Extended Audio Sample

Download American Elsewhere Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample American Elsewhere, by Robert Jackson Bennett Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Robert Jackson Bennett Narrator: Graham Winto Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $34.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Some places are too good to be true. Under a pink moon, there is a perfect little town not found on any map. In that town, there are quiet streets lined with pretty houses, houses that conceal the strangest things. After a couple years of hard traveling, ex-cop Mona Bright inherits her long-dead mother’s home in Wink, New Mexico. And the closer Mona gets to her mother’s past, the more she understands that the people of Wink are very, very different.

From one of our most talented and original new literary voices comes the next great American supernatural novel: a work that explores the dark dimensions of the hometowns and the neighbors we thought we knew.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • "American Elsewhere conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King…American Elsewhere manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “Bennett’s novel may remind readers of the early works of Stephen King, presenting a small town where nothing is what it seems…Bennett’s work also evokes a mood similar to that of Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves, where every darkness may swallow a person only to spit them out into a place akin to Wonderland.”

    RT Book Reviews

  • “Bennett gives the idealized image of the American dream a pan-dimensional twist with this alien invasion tale, part Bradbury and part L’Engle with a dash of Edward Scissorhands…Readers will be captivated from start to finish.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “This wonderful offering is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman.”

    Library Journal

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Robert Jackson Bennett

Robert Jackson Bennett’s 2010 debut, Mr. Shivers, won the Shirley Jackson Award as well as the Sydney J. Bounds Newcomer Award. His second novel, The Company Man, won a Special Citation of Excellence from the Philip K. Dick Award, as well as an Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original. His third novel, The Troupe, was published to high critical and popular acclaim. Born in Baton Rouge, he now lives in Austin with his wife and son.