Extended Audio Sample

Download Cyberdeterrence and Cyberwar Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Cyberdeterrence and Cyberwar Audiobook, by Martin C. Libicki Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (17 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Martin C. Libicki Narrator: Erik Sandvold Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2010 ISBN: 9781470800895
Regular Price: $13.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The protection of cyberspace, the information medium, has become a vital national interest because of its importance both to the economy and to military power. An attacker may tamper with networks to steal information for money or to disrupt operations. Future wars are likely to be carried out, in part or perhaps entirely, in cyberspace. It might seem that maneuvering in cyberspace is like maneuvering in other media, but nothing would be more misleading. Cyberspace has its own laws. It is easy to hide identities and difficult to predict or even understand battle damage, and attacks deplete themselves quickly. Cyberwar is nothing so much as the manipulation of ambiguity.

Martin Libicki explores these topics in detail and uses the results to address such issues as the pros and cons of counterattack, the value of deterrence and vigilance, and other defensive actions the United States and the US Air Force can take in the face of deliberate cyberattack.

Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Martin C. Libicki is a senior management scientist at the Rand Corporation whose research and analysis focuses on the relationship of information technology to national and domestic security. Selected publications include How Terrorist Groups End: Lessons for Countering al Qa’ida and Conquest in Cyberspace: National Security and Information Warfare. He previously taught at the National Defense University and received his PhD from the University of California at Berkeley in 1978.

About the Narrator

Erik Sandvold graduated, with honors, from Northwestern University’s theatre department, where he studied with renowned teachers including David Downs and Tony Award-winning directors Frank Galati and Mary Zimmerman. Since then, Mr. Sandval has repeatedly performed major roles with the leading theatre companies in Colorado, including the Denver Center Theatre Company, the Arvada Center Theatre, the Colorado Shakespeare Festival, and Curious Theatre Company, where he is a Company Member. Some notable roles from his wide-ranging professional resume include: the tile roles in The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby and the world-premiere musical Ichabod! (written and produced by Rick Ramage, creator of the TV series Haunted and Peacemakers); Larry in Closer; Lloyd Crowder in the world-premiere of Plainsong; and Mason Marzac in Take Me Out, for which he was named Top Actor by the Rocky Mountain News and awarded the Denver Post’s Ovation Award for Best Comic Performance by an Actor. He also won Ovation Awards for Best Solo Performance for playing all 36 characters in I Am My Own Wife and for the world premiere of Bubs: A One Man Musical, which he also performed at Fringe NYC in 2009. On-camera, Mr. Sandval has been featured in over 30 national, regional, and local television commercials, more than 40 industrials, on the Sci-Fi Channel, and in many short and feature-length films. Erik, also, has employed his voice in dozens of commercial spots, industrial projects, and collaborations with classical music ensembles. He has narrated over 500 books and countless magazine articles for the Library of Congress, including all seven books in the Harry Potter series. In June 2003, at Madison Square Garden, he was awarded his second Alexander Scourby Narrator of the Year Award, becoming only the second two-time recipient in the 17 year history of the national award.