Extended Audio Sample

Download Ashenden Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Ashenden (Unabridged), by Elizabeth Wilhide
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (289 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Wilhide Narrator: Carole Boyd Publisher: AudioGO Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Spring, 2010. When Charlie and Ros inherit Ashenden from their aunt Reggie, a decision must be made. The beautiful 18th-century house, set in acres of English countryside, is in need of serious repair. Do they try to keep it in the family, or will they have to sell?

Moving back in time, in an interwoven narrative spanning two and a half centuries, we witness the house from its beginnings through to the present day. Along the way we meet those who have built the house, lived in it and loved it; those who have worked in it; and those who would subvert it to their own ends. There is Mrs Trimble, housekeeper to the rackety, spendthrift Mores; the wealthy Henderson family, in their Victorian heyday; six-year-old Pudge; Walter Beckmann, prisoner in its grounds; and Reggie and Hugo, agents of its postwar revival. Through good times and bad, the better we get to know the house, the more we care about its survival.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BBCW_005954

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Cstrand | 2/18/2014

    " When someone tells me about a book that I should read if I like Downton Abbey, I'm usually disappointed. Not so with Ashenden. Lovely book about a large country home, book-ended by contemporary characters, it tells the story of the house by occassionally touching down on significant events for the house or its residents. The weaving through time is handled well. I was very interested in some of the characters in their chapter and diappointed when their story was over but the author very kindly dropped in little bits of info about them (or their family members) in later chapters so I knew where they ended up. Highly recommended. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Jenny | 2/16/2014

    " I only made it through the first few chapters. Usually British historical fiction is my favorite genre, but I just couldn't get through this. I wasn't invested in any of the characters, especially since each chapter was its own story. And the first few chapters ended so sadly! I am not a fan of books that are sad, so this was just a bad choice for me. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Claire | 2/12/2014

    " Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. You will travel through the history of Ashenden House, learning about how it was built, the different residents and the historical times periods. Many parallels to the popular show, including how the house was used during the war. The story continues through the present day, and according to the author, was based partly on the history of Basildon House (seen in the Kierra Knightly version of Pride and Prejudice. Highly recommended for history lovers, and Downton Fans (especially while you are waiting for season 4) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Margaret | 2/2/2014

    " Beautiful writing. A tour of a English country house and it's inhabitants from it's beginning in 1778 when it was built through the ups and downs of both the house and the people around it. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations