Extended Audio Sample

Download All the Lovely Bad Ones Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample All the Lovely Bad Ones Audiobook, by Mary Downing Hahn Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.00032658393207 out of 53.00032658393207 out of 53.00032658393207 out of 53.00032658393207 out of 53.00032658393207 out of 5 3.00 (3,062 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Mary Downing Hahn Narrator: Jeff Cummings Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2011 ISBN: 9781611069495
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Travis and his sister, Corey, can’t resist a good trick. When they learn that their grandmother’s quiet Vermont inn, where they’re spending the summer, has a history of ghost sightings, they decide to do a little “haunting” of their own. Before long, their supernatural pranks have tourists flocking to the inn, and business booms. But Travis and Corey soon find out that they aren’t the only ghosts at Fox Hill Inn. Their thoughtless games have awakened something dangerous, something that should have stayed asleep. Restless, spiteful spirits swarm the inn, while a dark and terrifying presence stalks the halls and the old oak grove on the inn’s grounds. Only Travis and Corey can lay to rest the ghosts they’ve stirred. This means discovering the secret of Fox Hill and the horrors visited on its inhabitants years before... Once again, Mary Downing Hahn has created a chilling and gripping ghost story in the tradition of The Old Willis Place, Witch Catcher, and Deep and Dark and Dangerous. Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_002867

Quotes & Awards

  • Winner of the 2010 Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Clarissa | 2/19/2014

    " A good ghost story for kids from fourth grade up. Scary, but not too scary. An inn is haunted by the ghosts of children who lived there when the place was a poor farm run by a cruel brother and sister Cornelius and Ada Jaggs in the 1800's. The people who lived on the poor farm were starved and worked to death. Ada was especially cruel to the boys who lived there, and considered that they were all bad and needed to be punished. Two children Corey and Travis come to spend the summer with their grandmother who runs the inn. When they hear that the inn used to be haunted they decide to pretend to be ghosts for fun. Their antics bring the real ghosts back, and soon the inn is haunted by very badly behaved children and Miss Ada's evil angry ghost. Travis and Corey have to exorcise Miss Adas spirit and lay the other ghosts to rest. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mindy | 2/12/2014

    " Another YA book that I totally loved! I am terrified of ghosts, but this ghost story was light on creepy scary and big on heart. After reading this book, I feel like I could be a "sensitive one" and see a spirit if one had a message for me. If you knew me, you'd know this scares me beyond belief. Anyway, despite the scariness, this book is quite lovely and changes my perspective on young adult lit. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mandi Murphy | 2/6/2014

    " Pretty creepy at parts. Absolutely no bad language. A fun, quick read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ariel | 1/25/2014

    " It was so sad!! I cried and the people around me thought I was a little crazy! XD "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jolice | 1/21/2014

    " Even if something is a myth, we shouldn't make fun of it. It can come true for all we know, and when we regret it, it is just too late... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cynthia | 1/10/2014

    " Another good ghost story from Mary Downing Hahn for the upper elementary crowd. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Zayla | 1/10/2014

    " This is real good so far!!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lauren Allen | 1/9/2014

    " i liked this book. i would give it 3 stars. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Emmonie Hart | 12/30/2013

    " It's kind of creepy. Honestly I would recomend this to anyone who wants a good chill down there spine. Very good! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer Farr | 12/25/2013

    " Totally easy read-read in just under 90 minutes. Even though the ending was predictable I really enjoyed the story. It was just enough scary to keep me going. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lea | 12/18/2013

    " Good ghost story for kids who enjoy scarcy stories. The ghosts become main characters and you become attached to them and wish peace for them. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kate Stark | 12/12/2013

    " I did not expect to be pulled in so much, but I found myself wanting to stay up and finish it, but also worried I wouldn't be able to sleep if I didn't switch to something less scary. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Annie Oosterwyk | 12/7/2013

    " Deep and Dark and Dangerous was so good, this book suffers by comparison. I was looking for a scary read-aloud for my sixth grade library classes and I will have to keep looking. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 joseiliz | 6/5/2013

    " it was good yet not all interesting as all the other ones shes writen. i think deep and dark and dangerous was way better. i really love this aurthor though, dont get me wrong she great. but this one wasnt so interesting for me. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katterley | 5/8/2013

    " Don't wake 'em up! Scary stuff, reminded me of a ghost story I had heard from Wisconsin, but this takes place in eastern America. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lily99 | 4/30/2013

    " I really enjoyed this book but i can't say it's the best of Mary's works......... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mari | 3/30/2013

    " This is not my favorite genre. It was okay. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 AaRtHi :) :D :P | 3/18/2013

    " it was really good :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Stephanie Zemba | 3/10/2013

    " One of Hahn's best ghost books! Full of mystery and fright (not to mention ghosts!) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Srcooke | 2/27/2013

    " I liked it but i thought it wasn't the best book I've read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bryannamwelfordspringgrovesd.org | 8/4/2012

    " Creepy and very good. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jami | 7/12/2012

    " This was a good quick read. It was a good ghost tale "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marcus | 3/9/2012

    " for scary story fans. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary Grace | 9/11/2011

    " I am enjoying this book. The beginning is kind of dull, but it gets better quickly. This is my thrid time reading a Mary Downing Hahn book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Glorilyn Lee | 9/9/2011

    " A good, scary little read if you like ghost stories (and I do!) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary | 8/1/2011

    " I was disappointed that the ending left yo hanging and hoping "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sam | 6/3/2011

    " So sad!!! i dunno y but it gave me nightmares. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Franki | 5/23/2011

    " I thought that it was very awesome but also sort of not what I expected. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carla | 5/17/2011

    " I liked the book- my daughter read it and passed it on. It was good for a young readers book. I understand why she enjoyed it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sophia | 5/15/2011

    " this book was ok. it wasn't that scary at all. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hailey | 4/29/2011

    " I loved it. It had love and mystery. This book gave me the creeps. Hope you love it as much as i do. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brooke | 4/3/2011

    " Best book ever love it readit it in a day "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sandy | 3/10/2011

    " Amazing!you absolutely have to read it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jean | 2/24/2011

    " A spooky tale with a smattering of Shakespeare. I predict this book will be popular with some of my seventh grade reluctant readers. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Takeshi | 2/23/2011

    " Great increddible with amazing plots and twists. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marta | 2/21/2011

    " amazing don't read at night or you wont get sleep till the next night they should make this book into a movie "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Josie | 1/20/2011

    " This ones REALLY CREEPY and I almost never get scared when I read books "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jenny | 1/19/2011

    " Enjoyed this book, but it was really scary - too scary for the 9 & 10 year olds who it is aimed for. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 10-11 Kaylyn | 1/13/2011

    " It was an exiting book the reason i like it so much is because i live for thrill! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hanaa709 :) | 1/11/2011

    " IT WAS AMAZING!!!!! i coudn't put it down. once and i while i woud get a shiver down my back but it was an amzing ghost story! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Mary Downing Hahn

Mary Downing Hahn, a former children’s librarian, is the award-winning author of many popular ghost stories, including Deep and Dark and Dangerous and The Old Willis Place. An avid reader, traveler, and all-around arts lover, she lives in Columbia, Maryland, with her two cats, Oscar and Rufus.

About the Narrator

Jeff Cummings, as an audiobook narrator, has won both an Earphones Award and the prestigious Audie Award in 2015 for Best Narration in Science and Technology. He is also a twenty-year veteran of the stage, having worked at many regional theaters across the country, from A Contemporary Theatre in Seattle and the Alliance Theatre in Atlanta to the Utah Shakespeare Festival in Cedar City and the International Mystery Writers’ Festival in Owensboro, Kentucky. He also spent seven seasons with the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.