Download After the Rain (Abridged) Audiobook

After the Rain (Abridged) Audiobook, by Chuck Logan Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Chuck Logan Narrator: Kevin Conway Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Phil Broker Series Release Date: July 2004 ISBN: 9780060782696
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (87 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $18.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Nina Pryce and her husband, Phil Broker, couldn't have more opposite views of the military. Broker's loyalty to the men he served with in Vietnam is matched only by his certainty that they shouldn't have been there in the first place. Nina is a new breed, a decorated and ambitious vet of the first Gulf War.

Incommunicado for months as part of a top-secret Delta anti-terrorist operation, Nina suddenly emerges in a town in the heart of the old Minuteman II missile belt. When Broker arrives, he immediately discovers that the legacy of those warheads still casts a sinister shadow across the desolate north border country, in the person of a damaged psychopath.

Broker discovers he's been drawn into an elaborate con within a con and made an unwitting participant in a black-bag anti-terrorist detail. But his anger toward Nina for involving him and putting their daughter at risk quickly fades as a larger, more deadly reality becomes evident. With time running out, husband and wife unite with local North Dakota law enforcement to form a last line of defense against a brilliantly simple act of espionage with potentially catastrophic consequences.

Performed by Kevin Conway

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Great reading—a thriller that looks straight into the eye of the post-9/11 landscape, and never blinks.”

    John Sandford, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “Hard-edged and gripping…The nuclear plot is ingenious and its final countdown is a nail-biter.” 

    Washington Post

  • “A hair-raising yarn that’s complicated, textured and artfully paced, building to a climax that’s almost unthinkable.”

    Minneapolis Star Tribune

  • “Conway’s smooth growl of a voice, reminiscent of a chain-smoker’s, successfully captures the raw reality that the team is up against, making him the ideal narrator for this tale…His hardened tone even works for the story’s female characters…Conway’s intense yet quiet delivery is well-timed, confident and just as precise as Logan’s prose.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • A 2005 Shamus Award Nominee for Best Novel

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Chuck Logan is the author of five novels featuring former Minnesota undercover cop Phil Broker. Formerly an illustrator and graphic designer and a veteran of the Vietnam War, he lives in Stillwater, Minnesota with his family.

About the Narrator

Kevin Conway has appeared in numerous films and on Broadway, including roles in Slaughterhouse Five, The Scarlet Letter, Gettysburg, and Gods and Generals. He has also narrated several audio books, including titles by Matthew Shaara, John MacDonald, and Peter Maas.