Extended Audio Sample

Download Augustus Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Augustus, by John Williams Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.0018315018315 out of 54.0018315018315 out of 54.0018315018315 out of 54.0018315018315 out of 54.0018315018315 out of 5 4.00 (546 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: John Williams Narrator: Robin Field Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2011 ISBN: 9781470800598
Regular Price: $24.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004193

Quotes & Awards

  • “Out of the events surrounding one of the pivotal moments in Western history…John Williams has fashioned an always engaging, psychologically convincing work of fiction.”

    New York Times

  • “One is drawn deeply into a world whose complexity, luxury, political cynicism, public gullibility, and violence seem very much like our own.”

    New Yorker

  • “Novel or history, this is an excellent book…A superior work of the imagination.”

    Playboy

  • Augustus is a masterpiece.”

    Los Angeles Times   

  • Augustus is a vividly imagined re-creation of classical Rome, but its intuitive grasp of the experience of immense power makes it an unusual, and superior, novel.”

    Boston Globe

  • “It would be easy to over-praise this novel; but there does not seem any adequate reason why this temptation should be resisted, especially as Mr. Williams in his turn resists the obvious one of allowing irony too prominent a part in the proceedings.”

    Economist

  • “A novel of extraordinary range, yet of extraordinary minuteness, that manages never to sacrifice one quality for the other.”

    Financial Times

  • “A pleasure to read…A most polished performance.”

    Boston Herald Traveler

  • “Williams has immersed himself in ancient history, its figures, its conflicts, its complicated intrigues, and its often primitive turmoil. In his vivid panorama, the Golden Age sparkles with an eloquence, at times, approaching the poetic.”

    Plain Dealer

  • “Strong and striking…Intelligent and intuitive, this excellent historical novel makes the world of Ancient Rome a place in which we feel instantly at home.” 

    Publishers Weekly

  • Winner of the National Book Award in 1973

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 William shields | 11/25/2015

    " Great book, and superb reading by Robin Field. He's one of the best narrators on the scene today. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Miriam | 2/14/2014

    " I bought this via Kobo (formerly Shortcovers) impulsively after a Pat/Kat recommendation. It's been sitting on my iPhone for awhile, but I'm now well and truly hooked. I had no idea it was written by the Stoner author - just didn't make the connection. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bert Aerts | 1/24/2014

    " The book was written in the form of letters. That is something I don't like. But the first half was very well written where it describes the struggle Octavius had to become the emperor. I liked that part very much. The second part where he was the emperor was weaker. For that reason I gave the book 3 stars. I don't think I would tell anyone this is a must read but if you are a history buff that needs to know more then it is OK. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Diane | 1/19/2014

    " Excellent! I read this just after reading STONER, while quite different in style, they both explore vicious male competitiveness ... a fascinating read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tom | 1/17/2014

    " Fictional biography of the life of Augustus Caesar. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Adam Silverman | 12/28/2013

    " Wonderful. Uses histroical fiction as a way to raise questions about the nature of power, leadership and the challenge inherint inretaining one's humanity. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Zach | 12/20/2013

    " A good companion to HBO's "Rome." Agrippa was a bigger deal in the book, though. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carl | 11/12/2013

    " This epistolary novel reveals the complex world of Augustus Caesar through both his friends and enemies. Williams ability to explore the dynamics of power, greed, and control make this work equally relevant to the world we live in today. Truly amazing and smart. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Robin | 11/7/2013

    " Augustus Caesar is my current obsession "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dean Lisle | 10/7/2013

    " An interesting series of epistles from Romans close to Augustus. Some somewhat profound truths from some characters, but not Williams best novel. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sean | 7/29/2013

    " While I enjoyed the writing, I was somewhat disappointed by the lack of the titular character in what seemed like half of the novel. Book II is mostly about Julia, and while that's a fine story in its own right, I came to this party to read about the August, not his daughter. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John | 7/28/2013

    " Its one of the best history book I ever read. It shows how Anicent Rome was like back then. Its not even that hard to understand, but it broke my heart a little when Augustus died. It was so sad. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gary | 7/25/2013

    " A great "novelized" biography of the Roman emperor, told from the perspective of significant people in his life. A great read and a terrific feat of writing to capture so many different voices. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bryan Lawrence | 12/10/2012

    " Deeply moving look at friendship and family under the stresses of power. Written by a genius - hard to figure out how he did it, but terrific that he did "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Herzog2020 | 11/24/2012

    " One of the great forgotten ones. John Williams is probably the greatest lesser known American writer of the twentieth century. Each of his novels--perhaps Stoner especially--is a masterpiece. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeffrey Ottem | 5/14/2012

    " An emperor's rise. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Marge | 1/20/2012

    " I savored every lovely word of this historical novel. I felt that I knew all of these wonderful characters intimately. The Roman world came alive, thanks to Mr. Williams. I am looking forward to reading Stoner. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mary Frances | 1/2/2012

    " Loved this book! An epistolatory novel, it really brings the era and Agustus to life. Having just visited the National Gallery exhibit on Pompeii, I was inspired to get it out and re-read it. Excellent book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Frosh | 8/27/2011

    " This book . . . this is a book, friends. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alex Gleason | 6/16/2011

    " Three and a half stars. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephen Roxburgh | 5/15/2011

    " A fine book but Stoner is the masterpiece. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Deb | 4/8/2011

    " Excellent read on Augustus, he man and the forces that drove him. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Diane | 3/23/2011

    " Excellent! I read this just after reading STONER, while quite different in style, they both explore vicious male competitiveness ... a fascinating read. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations