Extended Audio Sample

Download The Vault: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Vault: A Novel, by Boyd Morrison Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (517 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Boyd Morrison Narrator: Boyd Gaines Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Tyler Locke Adventures Release Date: July 2011 ISBN: 9781442340213
Regular Price: $23.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the latest international thriller from bestselling author Boyd Morrison, former combat engineer Tyler Locke races against time to unearth the truth about the fabled touch of King Midas.

Tyler Locke’s routine commute on a Washington State ferry is interrupted by a chilling anonymous call: his father has been kidnapped, and a truck bomb is set to detonate onboard in twenty minutes. When Tyler reaches the bomb on the boat’s car deck, he’s stunned to find classical languages expert Stacy Benedict waiting for him. She’s received the same threat, and her sister has also been taken.

In order to disarm the bomb, Tyler and Stacy must work together to solve an engineering puzzle—a puzzle written in ancient Greek. But preventing the explosion is only the first step; they soon learn the entire setup is a test created by a ruthless criminal who forces them to go on a seemingly impossible mission: uncover the legendary lost riches of King Midas.

Tyler and Stacy have just five days to track down the gold. Armed with an ancient manuscript penned by brilliant Greek inventor Archimedes, they begin a quest to unravel a two-thousand-year-old mystery whose answer is hidden within the workings of a cryptic artifact: the Antikythera Mechanism, a device designed by Archimedes himself. To save their loved ones and prevent their captors from recovering a treasure that will finance unspeakable devastation, the two scramble to Italy, Germany, Greece, and finally to the streets of New York City in a race against the clock to find the truth behind the story of King Midas.

The Vault combines an explosive premise and blistering pace with a fascinating exploration of one of history’s most intriguing inventors and a brilliant reimagining of an ancient legend.

Download and start listening now!

BK_SANS_005587

Quotes & Awards

  • “A roller-coaster ride of gun-blazing action, fascinating historical references, and a nail-biting battle of wits.” 

    Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Fraught with action.” 

    Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author

  • “As good as gold!” 

    Chris Kuzneski, New York Times bestselling author

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Eric | 2/16/2014

    " I liked this book, A new hero with some different skills from the normal books that I have been reading lately. It looks like this was actually the second one so I have to go hit the library and find the first one. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Greg Curtin | 2/14/2014

    " In the vein of Patterson or Brown---this was a fun and quick easy read for the summer. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jp | 2/12/2014

    " This is another excellent adventure novel by Boyd Morrison. The story is action packed with many twists. An excellent read. I'm looking forward to more Tyler Locke adventures... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jonathan Wood | 2/10/2014

    " I'm not sure what it is that pulls these novels out of pulp awfulness into rollicking good fun. There is little that is identifiably good about them. But they just sort of roll along and carry you with them, and I read this with a satisfied grin on my face. Good times. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nanette | 2/9/2014

    " Another great story by Boyd Morrison. This adventure surrounds the story about King Midas. Fun, thrilling read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rick F. | 2/9/2014

    " Very entertaining and superbly researched thriller. Reading an exciting novel is great...learning about ancient history at the same time is even better! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julie | 12/24/2013

    " Fantastic novel very well written to maintain suspense throughout, evrytime you thought you could see what was going to happen, something else happened to change the course of your predictions, excellent bbook for anyone into thriller/mystery genre. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jason | 11/9/2013

    " A story about Midas and a search for his lost treasure. A much more plausible ending and theory than I had thought it would be, so I was pleasantly surprised, hence the 4 stars. Nice easy fun read. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Brett | 10/21/2013

    " Interesting plot idea, mediocre writing and non-existent character development. But a fast read, at least. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dee Haddrill | 10/2/2013

    " This is the second in the Tyler Locke series, who once again teams with his good friend, Grant Westfield, and yet another beautiful female sidekick, this time to find the final resting place of King Midas. Fast paced,action packed, and full of interesting facts, this is a great fun read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Steve Schlutow | 9/17/2013

    " This was an okay book.. The Vault is an easy, fun read.. Morrison takes an historical figure, Archimedes, adds some mystique to an interesting character to create a contemporary adventure.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Frank Wilem | 7/30/2013

    " Good action adventure author. I enjoyed this one and the others he has written. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Joshua | 7/6/2013

    " Entertaining quick read. Great for the gym as it keeps moving keeps you entertained while concentrating on not falling of the elliptical... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 James Crosby | 1/1/2013

    " An excellent thriller from start to finish. The author manages to make one of the great ancient greek stories into an exciting story filled with car chases, explosions that keep you hooked throughout. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jedidiah | 9/26/2012

    " A slightly above-average thriller. Not as good as his previous book The Ark, and has all kinds of pacing problems, but I'm kind of a sucker for quasi-fantastical archaeological thrillers like this. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephen | 8/19/2012

    " fast paced thriller based around the legend of the midas touch a bit predictable in parts but still a good read though "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Robyn | 4/15/2012

    " I absolutly adored this book. It took a children's fable and made it into something extremely creative that adults will enjoy as well. Extremely well written page turner. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Michael | 12/18/2011

    " Boyd Morrison is great. The Tyler Locke Series is a must read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nigel | 11/5/2011

    " Quite a good and easy read. Good development of the main characters from the "Noahs Ark Quest" A good legend to base the story around if a bit far fetched in places, on the whole really enjoyed and look forward to the return of Tyler Locke. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David | 5/16/2011

    " Received as an ARC via my employer Barnes & Noble.
    Wonderfully exciting. Was King Midas real and where's his treasure?
    That's the legend that this techno-thriller investigates. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations