Download A Lily of the Field: An Inspector Troy Novel Audiobook

A Lily of the Field: An Inspector Troy Novel Audiobook, by John Lawton Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: John Lawton Narrator: Sara Coward, Lewis Hancock Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Inspector Troy Series Release Date: May 2018 ISBN: 9781538493649
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Spanning the tumultuous years of 1934 to 1948, John Lawton’s A Lily of the Field is a brilliant historical thriller from a master of the form. The book follows two characters—Méret Voytek, a talented young cellist living in Vienna at the novel’s start, and Dr. Karel Szabo, a Hungarian physicist interned in a camp on the Isle of Man. In his seventh Inspector Troy novel, Lawton moves seamlessly from Vienna and Auschwitz to the deserts of New Mexico and the rubble-strewn streets of postwar London, following the fascinating parallels of the physicist Szabo and musician Voytek as fate takes each far from home and across the untraditional battlefields of a destructive war to an unexpected intersection at the novel’s close. The result, A Lily of the Field, is Lawton’s best book yet, a historically accurate and remarkably written novel that explores the diaspora or two Europeans from the rise of Hitler to the postatomic age.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Lawton ties everything together with expert timing, breathtaking revelations, and one…genuinely frightening action scene that punctuates the ending.”

    Washington Post

  • “Lawton vividly limns a world weariness contrasted with earth-shaking historical events, all the while unraveling a complex and compelling mystery that will not be quickly forgotten. Highly recommended.”

    Library Journal

  • “Another complex and compellingly readable historic thriller from Lawton, full of profound questions and memorable characters.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

John Lawton is the author of the Inspector Troy series, the Joe Wilderness series, Sweet Sunday, and 1963, a volume of history. He has also edited reissued books by H. G. Wells, D. H. Lawrence, and Joseph Conrad. His Inspector Troy novels have been named Best Books of the Year by the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and New York Times Book Review. He lives in the north of England and Italy.

About the Narrators

Lewis Hancock is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.

Lewis Hancock is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.