Extended Audio Sample

Download Al Capone: His Life, Legacy, and Legend Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Al Capone: His Life, Legacy, and Legend, by Deirdre Bair Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Deirdre Bair Narrator: Rob Shapiro Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

From a National Book Award-winning biographer, the first complete life of legendary gangster Al Capone to be produced with the cooperation of his family, who provided the author with exclusive access to personal testimony and archival documents.

Born in 1899 in Brooklyn, New York, to poor, Italian immigrant parents, Al Capone went on to become the most infamous gangster in American history. In 1925, during the height of Prohibition, Capone's multi-million-dollar Chicago bootlegging, prostitution, and gambling operation dominated the organized-crime scene. His competition with rival gangs was brutally violent, a long-running war that crested with the shocking St. Valentine's Day Massacre of 1929. Through it all, and despite the best efforts of law enforcement and the media elite, Capone remained above the fray. Federal income-tax evasion was the strongest charge that could be made to stick, and in 1931 he was sentenced to eleven years in federal prison. After serving six-and-a-half years, mostly in Alcatraz, a severely impaired Capone, badly damaged by neurosyphillis, was released to live out his final years with his family in Miami. From his heyday to the present moment, Al Capone's life has gripped the public imagination, and his gangster persona has been immortalized in the countless movies and books inspired by his exploits.
     But who was the man behind the legend? Capone loved to tell tall tales that perpetuated his mystique; newspapers loved him and frequently embellished or fabricated stories about him to sell copies. While some remember him as fundamentally kind and good, others speak of how frightening he was, a vicious, cold-blooded killer. Was Al really such a quotable wit? Did he really shower the poor with hundred-dollar bills and silver dollars from the window of his bulletproof car? Did he really keep a bevy of mistresses ensconced in his hotel headquarters in Chicago? Writing with exclusive access to Capone's descendants, Deirdre Bair finally gets at the truth behind this eternally fascinating man, who was equal parts charismatic mobster, doting father, and calculating monster. Download and start listening now!

c0ac

Quotes & Awards

  • Deirdre Bair’s command of her subject is encyclopedic ... Never before have we had such a complete and engrossing picture of Capone’s life and times. Nicholas Pileggi, author of Wiseguy: Life in a Mafia Family and screenwriter of Goodfellas and Casino
  • Deirdre Bair offers a new history of Capone, and separates fact from fiction in the process ... Bair's Capone is powerfully human, a daunting task given his infamous pop culture stature. Smithsonian
  • An intimate, psychologically astute, and richly embroidered biography of the most famous criminal in American history. Dick Lehr, coauthor of Black Mass: Whitey Bulger, the FBI, and a Devil’s Deal
  • Beautifully researched and immensely readable, Al Capone peels away layers to reveal a consistently surprising and exquisitely complex portrait of the man behind the legend. Karen Abbott, author of Sin in the Second City: Madams, Ministers, Playboys, and the Battle for America’s Soul
  • "A definitive biography of 'Public Enemy #1' ... Bair has written perhaps the last word on Capone. Highly recommended. Library Journal
  • A brilliant and engaging writer, able to construct compelling and nuanced life stories in gripping prose ... [Bair's] access to Capone's descendants, and their family stories, makes compelling reading, and even fills in a few blank places in narratives of his evasions of the police and rival gangsters that Capone aficionados know well. Chicago Tribune
  • A definitive biography of 'Public Enemy #1' ... Bair has written perhaps the last word on Capone. Highly recommended. Library Journal
  • A meticulously researched and thorough account of the man described by a reporter in 1931 as 'gorgeously and typically American.' Publishers Weekly
  • Deirdre Bair’s command of her subject is encyclopedic. Al Capone not only tells us about America’s quintessential gangster, but also about the ineffectual politicians and misguided laws that paved the way for him. Never before have we had such a complete and engrossing picture of Capone’s life and times. Nicholas Pileggi, author of Wiseguy: Life in a Mafia Family and screenwriter of Goodfellas and Casino
  • Beautifully researched and immensely readable, Al Capone peels away layers to reveal a consistently surprising and exquisitely complex portrait of the man behind the legend. Karen Abbott, author of Sin in the Second City: Madams, Ministers, Playboys, and the Battle for America’s Soul
  • Deirdre Bair’s enticing new gangster biography knocks it out of the park. In the hands of a master life-storyteller, Al Capone’s brief, explosive career seems as all-American as apple pie and sawed-off shotguns. Fans of The Godfather, The Sopranos, or Boardwalk Empire are sure to find the book addictive. Marion Meade, author of Bobbed Hair and Bathtub Gin: Writers Running Wild in the Twenties
  • Mastering everything known about Capone while blending first-ever contributions from his extended clan, Deirdre Bair has sifted fact from countless fictions to produce an intimate, psychologically astute, and richly embroidered biography of the most famous criminal in American history. Dick Lehr, coauthor of Black Mass: Whitey Bulger, the FBI, and a Devil’s Deal
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations