Extended Audio Sample

Download Dear Daughter: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dear Daughter: A Novel, by Elizabeth Little Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Little Narrator: Bonnie Dennison, Tony Daniels Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A sensational debut thriller featuring an unforgettable heroine who just might have murdered her mother

Former “It Girl” Janie Jenkins is sly, stunning, and fresh out of prison. Ten years ago, at the height of her fame, she was incarcerated for the murder of her mother, a high-society beauty known for her good works and rich husbands. Now, released on a technicality, Janie makes herself over and goes undercover, determined to chase down the one lead she has on her mother’s killer. The only problem? Janie doesn’t know if she’s the killer she’s looking for.

Janie makes her way to an isolated South Dakota town whose mysteries rival her own. Enlisting the help of some new friends and the town’s wary police chief, Janie follows a series of clues—an old photograph, an abandoned house, a forgotten diary—and begins to piece together her mother’s seemingly improbable connection to the town. When new evidence from Janie’s own past surfaces, she is forced to consider the possibility that she and her mother were more alike than either of them would ever have imagined.

As she digs tantalizingly deeper and as suspicious locals begin to see through her increasingly fragile facade, Janie discovers that even the sleepiest towns hide sinister secrets and will stop at nothing to guard them. On the run from the press, the police, and maybe even a murderer, Janie must choose between the anonymity she craves and the truth she so desperately needs.

A gripping, electrifying debut novel with an ingenious and like-it-or-not sexy protagonist, Dear Daughter follows every twist and turn as Janie unravels the mystery of what happened the night her mother died—whatever the cost.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A really gutsy, clever, energetic read, often unexpected, always entertaining. I loved Janie Jenkins’s sassy voice and Elizabeth Little’s too. In the world of crime novels, Dear Daughter is a breath of fresh air.”

    Kate Atkinson, New York Times bestselling author of Life after Life

  • Dear Daughter has three of my favorite things in a book: a smart, damaged, unstoppable narrator with a slicing sense of humor; needle-sharp writing that brings characters and atmosphere leaping off the page; and a vivid, original plot full of satisfying twists. This is an all-nighter and the best debut mystery I’ve read in a long time.”

    Tana French, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Place

  • “Quick-witted and fast-paced, this debut mystery should be a hit for fans of Gone Girl.”


  • “[A] can’t-put-down thriller.”


  • “The debut novel’s twists will easily hook you, but it’s the narrator’s dark wit and sharp observations that make this a truly fun read.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “Engrossing. . . The unlikable protagonist with a biting personality and outrageous actions but who is fascinating at the same time has never been more popular…Little puts a fresh spin on this character in the form of Jane Jenkins, a young woman famous for being famous until she was sent to prison for the murder of her wealthy socialite mother. Little also makes Dear Daughter a parable about the cult of the celebrity stoked by a relentless press and a ruthless public’s thirst for details of a woman it loves to hate.”

    Associated Press

  • “[A] fun and riveting debut mystery.”

    San Diego Union Tribune

  • “Janie’s first-person account of her quest is a labyrinth of flashbacks and present-day happenings that pull together into one cohesive and startling conclusion. An innovative setting and clever character development add depth to Little’s haunting drama. Tension mounts as more layers are peeled from the secrets surrounding the truth behind Janie’s queries.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Little makes a thrilling debut with this gripping read. Fans of Tana French and Gillian Flynn are going to enjoy the smart narrator and the twists and turns in the case.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Janie is an unusual protagonist who will intrigue readers who favor strong, smart women.”


  • “Agatha Christie meets Kim Kardashian in this sharp-edged, tart-tongued, escapist thriller…a stylishly written tale that plays off our culture’s obsession with celebrity scandal…This is breezy reading.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “What a devilish, delightful treat of a novel! Crackling with wit and shining with originality, Dear Daughter is the kind of whirlwind mystery that will keep you hooked—and guessing—until the very end.”

    Sara Shepard, author of Pretty Little Liars

  • “Clever, original, and darkly witty, Dear Daughter’s many twists will keep you on your toes as you fall under the spell of its unapologetic, whip-smart narrator.”

    Kimberly McCreight, author of Reconstructing Amelia

  • “Narrators Tony Daniels, as the voices of TV newscasters and newspaper articles, and Bonnie Dennison, as the feisty Janie, offer a vivid look at our celebrity-obsessed culture. Dennison makes Janie’s snarky humor and spirited personality completely engaging as she disappears from the public glare and tries to discover what really happened the night her mother was killed. As Janie delves into her mother’s past and begins to understand their toxic relationship, Dennison delivers satisfying portraits of several highly original characters. She ramps up the excitement with every credible plot twist, making this entertaining comedy-cum-mystery fun listening.”


  • An August 2014 Amazon Best Book of the Month for Mystery/Thriller/Suspense
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations