Extended Audio Sample

Download The Oversight Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Oversight, by Charlie Fletcher Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Charlie Fletcher Narrator: Simon Prebble Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Oversight Trilogy Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Only five still guard the borders between the worlds.

Only five hold back what waits on the other side.

Once the Oversight, the secret society that polices the lines between the mundane and the magic, counted hundreds of brave souls among its members. Now their numbers can be counted on a single hand.

When a vagabond brings a screaming girl to the Oversight’s London headquarters, it seems their hopes for a new recruit will be fulfilled—but the girl is a trap.

As the borders between this world and the next begin to break down, murders erupt across the city, the Oversight are torn viciously apart, and their enemies close in for the final blow.

This gothic fantasy from Charlie Fletcher, author of the Stoneheart trilogy, spins a tale of witch-hunters, supra-naturalists, mirror-walkers, and magicians. Meet the Oversight, and remember: when they fall, so do we all.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realized. This feels like the start of something amazing.”

    Mike Carey, New York Times bestselling author of The Unwritten

  • “Full of clever blendings of real history and imaginary embellishments…Compelling and hypnotic.”

    Boing Boing

  • “Richly atmospheric (the evil lurks in the background of every paragraph), the book should be a big hit with supernatural-fantasy readers. This is the first of a projected trilogy, and two things are apparent: three books might not be enough to tell this epic-size story, and the second book can’t come soon enough.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “There used to be hundreds in the Oversight, guarding our world from magic, but they have dwindled to a single Hand…The long odds and high stakes keep the tension high and the pages turning, while the world building and characters are worth lingering over. Fans of Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell will enjoy this.”

    Library Journal

  • “First of a Dickensian supernatural—or, as Fletcher prefers it, ‘supranatural’—fantasy trilogy, from the screenwriter and author of Stoneheart…Intriguing.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “A teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realized. This feels like the start of something amazing.”

    Mike Carey, writer for Marvel and DC Comics

  • “I couldn't stop reading…It really is a richly atmospheric and intensely readable slice of Victoriana: gothic as all get out, with a splendidly eerie sense of the way the unearthly lies cheek-by-jowl with the mundane. Cheerable goodies, grotesque baddies: the whole book is adventurous and flavorsome and gripping. I really enjoyed it.”

    Adam Roberts, author of Yellow Blue Tibia

  • “Fletcher’s Victorian London is juicily vivid, and laced with macabre wit. There’s a real sense of grim danger, both natural and unnatural, hungrily awaiting the slightest misstep.”

    Frances Hardinge, bestselling author of Fly by Night

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations