Extended Audio Sample

Download Cover of Snow: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Cover of Snow: A Novel Audiobook, by Jenny Milchman Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (984 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jenny Milchman Narrator: Cassandra Campbell Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2013 ISBN: 9780385366212
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD

Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.


Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.

The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.

Unraveling her late husband’s final days, Nora searches for an explanation—but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan’s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown . . . and its darkest secrets hidden.

Praise for Cover of Snow
 
“Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape.”The New York Times
 
“Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.”The Seattle Times
 
“The plot unfolds at an excellent clip . . . ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations.”—San Francisco Journal of Books
 
“Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)


From the Hardcover edition. Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_003369

Quotes & Awards

  • Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters. The Seattle Times
  • The plot unfolds at an excellent clip . . . ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations. San Francisco Journal of Books
  • Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter. Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • Everything a great suspense novel should be—tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying . . . Let’s hope this is the start of a long career. Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man
  • Cover of Snow is a darkly atmospheric first novel that challenges all sorts of romantic notions we might harbor about small towns and the people we think we can trust. Luckily, heroine Nora Hamilton—and writer Jenny Milchman—have the skill and fortitude to lead readers through a suspenseful story of switchbacks and surprises. A mystery that will draw in fans of darker fare as well, Cover of Snow is reminiscent of Margaret Maron’s work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow. Laura Lippman, New York Times bestselling author of And When She Was Good
  • A terrific debut. Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Seconds Away
  • “Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author. Booklist (starred review)
  • Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape. The New York Times
     
  • Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller. Kirkus Reviews
  • “Everything a great suspense novel should be—tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying.”

    Lee Child, # 1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape.”

    New York Times

  • “Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.”

    Seattle Times

  • “Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • Selected for the January 2013 Indie Next List
  • Winner of the 2014 Mary Higgins Clark Award
  • A 2014 Barry Award Nominee
  • A 2014 Macavity Award Nominee

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 MamaDoodle | 1/18/2014

    " Read this in one sitting, though it wasn't one that had to be read straight through. My favorite of the suspense novels I've read recently. This one didn't have me on the edge of my chair nor was I bored with extraneous details that detracted from the plot. As should be with this genre, it was very plot driven and didn't disappoint. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Joan | 1/14/2014

    " I wanted to like this book but it left me flat. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Valerie | 1/1/2014

    " This is the first novel written by this author and I enjoyed it so much I read it in one sitting. It has a lot of suspense and scary events in it. The characters are very well developed and I really enjoyed "meeting" them. The things that the reader may expect to happen, or discover, may not be what really happens. This lady has a great career ahead of her in thriller writing! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Glennie | 12/26/2013

    " Creepy, not in a supernatural way, but filled with creepy small town characters. The cold weather is almost as terrifying (to me) as the creepy people. It seemed rather sparse, word-wise, compared to the descriptive Neville that I just finished, but I did enjoy it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 J.D. | 12/15/2013

    " This book took a long time to get going for me, and even then it was sort of an okay, I can keep reading or put it down. I never really got invested in any of the characters. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jen | 12/15/2013

    " A really interesting idea but poorly executed. The characters were not sympathetic and totally one dimensional. The relationships were as well. In all of Nora's grief I didn't for one second feel the loss of her husband. Overuse of all the cliches of murder mysteries. Just blah. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Rose Mary Achey | 11/11/2013

    " The promotion for this book was much better than the actual novel. The characters were either not well developed or unrealistic. The tempo and timing of this book was off. I am puzzled? How did this work get into print? "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gretchen Viney | 11/10/2013

    " Five stars because this is the author's debut novel. And, it had a happy ending! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Alison | 10/1/2013

    " 2.5...Convoluted and bizarre (like so many things). "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Annie | 10/1/2013

    " It was ok. The ending was very vague and lacking. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jessica Bogard | 7/1/2013

    " Coming soon 1-15-13. It was a fantastic read. Would highly recommend this debut novel to everyone!!! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ginny | 6/1/2013

    " Couldn't put this one down!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leslie Angel | 4/24/2013

    " Good plot, maybe too much snow. brrr. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sue | 3/21/2013

    " I did finish this book, but found it somewhat confusing. The premise was interesting but it didn't do anything for me. I think she will do better with her second book. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Lois | 2/18/2013

    " I finally finished this book after checking it out twice. The plot was good, I didn't really guess anything. Unfortunately, the read was a somewhat disjointed, moving from one thing to the next without a good bridge. I did love the setting, snow, snow and more snow!! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Jenny Milchman teaches writing and publishing for New York Writers Workshop and founded Take Your Child to a Bookstore Day, a holiday which went viral, enlisting booksellers in all fifty states and internationally. She co-hosts the literary series Writing Matters, which draws authors and publishing professionals from both coasts to events held at a local independent bookstore. She lives in New Jersey with her family.

About the Narrator

Cassandra Campbell, Audie Award–nominated narrator and winner of several Earphones Awards, has performed in regional theaters across the country and in several off-Broadway shows at the Public Theater and the Mint Theater. In addition to narrating audiobooks, acting, and directing, she is a commercial and documentary voice-over artist.