Extended Audio Sample

Download Dark Angels Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dark Angels, by Karleen Koen Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,035 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Karleen Koen Narrator: Donada Peters, Wanda McCaddon Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Alice Verney is a young woman intent on achieving her dreams. Having left Restoration England in the midst of a messy scandal, she has been living in Louis XIV’s Baroque, mannered France for two years. Now she is returning home to England and anxious to re-establish herself quickly. First, she will regain her former position as a maid of honor to Charles II’s queen. Then she will marry the most celebrated duke of the Restoration, putting herself in a position to attain power she’s only dreamed of. As a duchess, Alice will be able to make or break her friends and enemies at will. 

But all is not as it seems in the rowdy, merry court of Charles II. Since the Restoration, old political alliances have frayed, and there are whispers that the king is moving to divorce his barren queen, who some wouldn’t mind seeing dead. But Alice, loyal only to a select few, is devoted to the queen, and so sets out to discover who might be making sinister plans, and if her own father is one of them. When a member of the royal family dies unexpectedly, and poison is suspected, the stakes are raised. Alice steps up her efforts to find out who is and isn’t true to the queen, learns of shocking betrayals throughout court, and meets a man that she may be falling in love with—and who will spoil all of her plans. With the suspected arrival of a known poison-maker, the atmosphere in the court electrifies, and suddenly the safety of the king himself seems uncertain. Secret plots are at play, and war is on the horizon—but will it be with the Dutch or the French? And has King Charles himself betrayed his country for greed? 

The long-awaited prequel to Koen’s beloved Through a Glass DarklyDark Angels is a feast of a novel that sparkles with all the passion, extravagance, danger, and scandal of seventeenth-century England. Unforgettable in its dramatic force, here is a novel of love and politics, of romance and betrayal, of power and succession—and of a resourceful young woman who risks everything for pride and status in an era in which women were afforded little of either.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BKOT_000778

Quotes & Awards

  • A delicious and dark adventure set within the magnificent sweep of the seventeenth-century courts of Charles II of England and Louis XIV of France. Koen’s excellent research and fully drawn characters bring to life the lavish wealth and glamour, the scheming, and the deeply human emotions of a fascinating era. Jean M. Auel, New York Times bestselling author of The Shelters of Stone
  • I loved Dark Angels, I absolutely gobbled it up! Reading it is like stepping into a time machine that sweeps you back to all the drama and intrigue of the English Restoration. The characters are so vivid, the period detail incredible and the plot is completely riveting; a powerful blend of history, romance, adventure and mystery. Susan Carroll, author of The Courtesan 
     
  • Grand and sweeping in the tradition of Forever Amber, the author immerses the reader in history, romance, suspense and the deep, dark secrets of the human heart. Dark Angels is an engrossing novel of royal and racy Restoration England. A triumph! Karen Harper, USA Today bestselling author of The Last Boleyn
  • A richly-textured novel that brings to life the extravagant, scandalous court of Charles II, Dark Angels sweeps the reader into a world in which ambition and betrayal are commonplace–but love is not. Fans of Dorothy Dunnett and Anya Seton will revel in this sumptuous page-turner! India Edgehill, author of Wisdom’s Daughter

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Alejandra | 2/16/2014

    " Absolutely loved this. There is a particular passage where she describes the men as vampires...amazing I'll have to find it and post it! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Stephanie | 2/12/2014

    " the reign of King Charles II and his wife, his lovers, and their courtiers, on 17th century England and France. Hopefully very based in history, it was a fascinating intrigue that kept me interested until near the end. Sometimes it would be interesting to see the behind-the-scenes machinations at work and be reminded how the role of women was so limited. I actually found the Queen to be the most interesting. She certainly was the only character that had some sense of self-awareness and realization. the main character's pride nearly made me leave the book completely. Still, very fascinating, for those interested in this era. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Celia Powell | 1/24/2014

    " Loved this fabulous historical fiction novel - was caught up in it for days. Why does the library not have the sequel? Bastards. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Natasha | 1/21/2014

    " Readed it twice just the story catches you and you can't let go . Anger and fustration with the characters. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations