A Cool and Lonely Courage: The Untold Story of Sister Spies in Occupied France Audiobook, by Susan Ottaway Play Audiobook Sample

Download A Cool and Lonely Courage: The Untold Story of Sister Spies in Occupied France Audiobook

A Cool and Lonely Courage: The Untold Story of Sister Spies in Occupied France Audiobook, by Susan Ottaway Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $12.95 Add to Cart
Author: Susan Ottaway Narrator: Catherine Harvey Publisher: Hachette Book Group Audio Length: Release Date: September 2014 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781478981220

Publisher Description

The incredible true story of British special agents Eileen and Jacqueline Nearne, sisters who risked everything to fight for freedom during the Second World War

When elderly recluse Eileen Nearne died, few suspected that the quiet little old lady was a decorated WWII war hero. Volunteering to serve for British intelligence at age twenty-one, Eileen was posted to Nazi-occupied France to send encoded messages of crucial importance for the Allies, until her capture by the Gestapo.

Eileen was not the only agent in her family—her sister Jacqueline was a courier for the French resistance. While Jacqueline narrowly avoided arrest, Eileen was tortured by the Nazis, then sent to the infamous Ravensbrück women’s concentration camp. Astonishingly, this resourceful young woman eventually escaped her captors and found her way to the advancing American army.

In this amazing true story of triumph and tragedy, Susan Ottaway unveils the secret lives of two sisters who sacrificed themselves to defend their country.

Download and start listening now!


  • “A life of incredible heroism and courage.”

    - Daily Express (London)
  • “Ottaway relates the harrowing true story of Eileen Nearne and her sister, Jacqueline, both British agents with the Special Operations Executive (SOE) who worked with the French Resistance in WWII…Both sisters were decorated for their wartime service, and Ottaway’s riveting account details the risks they took, the friends and colleagues they lost, and their family’s fate during the war.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “The two sisters in this story of World War II intelligence work were cool, collected, and unassuming…And that’s exactly the tone Catherine Harvey takes in her narration. That’s not to say her style is detached. She’s an engaging narrator and carries the story along well but doesn’t get in the way of the story. She lets events speak for themselves. Her diction is good, and her facility with French adds a nice touch. She adopts a more clipped tone when quoting official documents and dispatches, which gives the listener solid aural clues as to their sources.”

    - AudioFile
  • “Ottaway returns to the familiar territory of British agents in World War II France…Ottaway is a gifted storyteller, rarely losing momentum and skillfully weaving family strife, SOE bureaucratic problems, and on-the-ground Resistance work into a cohesive narrative. She draws attention to issues within the SOE administration but also goes to great lengths to show how their agents fought tirelessly for the cause…Compelling.”

    - Kirkus Reviews

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Susan Ottaway is the author of several books, including Violette Szabo: The Life That I Have, a biography of SOE agent Violette Szabo for which she personally interviewed Eileen Nearne. She has appeared on BBC television to be interviewed about her work, and she took part in the four-part television series for the Discovery History Channel entitled George Cross Heroes.

About the Narrator

Catherine Harvey is an actress whose television credits include Restless, Where the Heart Is, Casualty, and Judge John Deed, among others.