Extended Audio Sample

Download Daemon Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Daemon (Unabridged), by Daniel Suarez
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (9,798 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Daniel Suarez Narrator: Jeff Gurner Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 19 votes

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson. Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001078

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Scot | 2/16/2014

    " A cross between Tom Clancy (multiple story lines masquerading as a complex plot) and late Michael Crichton (technology is bad and out of control!). Not terrible, but I wouldn't recommend it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Tessie | 2/14/2014

    " This book was slow to begin with and kind of boring until half way through. I didn't want to stop reading it and I'm glad I kept reading. It had an interesting turn of events and I'm debating whether to read the second one. All in all I'm glad I gave it a chance. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Brad Costello | 2/2/2014

    " Very good book about computer programs taking control over the world. A very quick read because you will never want to put it down. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Lisa | 1/31/2014

    " Great concept that I enjoyed up until part 3. After that it succumbed to Hollywooditis and become a shoot 'em up action movie er book, almost in the vein of Transformers. Then the last chapter became intriguing again. So almost a four star but it kind of blew it in the climax. I'm interested enough to read Freedom however. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations