Extended Audio Sample

Download Contrary Motion: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Contrary Motion: A Novel, by Andy Mozina Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Andy Mozina Narrator: Scott Merriman Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A bittersweet, comic, debut novel that will appeal to fans of Jonathan Tropper and Jojo Moyes.

Matthew Grzbc is just your average newly divorced dad. He shares custody of his six-year-old daughter. He may still be in love with his ex-wife. He believes he probably doesn’t deserve his sexy, successful, driven girlfriend. And he plays the harp—that’s his job.

When his father dies unexpectedly (he has a heart attack while listening to a meditation CD), Matt is forced to confront his own mortality and the fleeting nature of life—he questions everything, from his romantic attachments to his professional aspirations.

When he earns an audition for the principle harp chair in a first-rate orchestra—just the kind of life-changing development he could use right now—he is poised to seize the opportunity … but then his ex-wife gets engaged, his girlfriend grows distant, his daughter seems to be having the six-year-old version of an emotional breakdown, he learns things about his father’s life that make him question everything he thought he knew about the man, and then … even his harp starts to betray him.

Download and start listening now!

bv00

Quotes & Awards

  • “Brilliant debut novel…Contrary Motion is a wonderful story—beautifully written, hilarious, tortured, and filled with heavenly music.”

    Bonnie Jo Campbell, author of National Book Award finalist American Salvage

  • “Charming…The painfully self-aware Matt has a great sense of humor, but his comic insights don’t help him much as he faces a confounding array of personal problems.…The pleasures of [Mozina’s] writing never flag.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations