Extended Audio Sample

Download Death on the Sapphire: A Lady Frances Ffolkes Mystery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Death on the Sapphire: A Lady Frances Ffolkes Mystery Audiobook, by R. J.  Koreto Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: R. J. Koreto Narrator: Justine Eyre Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Lady Frances Ffolkes Mysteries Release Date: June 2016 ISBN: 9781504717793
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

An extraordinary woman living in extraordinary times, Lady Frances Ffolkes is an Edwardian-era suffragette who has an uncanny ability to attract danger and romance.

When Major Colcombe, a family friend and war veteran, dies under mysterious circumstances, the good Lady discovers that he was working on a manuscript about South Africa’s bloody Boer War, which reportedly revealed a scandalous mistake that cost many innocent lives. Now, it’s up to Frances and her loyal lady’s maid, June Mallow, to track down the missing manuscript and bring the killer to justice. Despite kerfuffles with Scotland Yard and the British secret service, Frances never backs down and finds herself in several very unfortunate positions—and one very fortunate love triangle.

Death on the Sapphire is R. J. Koreto’s witty and winsome debut of a series that is sure to be a fan favorite for years to come.

Download and start listening now!

buw8

Quotes & Awards

  • “Fans of both Downton Abbey and Agatha Christie will embrace the subtly witty, refreshingly unconventional heroine in Koreto’s debut series…The Edwardian setting [is] rich with history and politics.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Lady Frances is a charming heroine…The authentic setting and enjoyable characters are sure to appeal to lovers of mystery and historical fiction alike.”

    Shelf Awareness

  • “Upstairs teams with downstairs in this thoroughly entertaining, witty Edwardian mystery debut.”

    Library Journal

  • “Cultured tones and clipped British accents are just two of charming vocal characteristics narrator Justine Eyre adopts while performing this story of murder and conspiracy…Eyre fluidly delivers the conversations of the upper and lower classes…drawing the listener more deeply into London society and a chilling conspiracy.”

    AudioFile

  • “Suffragette Lady Frances Ffolkes takes readers on a spirited journey to locate a stolen manuscript and solve the murder of a family friend. Witty, tenacious, and thoroughly engaging.”

    Anna Lee Huber, author of the Lady Darby mystery series

  • “R. J. Koreto introduces a delightful new heroine with Lady Frances Ffolkes.”

    Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder in Morningside Heights

  • “Spirited and tenacious, Lady Frances Ffolkes is a force to be reckoned with…[A] charming Edwardian-era mystery. With Death on the Sapphire, R. J. Koreto has given us a winning heroine and a thoroughly delightful read.”

    Ashley Weaver, author of the Amory Ames Mysteries

  • A Historical Novels Review Editors’ Choice
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

R. J. Koreto, novelist, is a business and financial journalist. Over the years, he has been a magazine writer and editor, website manager, PR consultant, book author, and seaman in the US Merchant Marine. Like his character, Lady Frances Ffolkes, he is a graduate of Vassar College.

About the Narrator

Justine Eyre is a classically trained actress who has narrated dozens of audiobooks and has a prestigious Audie Award and two AudioFile Earphones Awards under her belt. Eyre is multilingual and known for her great facility with accents. She has appeared on stage, with leading roles in King Lear and The Crucible, and has had starring roles in four films on the indie circuit. Her recent television credits include Two and a Half Men and Mad Men.