Extended Audio Sample

Download Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?, by Dave Eggers Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Dave Eggers Narrator: MacLeod Andrews Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

From Dave Eggers, bestselling author of The Circle, comes a tightly controlled, emotionally searching novel. Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? is the formally daring, brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of his country, seeking answers the only way he knows how.

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn’t recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at his chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes. He didn’t want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn’t answer his messages. And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • "[A] story about someone who takes revenge against the world because he can’t fathom how he fits into it…This is a one-sitting read…Insightful.”

    USA Today

  • “Engaging…You have to go back to Steinbeck and Vonnegut to find a popular American novelist so willing to deploy his talents to such deliberately political ends…A moral fiction that’s as flexible and subtle as any other kind…The dialogue-only structure and depth of feeling in Your Fathers are to its credit. You know what Eggers wants to say, he says it quickly, and he says it with a respectably righteous fury. And, ultimately, he says it with a compassion that’s always been present in his work…Fascinating.” 

    Washington Post

  • “Eggers has a knack for potent images of frustration…So soon after Elliot Rodger’s California massacre, Eggers has produced something timely. There is a book to be written about angry young white men turning against a society that isn’t giving them what they think they’re owed.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “[It is] hard not to be affected by his charm and literary DIY…Working in the tradition of Manuel Puig’s Kiss of the Spiderwoman and Nicholson Baker’s Vox, the novel is without description or speaker attribution…Ambitious.”

    Boston Globe

  • “Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola…Another novel located in a frightened, divided, deceitful, and possibly disintegrating America…Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? is a hostage drama of sorts [with]…many skilfully delayed revelations…Privately and publicly astute, confirming that the writer’s joke about genius in his debut title was not entirely misplaced.”


  • “Unmistakably the work of a singular talent…With each tightly controlled book, Eggers’ fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling…Eggers again finds the perfect form for his subject matter…Eggers examines the cataclysms that occur when our lives veer from the narratives that we construct for them. He’s interested in the ‘throwaway people’ who don’t meet society’s expectations…Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: ‘What now?’”

    Independent [UK]

  • “[A] fleet and forceful story by one of our finest fiction writers…The author makes his points in stark exchanges, with little exposition, and the book’s spare style propels the reader to the end. Thomas isn’t a likeable character, but he’s an oddly sympathetic one—or, at least, one who is easy to recognize.” 

    San Jose Mercury News

  • “Eggers writes so well you would read a computer manual if it was by him, but beneath his beguiling style is a base note of genuine concern about those who find themselves out of kilter with society…Eggers shows the trip wire that lies between acknowledging the world is unfair and finding targets on whom to pin the blame when—perhaps the cruellest truth of all—the finger can rarely be pointed in any meaningful direction.”

    Herald (Scotland)

  • “A quick read, part psychological thriller, part political screed.”

    Library Journal

  • “[Eggers’] new novel is similarly message-laden but, since it’s brief and told exclusively in dialogue, doesn’t wear out its welcome.”

    Kirkus Review

  • “The book is presented almost like a play, and the result is an engaging, raw blunt instrument that only happens to resemble a work of literature. MacLeod Andrews does the bulk of the narration, complemented by a cadre of terrific voices that inhabit the characters they portray. There’s enough salty language to cover a ton of peanuts, but little of it is gratuitous, given the story’s conceit and the author’s writing, which tends to be on the edgy side.”


  • Nominated for the 2015 Audie Award for Literary Fiction
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations