Extended Audio Sample

Download Christmas In Plains: Memories Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Christmas In Plains: Memories Audiobook, by Jimmy Carter Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 5 3.58 (26 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jimmy Carter Narrator: Jimmy Carter Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: October 2001 ISBN: 9780743563710
Regular Price: $13.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Jimmy Carter remembers Christmas in Plains -- a source of spiritual inspiration, respite, family ties, friendship, vacation fun, and the simplicity of community. In a beautifully rendered portrait of very special Christmases, Carter begins by returning to his early years in Plains. With only one exception in the following 48 years, the Carters have always been in Plains on Christmas Day. In 1980, with Americans held hostage in Iran, Jimmy, Rosalynn, and Amy went by themselves to Camp David and felt lonely. At Amy's suggestion, they invited the White House staff and their families to join them and created their own version of Christmas in Plains.

Jimmy Carter has written another American classic in the tradition of Truman Capote's A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas' A Child's Christmas in Wales. Download and start listening now!

BK_SANS_000335

Quotes & Awards

  • “Jimmy Carter’s Christmas in Plains meets all the criteria for a classic holiday book.”

    USA Today

  • Christmas in Plains is a gift from the heart, the most eloquent kind.” 

    Chicago Sun-Times

  • “The consistency of Carter’s Christmases, frugal in the early years  but always warmed by close family relationships, are part of what makes these stories so soothing.”  

    Seattle Times

  • Christmas in Plains is a charming account of an era when family rituals and fellowship meant more than expensive gifts.” 

    Atlanta Journal-Constitution 

  • New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Phyllis O | 1/27/2014

    " Jimmy Carter provides a spare, yet touching look at life in depression-era Plains, Ga. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rainey | 1/16/2014

    " pedestrian but honest and kind. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cathi | 10/16/2013

    " This was a nice little book, and it gave me a new and different understanding of Jimmy Carter and his family. Nothing earth-shattering, but it was good. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christina | 9/23/2013

    " I love Jimmy Carter. The best part of this memoir for me was his brief discussion of the Camp David Accords and the resolution to the Iran hostage crisis. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Margaret | 9/14/2013

    " A nice little memoir of the Carter's Christmases through the years. I especially enjoyed the childhood stories. A nice addition to your Christmas book collection. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Connie | 8/17/2013

    " A nice little read to give you some insight to the Jimmy Carter. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Janice | 8/1/2013

    " Sweet book about his memories growing up in a small town in Georgia. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julie | 6/4/2013

    " Started this one for book club while driving through Georgia... good memoir. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Joann | 2/24/2013

    " memories of Christmas. Sweet, simple book that would not have been published if not written by ex president. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dotty | 1/19/2013

    " Wonderful stories of Christmas in Plains with the Carters; first as a young boy, then newly married and finally as a former president. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Herb | 7/6/2012

    " An easy and enjoyable holiday read. This book is full of small-town family stories that are so dear to many readers' hearts. President Carter is an excellent storyteller and this book should prove an enjoyable read to all "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Larry Burfield | 2/29/2012

    " Better writer than President! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chelsea | 2/21/2012

    " A good light historical read. This book makes me want to read more books by Jimmy Carter. He writes in a way that makes him easy and interesting to read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dave Mevis | 11/17/2011

    " Decent skeletal biography of Carter. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wendy Kenney | 10/10/2011

    " Get the audio version to hear Jimmy Carter narrate it. I wasn't a big President Carter fan, but I really enjoyed learning about his life growing up. Excellent. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Debbe | 9/1/2011

    " Sentimental, but I was on a Jimmy Carter reading streak in 2001. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David | 5/17/2011

    " Imagine sitting on an old, front porch in the South listening to your grandfather tell about the old days communicating the message of faith, home, Christmas, and peace. Delightful late-night read filled with messages of peace from a former president that was way ahead of his time. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cathi | 1/20/2011

    " This was a nice little book, and it gave me a new and different understanding of Jimmy Carter and his family. Nothing earth-shattering, but it was good. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Joann | 5/16/2010

    " memories of Christmas. Sweet, simple book that would not have been published if not written by ex president. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christina | 12/22/2009

    " I love Jimmy Carter. The best part of this memoir for me was his brief discussion of the Camp David Accords and the resolution to the Iran hostage crisis. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Janice | 12/13/2009

    " Sweet book about his memories growing up in a small town in Georgia. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Margaret | 1/5/2009

    " A nice little memoir of the Carter's Christmases through the years. I especially enjoyed the childhood stories. A nice addition to your Christmas book collection. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Yalibrarian | 12/4/2008

    " Slightly disappointing compared to other books by former President Carter. A run of the mill chronological account of different Christmas experiences throughout his life. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Herb | 11/20/2008

    " An easy and enjoyable holiday read. This book is full of small-town family stories that are so dear to many readers' hearts. President Carter is an excellent storyteller and this book should prove an enjoyable read to all "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wendy | 10/7/2008

    " Get the audio version to hear Jimmy Carter narrate it. I wasn't a big President Carter fan, but I really enjoyed learning about his life growing up. Excellent. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Phyllis | 8/1/2008

    " Jimmy Carter provides a spare, yet touching look at life in depression-era Plains, Ga. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jimmy CarterJimmy Carter was the thirty-ninth President of the United States, serving from 1977 to 1981. In 1982, he and his wife founded The Carter Center, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the lives of people around the world. Carter was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002. He is the author of two-dozen books, including A Full Life; An Hour Before Daylight; Palestine: Peace Not Apartheid and Our Endangered Values. He lives in Plains, Georgia.