Extended Audio Sample

Download The Spree of ’83 Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Spree of ’83 Audiobook, by Freddy Powers Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Freddy Powers, Catherine Powers Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 1, 2017 ISBN: 9781441703958
Regular Price: $19.95 Pre-Order
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Pre-Order learn more )

The Los Angeles Times affectionately referred to Freddy Powers as the ‘Ol Blue Eyes’ of Country Music,’ and wrote that if you were to “ask country superstars Willie Nelson, George Jones or Merle Haggard (they’ll)…tell you that he’s one of country music’s best-kept secrets.”

The Texas Country Music Hall of Fame inductee has been to the top of the charts as both a producer for Willie Nelson’s Grammy-winning LP Over the Rainbow, and as a songwriter for many of country music legend Merle Haggard’s number one hits.

Now, for the first time, Freddy recounts the entertaining and emotional stories behind his decades-long roller coaster ride through the music business; his voyage to the top of the charts, and his inspiring battle against Parkinson’s disease. Helping Freddy tell his story are exclusive interviews from fellow country music legends Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, John Rich, Tanya Tucker, The Voice finalist and Powers’ protégé Mary Sarah, along with a host of other Nashville luminaries.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Anybody that don’t like Freddy Powers, I put ’em under immediate suspicion.”

    Merle Haggard

  • “One of the most creatively-rambunctious artists in the history of country music.”

    Saving Country Music

  • “Freddy’s strongest suit, I always thought, was his rhythm guitar playing. He was a great rhythm guitar player, and he wrote some great songs with and for Merle.”

    Willie Nelson

  • “He’s a great a writer, and I think he’s one of the least-recognized of the great country songwriters, and doesn’t really get his credit due.”

    Tanya Tucker, award-winning country music singer

  • “Powers’ name stands alongside some of country music’s most enduring classics.”

    Austin Chronicle

  • “A freewheeling, often poignant oral history of one of the unsung heroes of Country Music, told colorfully by Powers and a cast of familiar characters who knew and loved him best.”

    Stephen L. Betts, Nashville music journalist, Rolling Stone Country

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Freddy and Catherine Powers have been married for over twenty-five years, with Catherine managing Freddy’s career as a prolific performer and Texas Country Music Hall of Fame songwriter, where he is most celebrated for co-writing numerous hits for Merle Haggard, including fan favorites like “Let’s Chase Each Other Around the Room Tonight,” “I Always Get Lucky With You,” “Natural High,” and “A Place to Fall Apart.” Freddy is the recipient of Lifetime Achievement Awards by the Nashville Songwriter’s Association International, the Texas Music Academy, and the Texas Guitar Association, the CMA Triple Play Award, and the BMI #1 Song Award among other coveted distinctions and honors.