And Quiet Flows the Don Audiobook, by Mikhail Sholokhov Play Audiobook Sample

Download And Quiet Flows the Don Audiobook

And Quiet Flows the Don Audiobook, by Mikhail Sholokhov Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $24.95 Add to Cart
Author: Mikhail Sholokhov Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki, Stephen Garry Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Release Date: August 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781094057651

Publisher Description

Mikhail Sholokhov’s groundbreaking epic novel gives a sweeping depiction of Russian life and culture in the early twentieth century. In the same vein as War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoy, And Quiet Flows the Don gives listeners a glimpse into many aspects of Russian culture, and the choices a country makes when faced with war and destruction.

Download and start listening now!


  • “Sholokhov has achieved even greater power, sustained narrative gift, and stirring human truthfulness.”

    - New York Times

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Mikhail Sholokov (1905–1984), a Soviet/Russian author best known for writing about the Cossacks during the Russian Revolution, was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1965. He was born in a village in the region of the Don river of a family that had been living there for many generations. Despite poverty, he was able to attend school in Moscow. At the age of fifteen, he returned to his native village to become a schoolteacher, then a statistician, and a food inspector, among various other jobs. He began writing when he was eighteen years old. His best-known book, And Quiet Flows the Don, was published in 1928 in the Soviet Union and in the United States in 1934. Its sequel, The Don Flows Home to the Sea, was finished in 1939 and appeared in America in 1940. Although each is complete in itself, the two books are often referred to under the title The Silent Don. Others of his books that have been translated into English include Harvest on the Don, Seeds of Tomorrow, and Tales of the Don.

About the Narrator

Stefan Rudnicki first became involved with audiobooks in 1994. Now a Grammy-winning audiobook producer, he has worked on more than three thousand audiobooks as a narrator, writer, producer, or director. He has narrated more than three hundred audiobooks. A recipient of multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards, he was presented the coveted Audie Award for solo narration in 2005, 2007, and 2014, and was named one of AudioFile’s Golden Voices in 2012.