Extended Audio Sample

Download Country of Red Azaleas Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Country of Red Azaleas Audiobook, by Domnica Radulescu Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Domnica Radulescu Narrator: Yelena Shmulenson Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2016 ISBN: 9781478964483
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A riveting audiobook about two women—one Serbian, one Bosnian—whose friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez.

Closer than sisters, Lara and Marija share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to ideologies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate: romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome husband, and fierce Marija goes to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism.

In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity. Told in lush, vivid prose, Country of Red Azaleas is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation.

Download and start listening now!

budb

Quotes & Awards

  • A passionate novel of fortitude and friendship . . . With a poetic intelligence and an extraordinary sense of language and history, Radulescu has given us a mesmerizing work, a tribute to the human spirit and its resilience. I loved the novel and did not want it to end. Marjorie Agosin, award-winning author of I Lived on Butterfly Hill
  • COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS testifies to the resilience of women's friendships in the aftermath of one of the late twentieth-century's most horrific conflicts. Well-developed, complex characters, an opulent style, ironic humor, an exotic background brought to life on the page, all contribute to a moving, spellbinding tale of love and survival. Linda Rodriguez, author of Every Hidden Fear and finalist for the International Latino Book Award
  • A tightly wrought, beautiful story of friendship...Radulescu creates images that lodge themselves firmly in your consciousness, giving you ideas to ponder long after you turn the final page. In the tradition of Elena Ferrante and Khaled Hosseini, COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS prevails as a true testament to a bond that transcends the devastation of war. BookPage
  • A compelling tale...Radulescu's prose is fluid and languid--even when she's describing the madness of war. Her pacing is perfect. Associated Press
  • Filled with full-bodied, multifaceted characters... a profoundly uplifting and optimistic novel...a gripping story, important for its poignancy as well as its insights into the human condition. Washington Independent Review of Books
  • This exquisite novel celebrates the bonds of female friendship and the spirit of women's resilience and self-invention. A riveting and beautifully written novel, COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS sheds light on our transcendent human connections in the face of war, exile, and displacement. Jasmin Darznik, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Daughter
  • Packs a lot into a swift, emotionally wrought chronicle...the novel wallops us with a horrible sense of humanity against humanity, redeemed by the gleam of Lara and Marija's genuine love. Library Journal
  • A searing, powerful work of fiction...fluid and immersive. Radulescu's imagery is evocative, but the real triumph here is her characters...A fierce and beautiful novel that is in many ways an immigrant story, a war story and a love story all at once, it is one of the most unique and well-crafted of its kind. BookReporter
  • “A riveting and beautifully written novel, Country of Red Azaleas sheds light on our transcendent human connections in the face of war, exile, and displacement.”

    Jasmin Darznik, New York Times bestselling author

  • A moving portrait of humanity's best overcoming humanity's worst. Kirkus Reviews
  • “Radulescu’s prose is fluid and languid—even when she’s describing the madness of war. Her pacing is perfect.”

    Associated Press

  • “Filled with full-bodied, multifaceted characters… a profoundly uplifting and optimistic novel…important for its poignancy as well as its insights into the human condition.”

    Washington Independent Review of Books

  • “A moving portrait of humanity’s best overcoming humanity’s worst.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Radulescu creates images that lodge themselves firmly in your consciousness, giving you ideas to ponder long after you turn the final page.”

    BookPage

  • “With tenderness and pathos, Yelena Shmulenson narrates this unusual story of passionate friendship between two women…Shmulenson’s hint of an Eastern European accent works well as the girls’ friendship develops…Shmulenson deftly delivers the lush, if sometimes overwrought, prose describing the cities, but her strongest moments occur when she’s describing Lara’s guilt at having left her war-torn homeland and her eventual return and desperate search for Marija.”

    AudioFile

  • “A passionate novel of fortitude and friendship…With a poetic intelligence and an extraordinary sense of language and history, Radulescu has given us a mesmerizing work, a tribute to the human spirit and its resilience. I loved the novel and did not want it to end.”

    Marjorie Agosin, award-winning author of I Lived on Butterfly Hill

  • Country of Red Azaleas testifies to the resilience of women’s friendships in the aftermath of one of the late twentieth-century’s most horrific conflicts. Well-developed, complex characters, an opulent style, ironic humor, an exotic background brought to life on the page, all contribute to a moving, spellbinding tale of love and survival.”

    Linda Álvarez, author of Every Hidden Fear

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Domnica Radulescu is a distinguished professor of French and Italian literature at Washington and Lee University, a Fulbright scholar, and an award-winning playwright. She escaped the Communist dictatorship in her native Romania in 1983 and settled in the United States as a political refugee. Radulescu is the author of two novels, Train to Trieste, which won the Library of Virginia Fiction Award, and Black Sea Twilight.
About the Narrator

Yelena Shmulenson, an actress and audiobook narrator, is a four-time winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award. She emigrated to the United States with her family in 1993 from Ukraine. Her theater credits include five seasons with the Folksbiene, two seasons at the Ellis Island Theatre, Enemies: A Love Story in Russian, and The Essence: A Yiddish Theater Dim Sum. On film, she can be seen in The Good Shepherd, Romeo & Juliet in Yiddish, Fire at the Triangle, and A Serious Man.