Extended Audio Sample

Download An Irish Country Wedding: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample An Irish Country Wedding: A Novel Audiobook, by Patrick Taylor Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (460 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Patrick Taylor Narrator: John Keating Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: October 2012 ISBN: 9781427226402
Regular Price: $23.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Being a general medical practitioner in a place like Ballybucklebo, Northern Ireland, often means more than simply splinting broken bones and tending to aches and pains. It can also mean helping a struggling young couple acquire their first home, clearing the name of a cat accused of preying on a neighbor’s prize pigeons, and encouraging a bright working-class girl who dreams of someday becoming a doctor herself. And, if you’re Barry Laverty, still smarting from a painful breakup, there might even be a chance for a new romance with a lovely schoolteacher, if her passionate political convictions don’t get in the way.

Much has changed in Ballybucklebo, and bigger changes are in store, but the lives and practices of these Irish country doctors remain as captivating and irresistible as ever.

Download and start listening now!

BK_AREN_001506

Quotes & Awards

  • Wraps you in the sensations of a vanished time and place. The Vancouver Sun on An Irish Country Doctor

  • “While I thoroughly enjoy Taylor's stories, I like them even more as audiobooks as John Keating does an excellent job reading them. I've reviewed numerous audiobooks and the ones in this series read by John Keating are the best. Simcoe.com

  • Taylor is a bang-up storyteller who captivates and entertains from the first word. Publishers Weekly on An Irish Country Girl
  • Patrick Taylor has become probably the most popular Irish-Canadian writer of all time. The Globe and Mail
  • Taylor masterfully charts the small victories and defeats of Irish village life. Irish America Magazine
  • With an unerring eye for detail, the talents of a natural storyteller, and the ability to pepper his anecdotes with large doses of wit and humor, Patrick Taylor has written a delightful novel. Caligary Herald on An Irish Country Doctor
  • “What Herriot did for Yorkshire, Taylor does for Northern Ireland’s County Antrim and County Down; minus the animals, of course, but with all the good sentiments. Taylor's seventh in the Irish Country Doctor series (An Irish Country Doctor, 2007, etc.) provides a dose of easy medicine to readers familiar with the 1960s milieu and characters in the fictional wee town of Ballybucklebo, where Dr. Fingal Flahertie O’Reilly practices medicine. …The author notes this is the first in the series where he’s confronted ‘The Troubles.’ He does so in a limited way, with equal measures of empathy and realism. Kinky’s afterword and recipes end the book, along with a glossary of Irish dialect. Gentle, colorful, feel-good stories of a peaceable life long gone. Think Mayberry with Dr. O’Reilly as Sheriff Taylor.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “In the latest installment in the Irish Country series, Taylor continues the adventures of the much-loved doctors and the Ballybucklebo villagers, complete with a glossary of authentic Irish slang. While longtime lovers of the series will enjoy this episode, new readers might want to start with an earlier entry. Fans of Frank Delaney, Jan Karon, and Gail Fraser will appreciate Taylor’s humorous, dialect-tinged take on small-town drama. A spirited and compassionate story filled with pastoral Irish imagery, cheerful village life, and heartwarming romance.”

    Booklist

  • “Taylor masterfully charts the small victories and defeats of Irish village life.”

    Irish America magazine, praise for the author

  • “The author laces his heartwarming moments with liberal doses of whiskey and colorful Ulster invectives.”

    Chicago Sun-Times, praise for the author

  • “Patrick Taylor has become probably the most popular Irish-Canadian writer of all time.”

    Globe and Mail, praise for the author

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 A. Harney | 2/11/2014

    " I enjoyed this as I did with all Patrick Taylor's book. Love the locations, the brogue, and the cliches they use! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Emmy | 2/7/2014

    " I loved this book. It was fun reading.. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sandy Harp | 1/21/2014

    " A good read full of great characters from the auld country. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jill | 1/18/2014

    " I absolutely love this series set in Northern Ireland which depicts the life of country general practictioners in the mid 1960's. I was definitely in the mood to read this next book in the series, but compared to others it was a bit of a snoozefest. Not to say much happens in the other books, which are not page-turners. THe simplicity and quietness of these stories of the village folks and their medical problems and personal lives has always been comfortable and cozy to read. Perhaps the series has gone as far as it can for now. Nonetheless, I always get a kick out of the Ulster slang and am thankful for the glossary at the back of the book to make sure I understand everything. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Diane | 1/7/2014

    " Very enjoyable read. The characters are so lovable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gerry | 1/3/2014

    " engaging story filled with likeable people - made me feel at home "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jim | 12/26/2013

    " My least favorite of this series so far, but still a fun read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ann Torrey | 12/14/2013

    " This was a great book, a little dry in the history area but anyone who likes history would enjoy those parts. Like the way they talk, do things and their manners. It was a nice light romance with compassion thrown into it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Diane Johnson | 12/11/2013

    " Not as enjoyable as his other books but still fun to revisit Ireland in 1965---& his wedding date was our wedding date, so it was like going back in time to a special day ! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laurie | 11/27/2013

    " Nice, feel good read for December! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jan Druetzler-katz | 11/21/2013

    " Always enjoy the books in the series. Easy read, great escape and wonderful Irish storytelling. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Anna | 10/21/2013

    " I love this book and the whole series about the country doctors in Ireland. They are wonderful!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jean | 10/4/2013

    " Always love traveling to Ballybuckaroo, these people are like quirky friends. Just have to wait for another now. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Amber | 7/22/2013

    " Clever book and enjoyed reading from the first to the last page. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carmen Amato | 5/28/2013

    " All of the books in this series are terrific. They capture time and place perfectly, with the formula of quirky but realistic characters, perfect-pitch dialogue, and deft and light conflict. An excellent book to carry you away! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Laura | 5/6/2013

    " I enjoy Taylors books but they are pretty fluffy-lots of paddywackery. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rebecca | 4/20/2013

    " I am a big fan of Taylor's "Irish Doctor" stories, but this one was not my favorite. Unlike the others, it moved slowly for me and did not hold my interest. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sandra | 3/26/2013

    " Sad to finish this one, please write more Patrick! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Peg | 2/4/2013

    " Another delightful story in the Irish Country Doctor series. It's wide open for the next segment so I can hardly wait. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Karen | 1/8/2013

    " more more please "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Robin | 12/11/2012

    " Hurry Mr. Taylor - I miss my friends already! What a wonderful series - heartwarming! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Glenn | 12/4/2012

    " What a nice wonderful book! a great addition to the series. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Patrick Taylor

Patrick Taylor is the author of the Irish Country novels, including the New York Times bestseller An Irish Country Wedding. He was born and raised in Bangor, County Down, in Northern Ireland. He is a retired medical researcher and a professor emeritus at the University of British Columbia.

About the Narrator

John Keating is an actor, voice talent, and the winner of eight Earphones Awards for audio narration. His numerous acting credits include Roundabout Theatre’s production of Juno and the Paycock and La Mama ETC’s production of Cat and the Moon, as well as various parts with the Irish Repertory Theater and the Irish Arts Center. He can also be seen in the HBO miniseries John Adams, starring Paul Giamatti and Laura Linney.