Extended Audio Sample

Download Dead Letters: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dead Letters: A Novel Audiobook, by Caite Dolan-Leach Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Caite Dolan-Leach Narrator: Jorjeana Marie Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2017 ISBN: 9780735287020
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel of suspense for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and Reconstructing Amelia.

“Ahoy, Ava! Welcome home, my sweet jet-setting twin! So glad you were able to wrest yourself away from your dazzling life in the City of Light; I hope my ‘death’ hasn’t interrupted anything too crucial.”

Ava Antipova has her reasons for running away: a failing family vineyard, a romantic betrayal, a mercurial sister, an absent father, a mother slipping into dementia. In Paris, Ava renounces her terribly practical undergraduate degree, acquires a French boyfriend and a taste for much better wine, and erases her past. Two years later, she must return to upstate New York. Her twin sister, Zelda, is dead.

Even in a family of alcoholics, Zelda Antipova was the wild one, notorious for her mind games and destructive behavior. Stuck tending the vineyard and the girls’ increasingly unstable mother, Zelda was allegedly burned alive when she passed out in the barn with a lit cigarette. But Ava finds the official explanation a little too neat. A little too Zelda. Then she receives a cryptic message—from her sister.

Just as Ava suspected, Zelda’s playing one of her games. In fact, she’s outdone herself, leaving a series of clues about her disappearance. With the police stuck on a red herring, Ava follows the trail laid just for her, thinking like her sister, keeping her secrets, immersing herself in Zelda’s drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers. Along the way, Zelda forces her twin to confront their twisted history and the boy who broke Ava’s heart. But why? Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving, or to teach her a lesson? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending?

Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach’s debut thriller takes readers on a literary scavenger hunt for clues concealed throughout the seemingly idyllic wine country, hidden in plain sight on social media, and buried at the heart of one tremendously dysfunctional, utterly unforgettable family.

Praise for Dead Letters

“In this, her startling debut novel, Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O’Neill. A sharp, wrenching tale of the true love only twins know.”Kirkus Reviews

“An exceptionally smart debut, Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach is about estranged twin sisters playing a deadly cat-and-mouse game on their family’s upstate New York vineyard, turning up long-buried family secrets, hidden terrors, and a tantalizing love triangle—a story that kept me guessing and compulsively turning pages to reach its surprising and very satisfying end.”—Carla Buckley, author of The Good Goodbye

“Newcomer Caite Dolan-Leach shows us just how close twin sisters can be—and how shockingly far apart. With near-perfect plotting and an ear for the complicated lives of clever women, Dolan-Leach writes like Paula Hawkins by way of Curtis Sittenfeld.”—Amy Gentry, author of Good as Gone

A clever and compelling mystery that will keep you guessing until the end.”—Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Blood and Arrowood

“This absorbing debut is billed as literary suspense, which is exactly right; the language is smart and polished and the plot is one big, intriguing chase.”Library Journal Download and start listening now!

c2wm

Quotes & Awards

  • [Dead Letters] is a suspense novel about the closeness of twins and about the clever games they play upon each other, even after one of them dies—or does she? I enjoyed its cleverness and was absolutely swept up in the treasure hunt feel, which is also a cover for still gaping emotional wounds the narrator thinks she can escape but, in fact, has no chance of doing. So far, it’s my favorite crime debut of 2017, and it will take a lot to change this. Sarah Weinman, The Crime Lady blog
     
    A smart and twisty thriller that will keep you guessing right up to the ending.
  • Every page of Dead Letters is flush with push-pull tension; it’s an incredibly well-crafted high stakes scavenger hunt of emotional wounds, asking the big questions about intimacy and loyalty. I love this book on so many levels. We are so lucky that this debut novelist chose to shine her light on that most inescapable, infuriating dichotomy: Are you a good girl or a bad girl? Caroline Kepnes, author of Hidden Bodies and You
  • In this, her startling debut novel, Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O’Neill. A sharp, wrenching tale of the true love only twins know. Kirkus Reviews
  • Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach is a perfectly orchestrated cat-and-mouse thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last chapter. This beautifully written novel draws you in like you are part of the story itself, living and breathing alongside the compelling characters as they uncover the dark secrets of their complicated family. Dead Letters unfolds with meticulous precision. Not to be missed! Wendy Walker, author of All is Not Forgotten
  • An exceptionally smart debut, Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach is about estranged twin sisters playing a deadly cat-and-mouse game on their family’s upstate New York vineyard, turning up long-buried family secrets, hidden terrors, and a tantalizing love triangle—a story that kept me guessing and compulsively turning pages to reach its surprising and very satisfying end. Carla Buckley, author of The Good Goodbye
  • “This absorbing debut is billed as literary suspense, which is exactly right; the language is smart and polished and the plot is one big, intriguing chase.”

    Library Journal

  • Considering questions of identity, loyalty, and reliance, [Caite] Dolan-Leach’s tautly crafted crime debut will resonate with fans of Gillian Flynn’s and Paula Hawkins’s domestic psychological thrillers. Booklist
     
  • Dolan-Leach’s debut is a smart, dazzling mystery with a twist that not only shines a new light on the novel’s title but also leaves the reader hunting for the next clue. Dolan-Leach revels in toying with both Ava and her audience, placing small hints and red herrings throughout her text, and the result is captivating. Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • Dead Letters is a masterful debut with the taut seductive magic of a classic mystery. Through a daring game of hide-and-seek, Dolan-Leach charts the intricate secrets of a family and the escalating consequence of small betrayals to explore the question: How well can we ever really know those we love? Harrowing, revelatory, brilliantly alive. Dawn Tripp, author of Georgia
  • Newcomer Caite Dolan-Leach shows us just how close twin sisters can be—and how shockingly far apart. With near-perfect plotting and an ear for the complicated lives of clever women, Dolan-Leach writes like Paula Hawkins by way of Curtis Sittenfeld. Amy Gentry, author of Good as Gone
  • A clever and compelling mystery that will keep you guessing until the end. Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Blood and Arrowood
  • This absorbing debut is billed as literary suspense, which is exactly right; the language is smart and polished and the plot is one big, intriguing chase. Library Journal
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Jorjeana Marie has worked extensively as an actress, comedian, writer, and audiobook narrator. As a stand-up comic, she often opens for renowned talents such as Louie Anderson, Richard Lewis, and Louis C.K.