Extended Audio Sample

Download Commies: A Journey through the Old Left, the New Left, and the Leftover Left Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Commies: A Journey through the Old Left, the New Left, and the Leftover Left Audiobook, by Ronald Radosh Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.05555555555556 out of 53.05555555555556 out of 53.05555555555556 out of 53.05555555555556 out of 53.05555555555556 out of 5 3.06 (36 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ronald Radosh Narrator: Yuri Rasovsky Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2009 ISBN: 9781455194117
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Ronald Radosh’s earliest memory is of being trundled off to a May Day demonstration by his Communist parents. Radosh grew up in the parallel universe of American Communism, and when he entered the University of Wisconsin in the late 1950s, he became a founding father of the New Left and emerged as one of its leaders in the sixties.

But if Commies is an intimate social history of the American Left over the past half-century, it is also a compelling story of a crisis of radical faith. In the early eighties, Radosh wrote the groundbreaking work The Rosenberg File, intending to prove that the martyrs were innocent—but after examining government files, he became convinced of the Rosenbergs’ guilt. As the publication of his book provoked attacks and blacklisting from his former friends in the Left, Radosh began to question his past allegiances.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “His encounters with Tom Hayden, Staughton Lynd, Herbert Marcuse, Abbie Hoffman, and other celebrities of the anti-Vietnam Left bring back the heady days of ’60s protest.”

    New York Times

  • “Radosh’s memoir is a valuable addition to the literature of leftist intellectual disillusionment.”

    National Review

  • “Radosh captures well the times and personalities of his journey…He both entertains and engages in this unusual, heartfelt memoir.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Less than half as long as his friend David Horowitz’s similar Radical Son, Radosh’s memoir is less anguished and less polemical, more personable, and…more readable.”


  • “Fascinating.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bur | 3/2/2017

    " Mr. Radosh begins as a red baby being strollered through NY's May Day parade by his mother, and ends as a reformed commie, rebuked and ignored by some former friends disappointed in his turn of politics. The story of his change is most interesting. Reading his reasoning as he grew and learned what communism means and represents helps formulate my own thoughts. His education was an education for me. Well written and engrossing and well performed. Highly recommended. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Ronald Radosh’s books include The Rosenberg File (with Joyce Milton); Divided They Fell: The Demise of the Democratic Party, 1964-1996; and The Amerasia Spy Case: Prelude to McCarthyism. Mr. Radosh lives with his wife and son in the Washington, DC, area.

About the Narrator

Yuri Rasovsky (1944–2012) won wide critical acclaim during his forty-year career as an audio dramatist, writer, producer, and director. His numerous honors included two Peabody Awards, nine Audie Awards, and a Grammy. In 2011, his production for Blackstone, The Mark of Zorro, was nominated for a Grammy. His final production for Blackstone before his death was Die, Snow White! Die, Damn You! He has left behind an incredible legacy.