Extended Audio Sample

Download A Psalm for Lost Girls Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Psalm for Lost Girls Audiobook, by Katie Bayerl Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Katie Bayerl Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld, Kyla Garcia, Julia Whelan Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2017 ISBN: 9781524750138
Regular Price: $27.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

I’ll Give You the Sun meets True Detective in this brilliant YA novel about saints, sisters, and learning to let go.

Tess da Costa is a saint—a hand-to-god, miracle-producing saint. At least that’s what the people in her hometown of New Avon, Massachusetts, seem to believe. And when Tess suddenly and tragically passes away, her small city begins feverishly petitioning the pope to make Tess’s sainthood official. Tess’s mother is ecstatic over the fervor, while her sister Callie, the one who knew Tess best, is disgusted—overcome with the feeling that her sister is being stolen from her all over again.

The fervor for Tess’ sainthood only grows when Ana Langone, a local girl missing for six months, is found alive at the foot of one of Tess’ shrines. It’s the final straw for Callie. With the help of Tess’ secret boyfriend Danny, Callie is determined to prove that Tess was something far more important than a saint: she was her sister, her best friend and a girl in love with a boy. But Callie’s investigation uncovers much more than she bargained for—a hidden diary, old family secrets, and even the disturbing truth behind Ana’s kidnapping.

Told in alternating perspectives, A Psalm for Lost Girls is at once funny, creepy and soulful.

Download and start listening now!

c2mb

Quotes & Awards

  • “Fans of realistic fiction, mystery, or crime thrillers will find themselves at home in this spectacular debut…A compelling must-have for YA collections.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “[A] gripping story of loss and grace…Richly and evocatively written, Bayerl’s story is ideal for fans of Jandy Nelson and Melina Marchetta.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Narrators Saskia Maarleveld, Julia Whelan, and Kyla Garcia bring to life a teenager’s journey to discover if her dead sister is truly the miracle-making modern-day saint everyone believes her to be. Maarleveld handles the bulk of the performance; her cool, casual voice is a perfect fit for the grieving Callie da Costa as she tangles with the death of her saintly sister, Tess. Garcia gives a bright and hopeful performance of Tess through the diary she left behind. Whelan ties it all together as she narrates the story of a missing child whose reappearance could be Tess’ posthumously sanctified miracle. The trio provides a performance that will awaken, or reawaken, listeners to the possibility of miracles.”

    AudioFile

  • Barnes & Noble Most Anticipated Book of 2017
  • Bustle Pick for YA Debuts
  • Amazon Editor’s Top Pick for Best YA Books for Spring 2017
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

When Katie Bayerl isn’t penning stories, she coaches teens and nonprofits to tell theirs. She earned an MFA degree in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts and has taught creative writing in schools and a variety of community settings.

About the Narrators

Saskia Maarleveld is an experienced voice-over actress and AudioFile Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator. Raised in New Zealand and France, she is highly skilled with accents and dialects, and many of her books have been narrated entirely in accents other than her own. In addition to audiobooks, her voice can be heard in animation, video games, and commercials.

Kyla Garcia is a four-time winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award for narration. Born and raised in Hoboken, New Jersey, she discovered acting at the age of eight when she played Lady Macbeth in a children’s adaptation of Shakespeare’s tragedy. She made her off-Broadway debut at fifteen when she played Dorothy in Oz: A Twisted Musical. Eleven years after she discovered her passion for acting, she would go on to play Lady Macbeth once again in London at the Globe Theatre, where she studied Shakespeare during her third year at Mason Gross School of the Arts. She received her BFA in acting from Rutgers University.

Julia Whelan, winner of twelve AudioFile Earphones Awards, won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Romance Narration in 2013 and was twice a finalist for an Audie in 2015. She is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple films and television shows, most notably ABC’s Once and Again. After receiving her college degree, she returned to the film industry and is also a writer. Her audiobook credits include memoir, nonfiction, romance, supernatural thrillers, young adult, and adult fiction.