Extended Audio Sample

Download Blessed Are Those Who Thirst: A Hanne Wilhelmsen Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Blessed Are Those Who Thirst: A Hanne Wilhelmsen Novel Audiobook, by Anne Holt Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Anne Holt Narrator: Kate Reading Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Hanne Wilhelmsen Novels Release Date: May 2013 ISBN: 9781482910742
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The second book in Edgar-nominated Anne Holt’s internationally bestselling mystery series featuring Detective Inspector Hanne Wilhelmsen, last seen in Blind Goddess

It is only the beginning of May, but in Oslo a brutal heat wave has coincided with an alarming increase in violent crime. In the latest instance, police investigator Hanne Wilhelmsen is sent to a macabre crime scene on the outskirts of town. An abandoned shed is covered in blood. On one wall an eight-digit number is written in blood. There is no body—nor any sign of a victim. Is it a kid’s prank or foul play? Is it even human blood?

As more bloody numbers are found in isolated locations throughout Oslo, Hanne’s colleague Håkon Sand makes a startling discovery: the digits correspond to the filing numbers of foreign immigrants. All are female, all are missing. Is there a serial killer on the loose in Oslo? How does the killer have access to immigrant data?

Meanwhile, as the trail heats up, the victim of a horrific unsolved rape case and her father have each decided to take justice into their own hands. Hanne and Håkon soon discover that they aren’t the only ones on the hunt for the killer.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Anne Holt is the godmother of modern Norwegian crime fiction.”

    Jo Nesbø, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Fast-paced and involving…Holt knows psychology as well as she knows the ins and outs of police-work. She quickly draws the reader into the minds and lives of half a dozen disparate characters—none more interesting than Inspector Wilhelmsen herself…Holt’s visions of societal and ethical decay are balanced by glimpses of great poignancy, human consolation, and love.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “A good old-fashioned mystery.”

    Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

  • “Move over, Jo Nesbø.”

    Fort Worth Star-Telegram

  • “A perfect entry point into Scandinavian crime…A sure pleasure for police-procedural fans who read everything from Slaughter to Nesbø.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “A sympathetic lead distinguishes Holt’s second novel.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “It’s obvious why the Hanne Wilhelmsen  series has gained popularity among Scandinavian crime enthusiasts. Holt’s tightly wound suspense plots and quirky, likable protagonist are a breath of fresh air. Her latest thriller will quench her parched fans’ thirst.”

    Library Journal

  • “Expertly translated for American readers by the highly capable Anne Bruce…A wonderful combination of old-school police procedure and amateur detective work…Holt is a master of balancing criminal procedure with suspense…This is a series that demands to be read, and the more quickly the better.”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Anne Holt

Anne Holt has worked as a journalist and news anchor and spent two years working for the Oslo Police Department before founding her own law firm and serving as Norway’s minister for justice for part of 1996 and 1997. Her first book was published in 1993, and her work has been translated into twenty-five languages. She lives in Oslo with her family.

About the Narrator

Kate Reading is an Audie Award–winning narrator and has received dozens of Earphones Awards. She has been named by AudioFile magazine as a “Voice of the Century,” as well as the Best Voice in Science Fiction & Fantasy in 2008 and 2009 and Best Voice in Biography & Culture in 2010. She is also a theater actor in the Washington, DC, area and has been a member of the Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company since 1987. Her work onstage has been recognized by the Helen Hayes Awards Society, among others.