Blood Circus Audiobook, by Camila Victoire
Play Audiobook Sample

Download Blood Circus Audiobook

Blood Circus Audiobook, by Camila Victoire
Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
Author: Camila Victoire Narrator: Kyla Garcia Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Release Date: January 2023 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9798200813599

Publisher Description

In this lush and terrifying debut—perfect for readers of The Hunger Games and Children of Blood and Bone—Camila Victoire creates a future where cruelty and spectacle hold the keys to subjugating humans on a ravaged earth.

At the end of the twenty-first century, climate change and famine almost ended humanity—until the discovery of the Klujns, a barbaric, humanoid species with strangely colored eyes and even stranger abilities. Their crystal claws and bones fertilize barren soil, and their tender meat is a super-protein. Klujns are both humans’ saviors and natural-born enemies, meant to be hunted and used.

When sixteen-year-old Ava finds herself on the wrong side of a military fence erected to protect the North American Territory, she’s captured by Klujns and made to participate in the Blood Race, a macabre tradition where young human hostages compete to the death for Klujn amusement. At first, she is terrified, but as Ava observes Klujn behavior that contradicts what she’s learned, she begins to wonder: Are Klujns as different as she was led to believe? And, as she fights for her life, does it matter?

Inspired by four years on the road with a traveling circus, where the word itself embodies an entire culture built on dark spectacle, Camila Victoire delivers a twisted coming-of-age tale that combines elements of fantasy, magical realism, and suspense. Blood Circus will capture fans of Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games and Tomi Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone. Its masterful worldbuilding, plot twists, and boundary-pushing Blood Race are wholly immersive—and compel readers to call their own long-held assumptions, values, and belief systems into question.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “I could not stop reading Blood Circus from the moment I started. The world is fascinating, and the story is brilliantly told. Love, love, love.”

    - Storm Reid, actress, winner of the Teen Choice Award and NAACP Image Award
  • “Destined to be a classic…I’ve never read a book that so vividly captures the insatiable human appetite for subjugation and spectacle. But the dire dystopian warning of Blood Circus also finds spiritual hope and strength in its protagonist, Ava—an unforgettable character at the center of an unforgettable story.”

    - Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die
  • “Debut author Victoire tackles themes of environmentalism and prejudice via a bone-chilling plot in this dystopian fantasy…Vividly wrought imagery, steady pacing, edge-of-the-seat action, and a gutsy cast accompany a harrowing, Hunger Games–level atmosphere, making for a thrilling adventure.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “This socially progressive dystopian adventure with strong worldbuilding and suspenseful plotting will appeal to fans of the Hunger Games…Pointedly questioning what it is to be human, this absorbing debut expresses profound longing for the disappearing wild.”

    - Kirkus Reviews

Awards

  • An Indie Next Kids' List Great Read

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Camila Victoire is a French Canadian / Australian novelist and screenwriter currently based in Montreal. She toured for four years with a circus before going to study writing for film and TV at the Vancouver Film School, from which she graduated in 2015. The daughter of two performance artists, she is a born nomad. Her stories are nourished by her adventures, from exploring the haunted forests of Transylvania to venturing deep into the jungles of Peru. This is her first novel.

About the Narrator

Hillary Huber, a Los Angeles–based voice talent with hundreds of commercials and promos under her belt, was bitten by the audiobook bug in 2005. She now records books on a regular basis and has been nominated for several Audie Awards and won numerous Earphones Awards.