Extended Audio Sample

Download Courting Cate Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Courting Cate, by Leslie Gould Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (230 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Leslie Gould Narrator: Stina Nielse Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Courtships of Lancaster County Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

#1 bestselling author Leslie Gould delivers a new Amish romance series.

When Amish farmer Pete Treger moves to Paradise Township, Pennsylvania, seeking a better life, he meets sisters Cate and Betsy Miller. Both are beautiful, but older sister Cate is known more for her sharp tongue and fiery temper than her striking appearance. Betsy, on the other hand, is sweet and flirty—and seems to have attracted most of the bachelors in Lancaster County!  

However, the sisters’ wealthy father has made one hard and fast rule: the elder sister must marry first, before the younger can even start courting. Unfortunately for poor Betsy, and for the men who want to court her, her older sister, Cate, doesn’t have any suitors—until Pete comes to town, that is. Though he finds both sisters attractive, something about Cate’s feisty demeanor appeals to him. Soon the other bachelors in the district convince Pete to court Cate. She hardly seems receptive to his overtures, though. Instead, she’s immediately suspicious of his interest.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Gould’s Courting Cate…is a standout read in Amish fiction.” 

    CBA Retailers & Resources

  • “This charming series debut should appeal to fans of Beverly Lewis and Marta Perry.”

    Library Journal 

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Zette | 2/3/2014

    " The description of Courting Cate sounded just like my type of novel and exactly what I needed to get me back into reading after about a six month break from books (BTW not intentional break just life turning a different corner than expected and I lost a lot of my free/reading time). I really enjoy a romance that begins with one or both of the people not liking the other and then seeing love grow and blossom between them so I was hooked from page one. I thought Cate was a good balance between the feisty, spirited spinster who had been burned in the past and the loving daughter and mother-figure to her little sister Betsy. Pete enters her life and immediately is attracted to her sharp tongue and love of reading and learning. The book is written in the first person point of view which turned me off at first but Leslie Gould wrote it so well that I got used to it and actually enjoyed being inside Cate's head. There where a few things that I thought were inconsistent with the characters personalities and at times were down-right unbelievable. The first one (which drove me absolutely insane) was that Cate, being out-spoken and blunt almost to the point of rudeness, didn't just come out and ask Pete if he was interested in her for her dad's money. She certainly wasn't shy with her opinions so I think she wouldn't have let that float for so long without getting an answer. Second, Betsy went from being sweet and loving in the beginning of the book to being selfish, self-absorbed, mean and unlikeable. She didn't even seem like the same person by the end of the book. Third, Pete was the perfect catch in the beginning of the book. He was funny, good-natured, smart and gentlemanly then all of a sudden he turns into an unfeeling, insensitive brute! Pete tries to explain it off later by saying that he used reverse psychology on Cate to get her to fall for him but I don't know how she could have fallen in love with him after being treated that way. I totally didn't believe it! Finally, the change in Pete's mom at the end was so abrupt that I thought I missed something. She was cold and demanding almost to the very end and then we are given a brief glimpse of a warm, friendly woman and Cate suddenly sees how wonderful she is. I hope I don't sound overly critical because I really did like the book (hence the four stars) and if it hadn't been for the things I mentioned, I would have given it five stars. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series to see what happens with all the secondary characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Kristin Hayden | 1/20/2014

    " The book was an easy and pleasant read, however very predictable. It takes the "Taming of the Shrew" story and places it in Amish country. That being said, it has the simplicity of the Plain lifestyle that is such a popular genre and the characters are likeable and relateable. The ending, I felt, could have been written better, as it does not seem entirely believable, making an awkward and quick solution to the problem. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Lila Cyclist | 1/10/2014

    " 3,5 stars... Finally, I just like the ending. I knew how you feel, Pete :) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Nicole | 12/12/2013

    " This book was the Amish version of the Taming of the Shrew. I liked it but didn't love it. I wasn't very fond of the boy - how he tamed her seemed cruel and he acted like he didn't love her for some of the book. I hate it when emotions are played with "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Leslie Gould is the coauthor, with Mindy Starns Clark, of The Amish Midwife and The Amish Nanny. She is also the author of numerous novels, including Garden of Dreams, Beyond the Blue, and Scrap Everything. She holds an MFA in creative writing from Portland State University and has taught fiction writing at Multnomah University as an adjunct professor. She resides with her husband and four children in Portland, Oregon.