Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: A Novel Audiobook, by Tom Franklin Play Audiobook Sample

Download Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: A Novel Audiobook

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: A Novel Audiobook, by Tom Franklin Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Author: Tom Franklin Narrator: Kevin Kenerly Publisher: HarperAudio Audio Length: Release Date: September 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062955357

Publisher Description

“The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling….A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind.”— David Wroblewski

“A new Tom Franklin novel is always a reason to get excited, but Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is more—a cause for celebration. What a great novel by a great novelist.”—Dennis Lehane

A powerful and resonant novel from Tom Franklin—critically acclaimed author of Smonk and  Hell at the BreechCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Franklin renders luminous prose and a cast of compelling characters in this moody, masterful entry.”

    - Booklist (starred review)

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " I was totally engrossed by Franklin's story of two (secret) childhood friends who grow apart and come back together under the most unsettling of circumstances - the disappearance of two local girls twenty-five years apart. Franklin paints a unforgiving tableau of small-town Mississippi life where ghosts of the past are alive and well. Generations of residents in the "hamlet" of Chabot still taunt Larry Ott for a crime he allegedly committed when he was in high school. Silas Jones, the second half of the friendship, is the local "constable" who is still referred to by his high school baseball number, "32." These two men go toe-to-toe with the demons of their respective and shared pasts in a dark, gripping narrative not unlike the Stephen King short stories that Larry read to Silas when they were kids. "

    - Jenny, 2/10/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " So far I am really enjoying this one! "

    - Angelyn, 2/4/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " . The sense of impending doom was so strong that I almost dreaded picking this book up. But I also couldn't stop. It was extremely well written, with a great story line and wonderful characters. I recommend this book without hesitation. "

    - KarenLee, 2/4/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " By the time I got to page 18 of this book, I was ready to abandon it. But I did not have any other books to read on my long commute home so I thought I would read a little more and then return it on the way home. By the time I got to the end of my commute, I loved this book and was glad that I did not give up on it. "

    - Lanadal1, 1/30/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I love a book with good character development, and this book offers it. I enjoyed reading and becoming involved in these characters lives. Well written and a warm, heart breaking story in South Mississippi. "

    - Carrie, 1/15/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I found the two main characters interesting and the story absorbing for about the first two thirds of the book, but I felt it was too drawn out, and as someone else wrote, it was obvious who the real culprit was from the first page he was introduced. "

    - Sharon, 1/15/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Loved this book. I couldn't put it down. Loved the characters. Full of suspense. "

    - Glenda, 12/25/2013
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Loved this. So much. Just sayin' "

    - Emily, 12/10/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Larry Ott is the most tragic character I have read about in a long time yet the grace and dignity he shows throughout the book makes the story uplifting in the end. Mr Franklin writes with great feeling. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. In a similar vein I recommend Tawni O'Dells Coal Run. "

    - Stephen, 12/6/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Enjoyed the book. Had an interesting story line and a few unsuspecting twists. "

    - Tuki, 11/23/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " This was disapppointing, good story but could have been much more. The plot twists were pretty predictable and the whole thing closed with a whimper instead of the bang you might reasonably expect. "

    - Carla, 9/26/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I was first interested in the murder mystery but this book quickly became about two childhood friends who have met again. Will they resolve their differences? Is a childhood friend a REAL friend? I enjoyed this one. "

    - Lupe, 9/16/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Great thrilling mystery. A bit predictable. But I kept on seeing it made into a movie someday. Fun and has a good ending. "

    - Laura, 9/6/2013
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Excellent! I enjoyed every page; tried to read it slowly when I realised I was over half already, but it took more self control than I possess! "

    - Annalie, 8/19/2013
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " I love it when I find a book that I don't want to put down because I'm afraid the story and the characters will move on without me and I'll miss something. "

    - Faye, 7/22/2013
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " By the time I got to the middle, this book was hard to put down! A real page turner! "

    - Bea, 12/10/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Larry Ott = Boo Radley??? "

    - Roselynn, 11/21/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " What a great BOOK! would love to see this as a movie, or a continued book. "

    - Candice, 10/12/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I was a little slow getting into it. It turned out to be a page turner toward the end. Very Gothic. "

    - Anita, 10/5/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Amusing enough for an audio book. A bit predictable and mindless, but good character development. "

    - Kimberley, 7/10/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " This was an amazing book. I wasn't sure. It was an amazing pleasant surprise. One of those I couldn't wait to finish but was disappointed when I did because it was such a great story and well written. Kept me the entire way. "

    - Deb, 7/1/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Great book, couldn't put it down. I recommend this book. "

    - Michell, 6/28/2011
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " Sad. Didn't get the title, even after I finished the book. "

    - Heidi, 5/22/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " I never imagined that anyone would ever write such a compelling, heartbreaking and lyrical literary thriller. This novel is a gift to all readers. "

    - Perrel, 5/22/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Compelling story, but I would have expected it to be an "up all night this book is so good I can't stop reading" book and it wasn't. "

    - Jessalyn, 5/21/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " This is an excellent book! "

    - Joann, 5/21/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Very well written. I love an author who makes you feel the locations in the book. Only in the south does feel and smell and taste put you in place. "

    - Kathy, 5/19/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Good story with nice twists, but at times I had trouble following the story and characters. "

    - Sandy, 5/19/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I don't usually read books from this genre. However, I wasn't disappointed with this story. Franklin's perspective of the rural Mississippi reminds me of rural Louisiana in many ways. I don't regret picking up this book (or downloading it in this case). "

    - Erin, 5/18/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Enjoyable & fast read. Tackles the bullying issue at the adult level. "

    - Katie, 5/18/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " One of the best books I've picked up in a long time. Finished it in three days. I know this is a BIG comparison to make, but it reminded me of To Kill A Mockingbird. A southern mystery about racism, prejudice and the bonds that tie people together. "

    - Amanda, 5/15/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Once I got into it, I couldn't put it down. "

    - Sueheinitz, 5/15/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I enjoyed reading the novel which incorporated a murder mystery. For a southern novel it absolutely held my interest, and it's always a relief to have a positive ending for characters one likes. "

    - Marcia, 5/13/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " One of the best books i read this year. "

    - Timothy, 5/12/2011

About the Author

Tom Franklin is the author of Poachers, Hell at the Breech, and Smonk. Winner of an Edgar Award and a 2001 Guggenheim Fellowship, he teaches at the University of Mississippi and lives in Oxford, Mississippi, with his wife, the poet Beth Ann Fennelly, and their children.

About the Narrator

Kevin Kenerly, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, earned a BA at Olivet College. A longtime member of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, he has acted in more than twenty seasons, playing dozens of roles.