Extended Audio Sample

Download Christmas In Plains: Memories Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Christmas In Plains: Memories, by Jimmy Carter Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (200 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jimmy Carter Narrator: Jimmy Carte Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $13.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Jimmy Carter remembers Christmas in Plains -- a source of spiritual inspiration, respite, family ties, friendship, vacation fun, and the simplicity of community. In a beautifully rendered portrait of very special Christmases, Carter begins by returning to his early years in Plains. With only one exception in the following 48 years, the Carters have always been in Plains on Christmas Day. In 1980, with Americans held hostage in Iran, Jimmy, Rosalynn, and Amy went by themselves to Camp David and felt lonely. At Amy's suggestion, they invited the White House staff and their families to join them and created their own version of Christmas in Plains.

Jimmy Carter has written another American classic in the tradition of Truman Capote's A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas' A Child's Christmas in Wales. Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Jimmy Carter’s Christmas in Plains meets all the criteria for a classic holiday book.”

    USA Today

  • Christmas in Plains is a gift from the heart, the most eloquent kind.” 

    Chicago Sun-Times

  • “The consistency of Carter’s Christmases, frugal in the early years  but always warmed by close family relationships, are part of what makes these stories so soothing.”  

    Seattle Times

  • Christmas in Plains is a charming account of an era when family rituals and fellowship meant more than expensive gifts.” 

    Atlanta Journal-Constitution 

  • New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Phyllis O | 1/27/2014

    " Jimmy Carter provides a spare, yet touching look at life in depression-era Plains, Ga. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Rainey | 1/16/2014

    " pedestrian but honest and kind. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Cathi | 10/16/2013

    " This was a nice little book, and it gave me a new and different understanding of Jimmy Carter and his family. Nothing earth-shattering, but it was good. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Christina | 9/23/2013

    " I love Jimmy Carter. The best part of this memoir for me was his brief discussion of the Camp David Accords and the resolution to the Iran hostage crisis. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations