Chokehold Audiobook, by David Moody Play Audiobook Sample

Download Chokehold Audiobook

Chokehold Audiobook, by David Moody Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Author: David Moody Narrator: Gerard Doyle Publisher: Macmillan Audio Audio Length: Series:The Final War Series Release Date: November 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781250245977

Publisher Description

The third book in the new series from Hater author David Moody is perfect for fans of John Maberry and Max Brooks.

A series of nuclear strikes has left huge swathes of the country uninhabitable. It’s a level playing field now: both Hater and Unchanged alike have to fight to stay alive. Both have retreated to their camps to regroup, less than twenty miles away from each other.

It’s here that the last major battle of the final war will inevitably be fought, but neither side has any idea what’s waiting for them just around the corner.

Both armies are ready to fight to the death, each of their leaders hell-bent on victory. Their tactics are uniformly simple: strike first, get the enemy in a chokehold, then strangle the life out of them.

Chokehold is a fast-paced and wonderfully dark story about the fight for survival in the face of the impending apocalypse.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • "An engaging story...Unique and compelling.

    - Booklist
  • Fans of exceedingly bleak survival horror will be satisfied.

    - Publishers Weekly
  • Moody’s suspenseful second Final War horror novel, continuing the second series set in the bleak and anger-filled Hater world, is a gripping take on the zombie apocalypse.... Fans of zombie thrillers will not be disappointed.

    - Publishers Weekly
  • Great characters, great story, nobody does the apocalypse like David Moody.

    - Craig DiLouie, author of One of Us
  • This gloomy psychological horror thriller contains a surprising twist of dystopia, a promising note for the series that it launches.

    - Library Journal"Think of a mashup of George Romero and Agatha Christie, and you might have an idea of what awaits you.
  • Fear stems from isolation and rumor, only to be reinforced by quick and brutal violence. This is gut-wrenchingly realistic survival horror.

    - Horror Underground blog
  • David Moody has a knack for making me feel like a fly on the wall, right there amongst the action but not noticed by the players.

    - 2 Book Lovers Reviews blog, five stars
  • The novel rips you out of your safe and sung world and thrusts you into an environment where anyone can turn on you in the blink of an eye. It’s hard-hitting, head-poundingly tense, and drenched from head to toe in blood-splattered cruelty.

    - DLS Reviews blog
  • Moody truly excels at wicked pacing and sharp dialogue, and One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning is no exception.

    - Ghastly Grinning blog
  • One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning is an insightful, rewarding look at physical and social isolation, trust and reaction to adversity when the flight part of "fight or flight" is taken away. It's clever, convincing fiction, claustrophobic fiction.

    - SFBook Reviews
  • A gripping, visceral read, glistening with gore and studded with extreme brutality and with a relentlessly downbeat tone which will please lovers of hard-edged apocalyptic fiction. We await the arrival of book two in the series with considerable interest.

    - Starburst
  • Moody has once again delivered a great post-apocalyptic story, maintaining his position at the summit of British horror...

    - This is Horror blog
  • A bloody fun ride... Another wetwork nightmare that should delight fans of Haters and intrigue writers who wallow in the genre.

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • Moody really knows how to write creeping, claustrophobic terror, effectively sneaking up on his readers and, finally, scaring the life out of them. Top-drawer horror.

    - Booklist, starred review

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

David Moody grew up in Birmingham on a diet of horror and pulp science fiction books and movies. He worked for financial institutions before giving up his day job to write about the end of the world for a living. He has written a number of horror novels, including Autumn, which has been downloaded more than half a million times since its publication in 2001. He lives in the United Kingdom with his wife and a houseful of daughters and stepdaughters, which may explain his preoccupation with Armageddon.

About the Narrator

Gerard Doyle, a seasoned audio narrator, he has been awarded dozens of AudioFile Earphones Awards, was named a Best Voice in Young Adult Fiction in 2008, and won the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. He was born of Irish parents and raised and educated in England. In Great Britain he has enjoyed an extensive career in both television and repertory theater and toured nationally and internationally with the English Shakespeare Company. He has appeared in London’s West End in the gritty musical The Hired Man. In America he has appeared on Broadway in The Weir and on television in New York Undercover and Law & Order. He has taught drama at Ross School for the several years.