Extended Audio Sample

Download Augustus Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Augustus, by John Williams Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.0018315018315 out of 54.0018315018315 out of 54.0018315018315 out of 54.0018315018315 out of 54.0018315018315 out of 5 4.00 (546 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: John Williams Narrator: Robin Field Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004193

Quotes & Awards

  • “Out of the events surrounding one of the pivotal moments in Western history…John Williams has fashioned an always engaging, psychologically convincing work of fiction.”

    New York Times

  • “One is drawn deeply into a world whose complexity, luxury, political cynicism, public gullibility, and violence seem very much like our own.”

    New Yorker

  • “Novel or history, this is an excellent book…A superior work of the imagination.”

    Playboy

  • Augustus is a masterpiece.”

    Los Angeles Times   

  • Augustus is a vividly imagined re-creation of classical Rome, but its intuitive grasp of the experience of immense power makes it an unusual, and superior, novel.”

    Boston Globe

  • “It would be easy to over-praise this novel; but there does not seem any adequate reason why this temptation should be resisted, especially as Mr. Williams in his turn resists the obvious one of allowing irony too prominent a part in the proceedings.”

    Economist

  • “A novel of extraordinary range, yet of extraordinary minuteness, that manages never to sacrifice one quality for the other.”

    Financial Times

  • “A pleasure to read…A most polished performance.”

    Boston Herald Traveler

  • “Williams has immersed himself in ancient history, its figures, its conflicts, its complicated intrigues, and its often primitive turmoil. In his vivid panorama, the Golden Age sparkles with an eloquence, at times, approaching the poetic.”

    Plain Dealer

  • “Strong and striking…Intelligent and intuitive, this excellent historical novel makes the world of Ancient Rome a place in which we feel instantly at home.” 

    Publishers Weekly

  • Winner of the National Book Award in 1973

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by William shields | 11/25/2015

    " Great book, and superb reading by Robin Field. He's one of the best narrators on the scene today. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Miriam | 2/14/2014

    " I bought this via Kobo (formerly Shortcovers) impulsively after a Pat/Kat recommendation. It's been sitting on my iPhone for awhile, but I'm now well and truly hooked. I had no idea it was written by the Stoner author - just didn't make the connection. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Bert Aerts | 1/24/2014

    " The book was written in the form of letters. That is something I don't like. But the first half was very well written where it describes the struggle Octavius had to become the emperor. I liked that part very much. The second part where he was the emperor was weaker. For that reason I gave the book 3 stars. I don't think I would tell anyone this is a must read but if you are a history buff that needs to know more then it is OK. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Diane | 1/19/2014

    " Excellent! I read this just after reading STONER, while quite different in style, they both explore vicious male competitiveness ... a fascinating read. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations