocent lives. Now, it’s up to Frances and her loyal lady’s maid, June Mallow, to track down the missing manuscript and bring the killer to justice. Despite kerfuffles with Scotland Yard and the British secret service, Frances never backs down and finds herself in several very unfortunate positions—and one very fortunate love triangle.

Death on the Sapphire is R. J. Koreto’s witty and winsome debut of a series that is sure to be a fan favorite for years to come.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “An intelligent and engrossing historical novel with an wonderfully independent heroine…But it is by no means a cozy story, delving into the grim realities of war.”

    Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of the Royal Spyness mysteries

  • “Fans of both Downton Abbey and Agatha Christie will embrace the subtly witty, refreshingly unconventional heroine in Koreto’s debut series…The Edwardian setting—rich with history and politics—acts as a fitting backdrop to a mystery that is deeper than it first appears.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Koreto’s refreshing debut, set in 1906 London, introduces Lady Frances Ffolkes, a member of the League for Women’s Political Equality…Though she’s a modern, headstrong woman, Frances comes across as all too human in her doubts about her ability to pursue such an independent inquiry. Readers will look forward to seeing more of Frances in the promised sequel.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Upstairs teams with downstairs in this thoroughly entertaining, witty Edwardian mystery debut when Lady Frances Ffolkes and her maid, June Mallow, investigate the theft of a manuscript…The formidable duo of mistress and maid discover an unexpected talent for criminal investigation, ferreting out the truth with dispatch and even attracting a few suitors for Lady Frances on the way.”

    Library Journal

  • “Although Lady Frances has moved in society her whole life, and is fully accustomed to military protocols, she is thwarted by retired military friends of the family, her brother, the police, and her suitors as she seeks to learn who wanted the manuscript suppressed and whether it could have prompted a staged suicide. Lady Frances is a strong, clever protagonist, in the mold of Frances Brody’s Kate Shackleton and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs.”


  • “Suffragette Lady Frances Ffolkes takes readers on a spirited journey to locate a stolen manuscript and solve the murder of a family friend. Witty, tenacious, and thoroughly engaging.”

    Anna Lee Huber, award-winning and nationally bestselling author of the Lady Darby mystery series

  • “R. J. Koreto introduces a delightful new heroine with Lady Frances Ffolkes.”

    Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder in Morningside Heights

  • “Spirited and tenacious, Lady Frances Ffolkes is a force to be reckoned with…[A] charming Edwardian-era mystery. With Death on the Sapphire, R. J. Koreto has given us a winning heroine and a thoroughly delightful read.”

    Ashley Weaver, author of the Amory Ames Mysteries

  • “Rather adorably redoubtable, Lady Frances is a charming heroine…perfectly paced, mixing delightful personal details about Lady Frances and Miss Mallow with details of life in a bygone era and the tragic aftermath of the bloody Boer War. The authentic setting and enjoyable characters are sure to appeal to lovers of mystery and historical fiction alike.”

    Shelf Awareness

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations