Extended Audio Sample

Download Close Your Eyes: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Close Your Eyes: A Novel Audiobook, by Amanda Eyre Ward Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,423 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Amanda Eyre Ward Narrator: Meera Simhan, Phoebe Zimmermann Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2011 ISBN: 9780307912978
Regular Price: $15.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

For most of her life, Lauren Mahdian has been certain of two things: that her mother is dead, and that her father is a murderer.

Before the horrific tragedy, Lauren led a sheltered life in a wealthy corner of America, in a town outside Manhattan on the banks of Long Island Sound, a haven of luxurious homes, manicured lawns, and seemingly perfect families. Here Lauren and her older brother, Alex, thought they were safe.

But one morning, six-year-old Lauren and eight-year-old Alex awoke after a night spent in their tree house to discover their mother’s body and their beloved father arrested for the murder.

Years later, Lauren is surrounded by uncertainty. Her one constant is Alex, always her protector, still trying to understand the unraveling of his idyllic childhood. But Lauren feels even more alone when Alex reveals that he’s been in contact over the years with their imprisoned father—and that he believes he and his sister have yet to learn the full story of their mother’s death.

Then Alex disappears. 

As Lauren is forced to peek under the floorboards of her carefully constructed memories, she comes to question the version of her history that she has clung to so fiercely. Lauren’s search for the truth about what happened on that fateful night so many years ago is a riveting tale that will keep readers feverishly turning pages.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_002692

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Mary | 2/16/2014

    " This book read like a high school essay, a bit disjointed in places. Maybe the copy I have isn't the final one to be printed? Needs some major editing in my estimation. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Robin | 2/10/2014

    " While I enjoyed her character development and the story itself, I liked her other books better. And, as a child of the 80s, I also noticed many anachronisms in her backstories. Picky, I know, but annoying. All and all a decent read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Heidi | 2/3/2014

    " This book was an excellent interpretation of morality and humanity. It allowed for a reader to see how actions and decisions effect outcomes to situations that we never could have imagined. This genre is not really one that I delve into very often but with that said, I was thoroughly pleased that I read Close Your Eyes. I enjoyed how each character had something that I despised about their personality and something that was understandable and/or lovable too. The character development was a little slow but it was done so subtly that it eased the reader into the role of the character. This story is one that has the ability to depress and inspire all in the turn of a page and is a must read for those who feel like they need a little direction in their own life! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Linda | 1/25/2014

    " Liked her other book, "How to Be Lost" better, but this was still good. I actually give it 3 1/2 stars, as it was a good summer read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Laura | 1/19/2014

    " Something about this book hooked me, I finished it in 2 days. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sherry Virtz | 1/2/2014

    " This novel will also appeal to fans of Nightwoods, Charles Frazier. Intense psychological suspense centered around a family with a dark history and many secrets. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kristin | 1/1/2014

    " I really liked this book when it was in the perspective of Lauren. When it started with "book 2" I did not see the point until I had finished the entire novel. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Linnet | 12/24/2013

    " Lauren's mother was killed when she was 8. Her father has been in jail most 24 years, accused of the murder. Her brother has tried all that time to exonerate their father. As he leaves for Iraq, he gives Lauren a jade earring found at the scene. Could it be that their father is innocent? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kara | 12/14/2013

    " I liked this book a lot. Entertaining and was easy to pick up and understand. I loved the mystery of it and getting to unravel everything. I felt that the ending was alittle predictable. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Stephanie | 9/28/2013

    " I was really excited to read this because I won it in a book give away... but it felt like the writing could have used some more editing. I skimmed over lots of it just so I could get to the end. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nanci | 5/9/2013

    " Enjoyable book. A quick read. I'd love to know more of what happened after the book ends. There were definitely two or three more chapters needed, I think. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Amber | 3/4/2013

    " I didn't really care for this book. There were several characters that I felt needed more developing to fill out the story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathy | 11/26/2012

    " I would really like to give this a 3.5. I feel like the writing was strong and I really liked the layered complexity of the plot which seemed so simple somehow. Good resolution which didn't seem completely predictable, but fit well with the story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Phoebe | 11/14/2012

    " Compelling and moving this book is like a really, really well done Lifetime Movie. And if you listen to the audiobook, its even better ;) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Amanda Eyre | 7/24/2012

    " I thought this book was really stunning. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ivy | 7/23/2012

    " Quick read about a woman who has believed for all her life that her father killed her mother when she was 6 years old. I liked the way the two story lines gradually came together, but I felt that things tied up much too quickly and easily at the end. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eileen | 7/6/2012

    " Her mother murdered, her father found guilty of the crime, Lauren holds on to the memory or that horrific night, her only anchor is her brother Alex. But while Lauren is sure of her father's guilt, Alex is intent upon proving his innocence. Well written. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Diana Vincent | 6/19/2012

    " Very good book. Tough subject matter, very well written. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Caryl | 5/27/2012

    " Loves the way this author writes. Extremely fast reading book! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brandee | 5/1/2012

    " A great book! Thanks to Stacy for bringing it by. I was surprised by all the twists & turns. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Debbie | 3/18/2012

    " I liked it after a slow beginning. I think when narrorator Lauren was reporting the book was slower, and the parts where Sylvia narrarates are more fastpaced and less whiny. Although God knows, Lauren's life would make anyone whine ! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Isobella | 2/16/2012

    " I've loved all the works this author has produced, and this doesn't disappoint. Amanda is an author with a poetic voice and I've always found her plots to be real page-turners. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carolynmora | 1/15/2012

    " I guess I liked it while I was reading it, but the story has an awful lot going on. Almost felt like the author pieced it together from separate story ideas. I never fully connected with characters, and the story line is kind of ridiculous in the end. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Maryann | 10/26/2011

    " Interesting plot but didn't enjoy as much as I did her last book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eileen | 10/19/2011

    " Her mother murdered, her father found guilty of the crime, Lauren holds on to the memory or that horrific night, her only anchor is her brother Alex. But while Lauren is sure of her father's guilt, Alex is intent upon proving his innocence. Well written. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 K.D. | 10/18/2011

    " I really like the first half and felt like the book was building towards an interesting conclusion. The second half was a let-down though. The story didn't seem to mesh and felt rushed. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carolynmora | 10/11/2011

    " I guess I liked it while I was reading it, but the story has an awful lot going on. Almost felt like the author pieced it together from separate story ideas. I never fully connected with characters, and the story line is kind of ridiculous in the end. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Megan | 10/8/2011

    " Fun to read, but really dumb. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cynthia | 9/28/2011

    " The years after a crime create havoc in the lives affected, but in the end there is a chance for healing and real living. Nice story line and an interesting turn of events. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kara | 9/26/2011

    " I liked this book a lot. Entertaining and was easy to pick up and understand. I loved the mystery of it and getting to unravel everything. I felt that the ending was alittle predictable. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Becca | 9/25/2011

    " Amanda really excels at character development while delivering an interesting story. I devoured this book! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Leah | 9/25/2011

    " Loved the book. Could not put it down and did not want it to end. Will look for more books by this author. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Amanda Eyre Ward is the critically acclaimed author of five novels, including the bestseller How to Be Lost. She has spent the last year visiting shelters in Texas and California, meeting immigrant children and hearing their stories.

About the Narrator

Meera Simhan is a film and stage actress who was born in England and raised in San Diego. Her first lead film role was as Linda Jones in Date Movie in 2006. Since then she has appeared in a number of films and television shows, including Iron Man, Law & Order, The Young and the Restless, and The Mentalist.