Download China Homecoming Audiobook

China Homecoming Audiobook, by Jean Fritz Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Jean Fritz Narrator: Susan Boyce Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2013 ISBN: 9781482101102
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

China Homecoming is the sequel to Jean Fritz’s Newbery Honor book Homesick: My Own Story. As a grown woman, Jean returned to China where she was born and lived until she was thirteen.

Speaking Chinese, Jean felt welcome when she revisited China. Memories of her childhood washed over her as she visited her old home and the British School she had attended. Both had changed just as history had changed her hometown of Wuhan, but listeners will be moved at what it meant to Jean when she was declared an honorary citizen.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Narrator Susan Boyce assumes the voice of the author in this concise, enlightening memoir about the author’s return to her childhood home in China…Her clear reading and modulated tones capture the author’s diverse emotions—from the hardship of leaving her birth country at age thirteen and her difficulties in feeling American to her longing, disappointment, and joy at her return to her native country. Boyce’s dynamic reading also conveys the significance of many of China’s historical events and cultural practices.”


  • “Jean Fritz’s respect and deep affection for China, its people, and culture is evident throughout this fascinating, highly readable journey…A book to be read and reread.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “An intriguing fusion of autobiography, history, and travelogue…A vivid portrait of a developing nation, and a reminder that history is people who live through events and then go on.”


  • An ALA Notable Book
  • A School Library Journal Best Book

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Jean Fritz, the Newbery Honor-winning author of Homesick, is best known for her engaging and enlightening nonfiction for young readers, including What’s the Big Idea, Ben Franklin?, And Then What Happened, Paul Revere?, and Shh! We’re Writing the Constitution. She was honored with the Knickerbocker Award for Juvenile Literature by the New York State Library Association and won the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award for her career contribution to American children’s literature.

About the Narrator

Susan Boyce is an audiobook narrator and an actor who has worked onstage at Trinity Repertory Theater, Worcester Foothills Theater, the Edinburgh Festival in Scotland, and every major ragtime and traditional jazz festival in the United States. She has won three AudioFile Earphones Awards.