Barkskins: A Novel Audiobook, by Annie Proulx Play Audiobook Sample

Barkskins: A Novel Audiobook

Barkskins: A Novel Audiobook, by Annie Proulx Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $22.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $34.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Robert Petkoff Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 17.17 hours at 1.5x Speed 12.88 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: June 2016 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781442370074

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

73

Longest Chapter Length:

79:36 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

48 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

21:17 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

14

Other Audiobooks Written by Annie Proulx: > View All...

Publisher Description

Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020!

A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book


From the Pulitzer Prize–­­winning author of The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain,” comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world’s forests: “Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy…the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx’s distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written” (San Francisco Chronicle).

In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters—barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years—their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand—the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse.

“A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading” (Elle), Barkskins showcases Proulx’s inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. “This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice” (Entertainment Weekly, Grade A), and Barkskins “is an awesome monument of a book” (The Washington Post)—“the masterpiece she was meant to write” (The Boston Globe). As Anthony Doerr says, “This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of ‘Brokeback Mountain.’”

Download and start listening now!

So often novels affixed with labels like 'saga' and 'sweeping' and 'vast in scope' can be difficult to break into--their opening chapters slow and setting-laden. Not so with Robert Petkoff's outstanding performance of Proulx's gorgeous BARKSKINS. Petkoff's delivery is mesmerizing, with distinctive voices for generations of well-developed characters, and perfect pacing and incredible accents that give an air of authenticity. Immediately the listener is immersed in a place so colorfully depicted through both the written and spoken word that the time slips past and Proulx's wild forests settle in all around. The novel is indeed a sweeping saga, but Proulx and Petkoff are the duo to make the time seem too short. A transporting listen."

—  

Quotes

  • “A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through 300 years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading.”

    — Elle
  • “A tale too beautiful to miss, excellent for long afternoons spent swaying in a hammock.”

    — Good Housekeeping
  • “Masterful, full of an urgent, tense lyricism, its plotting beautifully unexpected.”

    — USA Today
  • “Pages melt away as readers zoom through the decades…This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice.”

    — Entertainment Weekly (Grade A)
  • “Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy.”

    — San Francisco Chronicle
  • “Magnificent…One of the chief pleasures of Proulx’s prose is that it conveys you to so many vanished wildwoods, where you get to stand ‘tiny and amazed in the kingdom of pines’…If Barkskins doesn’t bear exquisite witness to our species’ insatiable appetite for consumption, nothing can.”

    — Outside
  • “Annie Proulx’s Barkskins is remarkable…the kind of immersive reading experience that only comes along every few years.”

    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “Proulx’s talents shine brightest in her vividly real and tragically flawed characters, who cling to the misguided belief that the bounty of the forest will endure forever.”

    — BookPage
  • “Petkoff’s delivery is mesmerizing, with distinctive voices for generations of well-developed characters and perfect pacing and incredible accents that give an air of authenticity…A transporting listen. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    — AudioFile

Awards

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month for June 2016
  • An Indie Next List Pick for July 2016
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A BookPage Top Pick for July 2016
  • A 2016 Publishers Weekly Best Books of the Year, Top 10 Selection
  • An Entertainment Weekly Best Book of 2016
  • Longlisted for the 2017 Baileys’ Women’s Prize for Fiction

Barkskins Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Story: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — susan spinney, 6/18/2022

About Annie Proulx

Annie Proulx is the author of eight books, including the novel The Shipping News and the story collection Close Range. Her many honors include a Pulitzer Prize, a National Book Award, the Irish Times International Fiction Prize, and a PEN/Faulkner Award. Her short story “Brokeback Mountain,” which originally appeared in the New Yorker, was made into an Academy Award–winning film starring Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal. Proulx currently lives in Wyoming.

About Robert Petkoff

Robert Petkoff is an actor and audiobook narrator who has won a prestigious Audie Award and multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards. He has appeared on Chappelle’s Show, Law & Order, and Quantum Leap. His Broadway credits include Sir Robin in Spamalot, Perchik in Fiddler on the Roof, and Tateh in Ragtime.