Extended Audio Sample

Download Ashenden Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Ashenden (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Elizabeth Wilhide
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (289 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Wilhide Narrator: Carole Boyd Publisher: AudioGO Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2012 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Spring, 2010. When Charlie and Ros inherit Ashenden from their aunt Reggie, a decision must be made. The beautiful 18th-century house, set in acres of English countryside, is in need of serious repair. Do they try to keep it in the family, or will they have to sell?

Moving back in time, in an interwoven narrative spanning two and a half centuries, we witness the house from its beginnings through to the present day. Along the way we meet those who have built the house, lived in it and loved it; those who have worked in it; and those who would subvert it to their own ends. There is Mrs Trimble, housekeeper to the rackety, spendthrift Mores; the wealthy Henderson family, in their Victorian heyday; six-year-old Pudge; Walter Beckmann, prisoner in its grounds; and Reggie and Hugo, agents of its postwar revival. Through good times and bad, the better we get to know the house, the more we care about its survival.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BBCW_005954

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cstrand | 2/18/2014

    " When someone tells me about a book that I should read if I like Downton Abbey, I'm usually disappointed. Not so with Ashenden. Lovely book about a large country home, book-ended by contemporary characters, it tells the story of the house by occassionally touching down on significant events for the house or its residents. The weaving through time is handled well. I was very interested in some of the characters in their chapter and diappointed when their story was over but the author very kindly dropped in little bits of info about them (or their family members) in later chapters so I knew where they ended up. Highly recommended. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jenny | 2/16/2014

    " I only made it through the first few chapters. Usually British historical fiction is my favorite genre, but I just couldn't get through this. I wasn't invested in any of the characters, especially since each chapter was its own story. And the first few chapters ended so sadly! I am not a fan of books that are sad, so this was just a bad choice for me. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Claire | 2/12/2014

    " Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. You will travel through the history of Ashenden House, learning about how it was built, the different residents and the historical times periods. Many parallels to the popular show, including how the house was used during the war. The story continues through the present day, and according to the author, was based partly on the history of Basildon House (seen in the Kierra Knightly version of Pride and Prejudice. Highly recommended for history lovers, and Downton Fans (especially while you are waiting for season 4) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Margaret | 2/2/2014

    " Beautiful writing. A tour of a English country house and it's inhabitants from it's beginning in 1778 when it was built through the ups and downs of both the house and the people around it. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Terri | 1/20/2014

    " This was less a novel than a series of short stories joined together to form the history of an English estate built in the late 1700's. Each chapter represents another era and, while interesting, it failed to draw me in or make me feel any sort of relationship with the property or the characters. I was hoping to quell my 'Downton Abbey' appetite and only received an undersized and bland appetizer. Not my cup of tea. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Beccie | 1/3/2014

    " Didn't even make it through the first chapter. Too much vulgarity, crudeness and overall grossness. FTSOY: "Do not attend, view, or participate in anything that is vulgar, immoral, violent, or pornographic in any way." Closed it and walked away. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katie | 12/9/2013

    " It was interesting the way she told mini short stories to tell the history of the large English house. I skipped a little in this book because some of the characters just weren't that interesting. But I did enjoy the book and the way that it ended. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeanita Karnes | 9/13/2013

    " It's an OK book, entertaining and an easy read but nothing groundbreaking. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathleen | 3/22/2013

    " Took a while to get into this story of a house, but I finally began to enjoy the short tales of whom lived within its walls. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bev | 2/21/2013

    " LOVED IT - anyone who likes Downton Abbey will be delighted with this story of a house - told through the people who are living there as the years pass - the threads that are woven hold together beautifully to create a strong fabric of history and change "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amy | 11/4/2012

    " This was a fun read. very Downton Abbey-esque. I would probably give it 3.5 stars. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Eileen Lussen | 10/23/2012

    " Great read. Main interest is the house and vignettes that revolve around it. Never found it boring. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary Hauer | 8/23/2012

    " Most excellent. The individual chapters are slices of time, all tied to the house, with characters having links to the past & the future. didn't want it to end--always the ultimate tribute! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ellen | 8/1/2012

    " "People of the Book" meets "Downton Abby." Really enjoyed this book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Krista Mercer | 6/30/2012

    " An intimate portrait of an English country house, as seen through its various incarnations from the 18th century (when it was built) to the present. I loved how the house's history was filtered through that of its occupants - gave a real sense of the connection to the past. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations