Extended Audio Sample

Download Counting Heads Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Counting Heads Audiobook, by David Marusek Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (505 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: David Marusek Narrator: Kevin R. Free Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2016 ISBN: 9781440709371
Regular Price: $34.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The debut novel from highly regarded short-story author David Marusek, Counting Heads pushes the limits of the genre. Life in the year 2134 is nearly perfect, with nanotechnology and medical science granting people near-immortality. But when Sam Harger is flagged as a terrorist, his powerful wife dies in a plane crash, and his daughter's cryogenically frozen head becomes a sought-after prize, Sam must fight to save the human race from a secret cabal. Download and start listening now!

c1th

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tristan | 2/12/2014

    " Good solid trash science fiction. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/6/2014

    " So awesome! Extremely clever and intriguing exploration of what our society might be like in a couple hundred years. AND well written too. Can't recommend highly enough. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Squeaky | 2/1/2014

    " Tiny type was hard to read. Invented words fun to figure out. Looking forward to book the second. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Alex Rogers | 1/18/2014

    " I was underwhelmed. I've had this on my to-read list for a long time, influenced by many positive reviews, and was excited to finally find it in e-book form. But while I finished the book, I found it really hard to "lose" myself in like I do with almost any book I enjoy. The best science fiction books are often initially difficult initially, and take a while to accept the author's fictional world / premise / characters - but then you are caught up and immersed in their stange and wonderful creations, and to me this is the special joy of science fiction. I never really got past the inital difficlties with Marusek's world, finding the world-set interesting but the characters and people unsympathetic / unengaging. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Molly | 1/17/2014

    " Well, Counting Heads was very different from any sci-fi I've read. Fascinating ideas about longevity, haves vs. have-nots, totalitarian states, nanotech... so plausibly thought out that it's hard to imagine the future rolling out in a very different way. Well-told with engaging characters, this book is guaranteed to get you thinking. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ben | 1/10/2014

    " I couldn't put this down. Murder, melodrama, intrigue, AI, and killer action. Most exciting SF I've read since Neuromancer, and less one-dimensional. Marusek's Mind Over Ship is the sequel to this one. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Carolyn | 1/9/2014

    " Lots of sense of wonder in his world-building. But what the folks at book group said -- and I agree -- is that hardly anything gets wrapped up in this book. He seems to be saving a lot for later. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tim | 1/2/2014

    " Wild ride into the future. So chock full of nanobots, clones, and AI (plus all the other macguffin technologies) to keep me engaged that I could nearly overlooked the underdeveloped characters (although I appreciate in one instance Marusek's wry acknowledgement of that being the case). "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jack | 11/15/2013

    " Fascinating and frustrating. Densely packed, bursting with ideas, and a convoluted story that pulls you along in the draft of its momentum before abruptly stopping. "Wait", you ask, "was that *it*?" "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Christopher | 11/14/2013

    " Awesome first novel. Reminded me of the joy of reading early William Gibson or Iain M. Banks science fiction novels. Highly recommended. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christopher McKitterick | 11/7/2013

    " A wonderfully conceived future full of fascinating tech and social mores about which Marusek asks the next question, and the next, and the next... a must-read if you're into near-future stories approaching the Singularity. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lydia | 7/9/2013

    " Interesting view of a possible future would--makes you think! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gareth | 4/25/2013

    " It's good. Packed full of ideas, but sometimes let down by a fair amount of infodumpy passages. I'm looking forward to his later books, though. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kristina | 3/25/2013

    " One of the oddest sci-fi books I have ever read. I found it somewhat exhausting because the world in the book is so different. It was a compelling read, but there was something about it that found very disturbing. I'm not sure why. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Billycongo | 3/13/2013

    " One of my favorite sci-fi books of all time. It has quite a few compelling characters and ideas, and manages to capture it all in a slice of life narrative. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Springtxman | 7/1/2012

    " Dense sifi - plotline hard to follow "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Dan | 3/30/2012

    " A glum dystopia that isn't even fun to visit. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Fred | 7/18/2011

    " Intriguing science fiction in the vein of Iain Banks. So far, so good. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Billycongo | 6/16/2011

    " One of my favorite sci-fi books of all time. It has quite a few compelling characters and ideas, and manages to capture it all in a slice of life narrative. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Carolyn | 4/8/2011

    " Lots of sense of wonder in his world-building. But what the folks at book group said -- and I agree -- is that hardly anything gets wrapped up in this book. He seems to be saving a lot for later. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Made | 1/21/2011

    " I'm half way through the book and wondering where this is going to go, why it has deviated from the main character, and if I should bother to continue. It's not bad, but it's not wow'ing me either. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leigh | 9/22/2010

    " A very impressive work -- the sort of technology typical of a cyberpunk novel, but amidst the grimness and amorality there's a thread of real human kindness and love that informs the triumphant ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kristina | 9/10/2010

    " One of the oddest sci-fi books I have ever read. I found it somewhat exhausting because the world in the book is so different. It was a compelling read, but there was something about it that found very disturbing. I'm not sure why. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gareth | 7/31/2010

    " It's good. Packed full of ideas, but sometimes let down by a fair amount of infodumpy passages. I'm looking forward to his later books, though. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ari | 6/9/2010

    " So excited to discover this author. Amazing stuff. Like the best speculative fiction, this book is full of ideas all of which would be game-changing in our own world. Each sets off a chain of thought exercises - and that's just the landscape! In the tradition of Gibson and Sterling. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Kevin R. Free is a multiple Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator. Known for his work with young adult novels, he has read titles by Rick Riordan, Walter Dean Myers, and Joe Haldeman. In 2011 he was named a Best Voice in Young Adult & Fantasy from AudioFile magazine for his narration of Myers’ The Cruisers: Checkmate.