Extended Audio Sample

Download An Irish Country Wedding: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample An Irish Country Wedding: A Novel, by Patrick Taylor Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (460 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Patrick Taylor Narrator: John Keating Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $23.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Being a general medical practitioner in a place like Ballybucklebo, Northern Ireland, often means more than simply splinting broken bones and tending to aches and pains. It can also mean helping a struggling young couple acquire their first home, clearing the name of a cat accused of preying on a neighbor’s prize pigeons, and encouraging a bright working-class girl who dreams of someday becoming a doctor herself. And, if you’re Barry Laverty, still smarting from a painful breakup, there might even be a chance for a new romance with a lovely schoolteacher, if her passionate political convictions don’t get in the way.

Much has changed in Ballybucklebo, and bigger changes are in store, but the lives and practices of these Irish country doctors remain as captivating and irresistible as ever.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “What Herriot did for Yorkshire, Taylor does for Northern Ireland’s County Antrim and County Down; minus the animals, of course, but with all the good sentiments. Taylor's seventh in the Irish Country Doctor series (An Irish Country Doctor, 2007, etc.) provides a dose of easy medicine to readers familiar with the 1960s milieu and characters in the fictional wee town of Ballybucklebo, where Dr. Fingal Flahertie O’Reilly practices medicine. …The author notes this is the first in the series where he’s confronted ‘The Troubles.’ He does so in a limited way, with equal measures of empathy and realism. Kinky’s afterword and recipes end the book, along with a glossary of Irish dialect. Gentle, colorful, feel-good stories of a peaceable life long gone. Think Mayberry with Dr. O’Reilly as Sheriff Taylor.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “In the latest installment in the Irish Country series, Taylor continues the adventures of the much-loved doctors and the Ballybucklebo villagers, complete with a glossary of authentic Irish slang. While longtime lovers of the series will enjoy this episode, new readers might want to start with an earlier entry. Fans of Frank Delaney, Jan Karon, and Gail Fraser will appreciate Taylor’s humorous, dialect-tinged take on small-town drama. A spirited and compassionate story filled with pastoral Irish imagery, cheerful village life, and heartwarming romance.”


  • “Taylor masterfully charts the small victories and defeats of Irish village life.”

    Irish America magazine, praise for the author

  • “The author laces his heartwarming moments with liberal doses of whiskey and colorful Ulster invectives.”

    Chicago Sun-Times, praise for the author

  • “Patrick Taylor has become probably the most popular Irish-Canadian writer of all time.”

    Globe and Mail, praise for the author

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by A. Harney | 2/11/2014

    " I enjoyed this as I did with all Patrick Taylor's book. Love the locations, the brogue, and the cliches they use! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Emmy | 2/7/2014

    " I loved this book. It was fun reading.. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Sandy Harp | 1/21/2014

    " A good read full of great characters from the auld country. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Jill | 1/18/2014

    " I absolutely love this series set in Northern Ireland which depicts the life of country general practictioners in the mid 1960's. I was definitely in the mood to read this next book in the series, but compared to others it was a bit of a snoozefest. Not to say much happens in the other books, which are not page-turners. THe simplicity and quietness of these stories of the village folks and their medical problems and personal lives has always been comfortable and cozy to read. Perhaps the series has gone as far as it can for now. Nonetheless, I always get a kick out of the Ulster slang and am thankful for the glossary at the back of the book to make sure I understand everything. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations