Are You There Alone? (Abridged): The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates Audiobook, by Suzanne O’Malley Play Audiobook Sample

Download Are You There Alone? (Abridged): The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates Audiobook

Are You There Alone? (Abridged): The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates Audiobook, by Suzanne O’Malley Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
Author: Suzanne O’Malley Narrator: Becky Ann Baker Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Audio Length: Release Date: February 2004 Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780743539296

Publisher Description

In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Executioner's Song, and A Civil Action, Suzanne O'Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal drama surrounding it.

As a journalist, Suzanne O'Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, Andrea Yates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O'Malley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney's and sheriff's offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses.

O'Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041.

O'Malley's exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case.

In "Are You There Alone?" O'Malley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system.

Download and start listening now!

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " How could a person - a mother - do such a horrid thing???? Suzanne O'Malley did a nice job of shedding light on Andrea Yates, her condition and how this tragedy was able to unfold right before everyone's eyes. I read this in an effort to try to understand why.... Still don't know "why" but definitely understand mental illness more and the dangers of complacency and denial in dark situations. Very sad and tragic, but hope in some small way Andrea's story can help someone else reach out for help or make sure a loved one gets the help they need. Sad... interesting... educational... and in a weird way O'Malley's words helped me find a place within myself where compassion lived for Andrea. "

    - Jane, 2/9/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " This was a fascinating, very very disturbing book. I have overlooked it many times on the library shelves before finally deciding to check it out....O'Malley does an amazing job with this book; it is very informative and thought-provoking. It has a lot more "religious stuff" in it than i usually like, but it is a fascinating look at mental illness, the problems of diagnosis, and the problems of responsibility within the mental health field. Recommended, but eerie and unsettling. "

    - Aurora, 2/8/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Very good true crime. Explores the backstory of Andrea, and her illness. Raises a question of what to do when "justice" isnt enough.... "

    - Kim, 1/25/2014
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " read this because I lived in Clear Lake City where this happened. I know people have all sorts of opinions about what happened, but I have to say that after reading this book, her husband should have been tried as well as her. Her story is incrediably tragic. This is not written from her point of view, either. "

    - Maureen, 1/20/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Interesting, but gave me chills and made me sad for weeks. "

    - Juliene, 1/15/2014
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " WOW what an insight to Andrea Yates and the tragic event that left the world in shock. Great read and highly recommend for true crime fans. Could not put this down! "

    - Michelle, 1/11/2014
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " cried hard for Yates' kids T.T "

    - Natalia, 1/4/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Mental illness is real, and though I don 't condone her actions, my heart is saddened by all the signs that were missed. If only those many times that she and her husband had sought help had been realized ... seven lives may have been spared. "

    - Jennifer, 12/29/2013
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " Very freaky! This book shows how serious postpartum depression can be for a woman... and her children. The book was OK... the story, sad. "

    - Katie, 12/2/2013
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " Skimmed the book. It got too medical for me. And I was expecting to read more about their lives. Not so much of the trial. "

    - Marshan, 11/15/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " This was a compelling and hard book to read. The author did a through job, but it was such an ugly topic I would find it difficult to reccommend to others. "

    - Jody, 10/7/2013
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " The cover of the mass-market edition paperback contains one of the most well-designed, creepiest visual effects I've ever seen on a book: when you look at the front of the book from a certain angle (in florescent light, at least; I never took it outside), Andrea Yates just disappears. "

    - Sara, 2/6/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " A thought-provoking look at the preventable tragedy. "

    - Kelly, 9/24/2012
  • Overall Performance: 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

    " This was crap. Didn't even finish it and sent it back to the library so technically it isn't 'read'. Blurgh. "

    - Siany, 3/4/2012
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " This was a very well written book about Andrea Yates. She's the mother that drown her children in the bathtub of her home. It really opened my eyes about mental illness and the dangers of ignoring it. "

    - Jenny, 8/28/2011
  • Overall Performance: 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

    " Morbid curiosity drew me to this book and wasted my time. This topic is difficult enough without having to deal with bad writing and repetitiveness. A definite must NOT read. "

    - Cecilia, 6/7/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Andrea Yates was mentally ill and it was incredibly sad that the system failed both her and her children. The writing was on the wall but no one was reading it. "

    - Lisa, 12/4/2010
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " 4/8/12 ~ Ordered from paperback swap today. I always thought this was such a sad story. "

    - Tara, 7/23/2010
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I read this book a year or so ago and actually enjoyed it. I am usually into true crime bc it intrigues me, not bc i think it's cool. I don't know how she could do something so sick as to kill her children, but i wanted to know her story. "

    - Krystin, 6/25/2010
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " The cover of the mass-market edition paperback contains one of the most well-designed, creepiest visual effects I've ever seen on a book: when you look at the front of the book from a certain angle (in florescent light, at least; I never took it outside), Andrea Yates just disappears. "

    - Sara, 6/9/2010
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Interesting, but gave me chills and made me sad for weeks. "

    - Juliene, 1/7/2009
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Andrea Yates was mentally ill and it was incredibly sad that the system failed both her and her children. The writing was on the wall but no one was reading it. "

    - Lisa, 12/1/2008
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " Very freaky! This book shows how serious postpartum depression can be for a woman... and her children. The book was OK... the story, sad. "

    - Katie, 8/29/2008
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " tragic.... pemahaman yg beda ttg cinta dan kasih... "

    - Rie, 7/12/2008

About the Narrator

Becky Ann Baker, narrator and actress, has received critics’ praise for her readings of books by such authors as Stephen King, James Patterson, Patricia Cornwell, Iris Johansen, and Karin Slaughter. She has performed in numerous roles on Broadway, starring in Stephen Sondheim’s Assassins. Her many television credits include Girls, Smash, and Nurse Jackie, and her film credits include Spider-Man 3, The Discoverers, and Hope Springs.