Extended Audio Sample

Download Dear Daughter: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dear Daughter: A Novel Audiobook, by Elizabeth Little Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Little Narrator: Bonnie Dennison, Tony Daniels Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2014 ISBN: 9780698162310
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

"This is an all-nighter . . . The best debut mystery I've read in a long time."—Tana French

A sensational debut thriller featuring an unforgettable heroine who just might have murdered her mother

 
Former “It Girl” Janie Jenkins is acerbic, whip smart, and fresh out of prison. Ten years ago, at the height of her glamour and fame, she was incarcerated for the murder of her mother, a philanthropist best known for her string of rich husbands. Now, released on a technicality, Janie chops off her trademark hair, determined to chase down the one lead she has about her mother’s killer. The only problem? Janie doesn’t know if she’s the one she’s looking for.
 
In an isolated South Dakota town whose secrets rival Janie’s own, with the unwitting help of the locals, she pieces together a shocking picture of her mother’s supposedly pristine past. On the run from the press, the police, and possibly even a murderer, Janie is forced to choose between the anonymity she craves and the truth she so desperately needs.
 
A gripping debut novel, Dear Daughter follows every twist and turn as Janie unravels the mystery of what happened the night her mother died—whatever the cost. Download and start listening now!

bcra

Quotes & Awards

  • “A really gutsy, clever, energetic read, often unexpected, always entertaining. I loved Janie Jenkins’s sassy voice and Elizabeth Little’s too. In the world of crime novels, Dear Daughter is a breath of fresh air.”

    Kate Atkinson, New York Times bestselling author of Life after Life

  • Dear Daughter has three of my favorite things in a book: a smart, damaged, unstoppable narrator with a slicing sense of humor; needle-sharp writing that brings characters and atmosphere leaping off the page; and a vivid, original plot full of satisfying twists. This is an all-nighter and the best debut mystery I’ve read in a long time.”

    Tana French, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Place

  • “Quick-witted and fast-paced, this debut mystery should be a hit for fans of Gone Girl.”

    People

  • “[A] can’t-put-down thriller.”

    Cosmopolitan

  • “The debut novel’s twists will easily hook you, but it’s the narrator’s dark wit and sharp observations that make this a truly fun read.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “Engrossing. . . The unlikable protagonist with a biting personality and outrageous actions but who is fascinating at the same time has never been more popular…Little puts a fresh spin on this character in the form of Jane Jenkins, a young woman famous for being famous until she was sent to prison for the murder of her wealthy socialite mother. Little also makes Dear Daughter a parable about the cult of the celebrity stoked by a relentless press and a ruthless public’s thirst for details of a woman it loves to hate.”

    Associated Press

  • “[A] fun and riveting debut mystery.”

    San Diego Union Tribune

  • “Janie’s first-person account of her quest is a labyrinth of flashbacks and present-day happenings that pull together into one cohesive and startling conclusion. An innovative setting and clever character development add depth to Little’s haunting drama. Tension mounts as more layers are peeled from the secrets surrounding the truth behind Janie’s queries.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Little makes a thrilling debut with this gripping read. Fans of Tana French and Gillian Flynn are going to enjoy the smart narrator and the twists and turns in the case.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Janie is an unusual protagonist who will intrigue readers who favor strong, smart women.”

    Booklist

  • “Agatha Christie meets Kim Kardashian in this sharp-edged, tart-tongued, escapist thriller…a stylishly written tale that plays off our culture’s obsession with celebrity scandal…This is breezy reading.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “What a devilish, delightful treat of a novel! Crackling with wit and shining with originality, Dear Daughter is the kind of whirlwind mystery that will keep you hooked—and guessing—until the very end.”

    Sara Shepard, author of Pretty Little Liars

  • “Clever, original, and darkly witty, Dear Daughter’s many twists will keep you on your toes as you fall under the spell of its unapologetic, whip-smart narrator.”

    Kimberly McCreight, author of Reconstructing Amelia

  • “Narrators Tony Daniels, as the voices of TV newscasters and newspaper articles, and Bonnie Dennison, as the feisty Janie, offer a vivid look at our celebrity-obsessed culture. Dennison makes Janie’s snarky humor and spirited personality completely engaging as she disappears from the public glare and tries to discover what really happened the night her mother was killed. As Janie delves into her mother’s past and begins to understand their toxic relationship, Dennison delivers satisfying portraits of several highly original characters. She ramps up the excitement with every credible plot twist, making this entertaining comedy-cum-mystery fun listening.”

    AudioFile

  • An August 2014 Amazon Best Book of the Month for Mystery/Thriller/Suspense
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Elizabeth Little was born and raised in St. Louis and graduated from Harvard University. Her work has appeared in the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, among other publications, and she has appeared on All Things Considered, The World, and Here and Now. She has written two works of nonfiction: Biting the Wax Tadpole: Confessions of a Language Fanatic and Trip of the Tongue: Cross-Country Travels in Search of America’s Languages. Dear Daughter is her debut novel. She lives in Los Angeles with her family.