A Blade So Black Audiobook, by L. L. McKinney Play Audiobook Sample

Download A Blade So Black Audiobook

A Blade So Black Audiobook, by L. L. McKinney Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Author: L. L. McKinney Narrator: Jeanette Illidge Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners Audio Length: Series:The Blade So Black Series Release Date: October 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781250207302

Publisher Description

"With memorable characters and page-turning thrills, A Blade So Black is the fantasy book I've been waiting for my whole life. Alice is Black Girl Magic personified." —Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Hate U Give



For fans of Marissa Meyer, L.L. McKinney's A Blade So Black delivers an irresistible urban fantasy retelling of Alice in Wonderland... but it's not the Wonderland you remember.



The first time the Nightmares came, it nearly cost Alice her life. Now she's trained to battle monstrous creatures in the dark dream realm known as Wonderland with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills. Yet even warriors have a curfew.

Life in real-world Atlanta isn't always so simple, as Alice juggles an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a slipping GPA. Keeping the Nightmares at bay is turning into a full-time job. But when Alice's handsome and mysterious mentor is poisoned, she has to find the antidote by venturing deeper into Wonderland than she’s ever gone before. And she'll need to use everything she's learned in both worlds to keep from losing her head... literally.

Debut author L.L. McKinney delivers an action-packed twist on an old classic, full of romance and otherworldly intrigue.

And don't miss the thrilling sequel, A Dream So Dark!

An Imprint Book

"Mixing elements of Alice in Wonderland and Buffy the Vampire Slayer... Delectable." —Entertainment Weekly

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • Narrator Jeanette Illidge sets the perfect tone in this reimagined urban fantasy based on the classic Alice in Wonderland.

    - AudioFile
  • “This really is Lewis Carroll by way of Buffy, and it makes for a fun, gritty urban fantasy…[and] will set the new standard for teen readers.”

    - NPR
  • “A dark, thrilling fantasy-meets-contemporary story with a kick-ass heroine.”

    - Bustle
  • “A brash, refreshing, vitally diverse retelling of a classic… You need this book.”

    - Tor.com

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

L. L. McKinney is a writer, a poet, and an active member of the kidlit community. She’s an advocate for equality and inclusion in publishing, and the creator of the hashtag #WhatWoCWritersHear. She’s spent time in the slush by serving as a reader for agents and participating as a judge in various online writing contests.

About the Narrator

Carlotta Brentan is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.