Extended Audio Sample

Download Counting Heads Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Counting Heads Audiobook, by David Marusek Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (505 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: David Marusek Narrator: Kevin R. Free Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2016 ISBN: 9781440709371
Regular Price: $34.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The debut novel from highly regarded short-story author David Marusek, Counting Heads pushes the limits of the genre. Life in the year 2134 is nearly perfect, with nanotechnology and medical science granting people near-immortality. But when Sam Harger is flagged as a terrorist, his powerful wife dies in a plane crash, and his daughter's cryogenically frozen head becomes a sought-after prize, Sam must fight to save the human race from a secret cabal. Download and start listening now!

c1th

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tristan | 2/12/2014

    " Good solid trash science fiction. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/6/2014

    " So awesome! Extremely clever and intriguing exploration of what our society might be like in a couple hundred years. AND well written too. Can't recommend highly enough. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Squeaky | 2/1/2014

    " Tiny type was hard to read. Invented words fun to figure out. Looking forward to book the second. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Alex Rogers | 1/18/2014

    " I was underwhelmed. I've had this on my to-read list for a long time, influenced by many positive reviews, and was excited to finally find it in e-book form. But while I finished the book, I found it really hard to "lose" myself in like I do with almost any book I enjoy. The best science fiction books are often initially difficult initially, and take a while to accept the author's fictional world / premise / characters - but then you are caught up and immersed in their stange and wonderful creations, and to me this is the special joy of science fiction. I never really got past the inital difficlties with Marusek's world, finding the world-set interesting but the characters and people unsympathetic / unengaging. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Molly | 1/17/2014

    " Well, Counting Heads was very different from any sci-fi I've read. Fascinating ideas about longevity, haves vs. have-nots, totalitarian states, nanotech... so plausibly thought out that it's hard to imagine the future rolling out in a very different way. Well-told with engaging characters, this book is guaranteed to get you thinking. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ben | 1/10/2014

    " I couldn't put this down. Murder, melodrama, intrigue, AI, and killer action. Most exciting SF I've read since Neuromancer, and less one-dimensional. Marusek's Mind Over Ship is the sequel to this one. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Carolyn | 1/9/2014

    " Lots of sense of wonder in his world-building. But what the folks at book group said -- and I agree -- is that hardly anything gets wrapped up in this book. He seems to be saving a lot for later. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tim | 1/2/2014

    " Wild ride into the future. So chock full of nanobots, clones, and AI (plus all the other macguffin technologies) to keep me engaged that I could nearly overlooked the underdeveloped characters (although I appreciate in one instance Marusek's wry acknowledgement of that being the case). "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jack | 11/15/2013

    " Fascinating and frustrating. Densely packed, bursting with ideas, and a convoluted story that pulls you along in the draft of its momentum before abruptly stopping. "Wait", you ask, "was that *it*?" "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Christopher | 11/14/2013

    " Awesome first novel. Reminded me of the joy of reading early William Gibson or Iain M. Banks science fiction novels. Highly recommended. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christopher McKitterick | 11/7/2013

    " A wonderfully conceived future full of fascinating tech and social mores about which Marusek asks the next question, and the next, and the next... a must-read if you're into near-future stories approaching the Singularity. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lydia | 7/9/2013

    " Interesting view of a possible future would--makes you think! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gareth | 4/25/2013

    " It's good. Packed full of ideas, but sometimes let down by a fair amount of infodumpy passages. I'm looking forward to his later books, though. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kristina | 3/25/2013

    " One of the oddest sci-fi books I have ever read. I found it somewhat exhausting because the world in the book is so different. It was a compelling read, but there was something about it that found very disturbing. I'm not sure why. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Billycongo | 3/13/2013

    " One of my favorite sci-fi books of all time. It has quite a few compelling characters and ideas, and manages to capture it all in a slice of life narrative. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Springtxman | 7/1/2012

    " Dense sifi - plotline hard to follow "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Dan | 3/30/2012

    " A glum dystopia that isn't even fun to visit. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Fred | 7/18/2011

    " Intriguing science fiction in the vein of Iain Banks. So far, so good. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Billycongo | 6/16/2011

    " One of my favorite sci-fi books of all time. It has quite a few compelling characters and ideas, and manages to capture it all in a slice of life narrative. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Carolyn | 4/8/2011

    " Lots of sense of wonder in his world-building. But what the folks at book group said -- and I agree -- is that hardly anything gets wrapped up in this book. He seems to be saving a lot for later. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Made | 1/21/2011

    " I'm half way through the book and wondering where this is going to go, why it has deviated from the main character, and if I should bother to continue. It's not bad, but it's not wow'ing me either. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leigh | 9/22/2010

    " A very impressive work -- the sort of technology typical of a cyberpunk novel, but amidst the grimness and amorality there's a thread of real human kindness and love that informs the triumphant ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kristina | 9/10/2010

    " One of the oddest sci-fi books I have ever read. I found it somewhat exhausting because the world in the book is so different. It was a compelling read, but there was something about it that found very disturbing. I'm not sure why. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gareth | 7/31/2010

    " It's good. Packed full of ideas, but sometimes let down by a fair amount of infodumpy passages. I'm looking forward to his later books, though. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ari | 6/9/2010

    " So excited to discover this author. Amazing stuff. Like the best speculative fiction, this book is full of ideas all of which would be game-changing in our own world. Each sets off a chain of thought exercises - and that's just the landscape! In the tradition of Gibson and Sterling. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Kevin R. Free is an audiobook narrator and six-time winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award. Known for his work with young-adult novels, he has read titles by Rick Riordan, Walter Dean Myers, and Joe Haldeman. In 2011 he was named a Best Voice in Young Adult and Fantasy from AudioFile magazine for his narration of Myers’ The Cruisers: Checkmate.