Extended Audio Sample

Download Anna and the Swallow Man Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Anna and the Swallow Man Audiobook, by Gavriel Savit Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Gavriel Savit Narrator: Allan Corduner Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2016 ISBN: 9781101891827
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
New York Times Bestseller
A Booklist Editors’ Choice Audio

An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award                             
Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award

"Exquisite." —The Wall Street Journal

"This is masterly storytelling." —The New York Times Book Review

A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief.

 
Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. 
 
Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit’s stunning debut reveals life’s hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities. Download and start listening now!

bn7t

Quotes & Awards

  • Chilling yet tender. People Magazine
  • Savit’s economical prose beautifully captures a child’s loss of innocence and the spiritual challenges that emerge when a safe world suddenly becomes threatening. Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
  • The Book Thief. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. Any book compared to both of these is in my eyes sure to have an exciting plot, be a fantastic eye opener, and have loveable characters. Anna and the Swallow Man did not disappoint. Just go and read it—it is impossible not to love. The Guardian
  • “Exquisite.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • The story is powerful enough to resonate with all ages....Savit's novel, though a quick read, is a powerful one. And just like the child is follows, it has a deeper poignancy masked by its seemingly simple surface. Mashable
  • "Written like a love song for language — heartbreaking and entrancing and filled with characters whose survival is intimately, sometimes tragically, tied to their love of words. Bustle
  • “This is masterly storytelling.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • The third-person narrative—lyrical, fluid, with a pervasive shadow of menace—lends a folkloric feel to a graceful story steeped in history, magic, myth, and archetype; comparisons to The Book Thief are apt. The Horn Book, Starred Review

    "Savit’s novel, with its wise, philosophical narrator, has the classic feel and elegant, precise language of a book that’s been around forever.
  • Artful, original, insightful. Kirkus Reviews
  • "A moving, thought-provoking story about coming-of-age in the midst of trauma. Booklist 
  • “Savit’s economical prose beautifully captures a child’s loss of innocence and the spiritual challenges that emerge when a safe world suddenly becomes threatening.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “The third-person narrative—lyrical, fluid, with a pervasive shadow of menace—lends a folkloric feel to a graceful story steeped in history, magic, myth, and archetype; comparisons to The Book Thief are apt.”

    Horn Book (starred review)

  • Convention tells us that a love story is about boy or girl meets boy or girl, but there are plenty of love stories that aren’t about romance…Such a relationship is forged in the the midst of World War II, as young Anna finds a father figure in the enigmatic Swallow Man; both are broken in their own way, find wholeness in each other, and then break again in this quiet exploration of love and its limits.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

  • “Allan Corduner’s deep voice pairs well with the graceful, intelligent prose in this mesmerizing account…Corduner’s elegant, discreet voicing and measured pacing keep listeners focused on the three main characters in a wrenching coming-of-age story that will appeal to adults as well as thoughtful mature teens. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • “A moving, thought-provoking story about coming-of-age in the midst of trauma.”

    Booklist

  • “Artful, original, insightful.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
  • A Booklist Editors’ Choice Audio
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award
  • Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award
  • An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year
  • A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
  • A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Gavriel Savit holds a BFA in musical theater from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, where he grew up. As an actor and singer, Gavriel has performed on three continents, from New York to Brussels to Tokyo. He lives in Brooklyn.

About the Narrator

Allan Corduner is a voice, film, and theater actor who has worked in London’s West End and on Broadway. He is the winner of five AudioFile Earphones Awards. He has also appeared in several BBC Radio 4 plays, including The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui and Insignificance. His narration includes The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and Garth Nix’s Keys to the Kingdom series.