Extended Audio Sample

Download The Night Strangers: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Night Strangers: A Novel Audiobook, by Chris Bohjalian Click for printable size audiobook cover
2.78 out of 52.78 out of 52.78 out of 52.78 out of 52.78 out of 5 2.78 (9 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Chris Bohjalian Narrator: Alison Fraser, Mark Bramhall Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: October 2011 ISBN: 9780307940780
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the bestselling author of The Double Bind, Skeletons at the Feast, and Secrets of Eden, comes a riveting and dramatic ghost story.
 
In a dusty corner of a basement in a rambling Victorian house in northern New Hampshire, a door has long been sealed shut with 39 six-inch-long carriage bolts. 
           
The home's new owners are Chip and Emily Linton and their twin ten-year-old daughters. Together they hope to rebuild their lives there after Chip, an airline pilot, has to ditch his 70-seat regional jet in Lake Champlain after double engine failure. Unlike the Miracle on the Hudson, however, most of the passengers aboard Flight 1611 die on impact or drown. The body count? Thirty-nine – a coincidence not lost on Chip when he discovers the number of bolts in that basement door. Meanwhile, Emily finds herself wondering about the women in this sparsely populated White Mountain village – self-proclaimed herbalists – and their interest in her fifth-grade daughters. Are the women mad? Or is it her husband, in the wake of the tragedy, whose grip on sanity has become desperately tenuous?   

The result is a poignant and powerful ghost story with all the hallmarks readers have come to expect from bestselling novelist Chris Bohjalian: a palpable sense of place, an unerring sense of the demons that drive us, and characters we care about deeply.

The difference this time? Some of those characters are dead.


From the Hardcover edition. Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_002768

Quotes & Awards

  • After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won't leave them alone. Good 'n' spooky. Good Housekeeping
  • Put a haunted man in a haunted house. . .and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it's more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand. Yankee Magazine
  • A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel. Booklist, Starred Review
  • Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones and Margaret Atwood's Cat's Eye and The Robber Bride will find similar appeal here. Library Journal, Starred Review 
  • Compelling. . .a practical magick horror story. Kirkus Reviews
  • A gripping paranormal thriller. . .Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride. Publishers Weekly
  • A delicious and haunting tale. . .Bohjalian is a terrific writer and parsimonious in the way he issues information, slowly building an increasing sense of dread and excitement. Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • You will close the book's covers totally satisfied, aware that this masterful storyteller has done it again. Seattle Times
  • Bohjalian uses a clean-edged pen to dice, toss, and serve a gasp-inducing plot that is ghost story-meets psychological thriller. . .The book has a spellbinding clutch. A mélange of horror, thrill, drama, sex, and gore—juxtaposed against the quiet and solitude of a small New England town—it will test your courage and resolve. . .[It] will invade your world. Armenian Weekly
  • A spellbinding, heart-pounding novel. . .this is one perfect book for Halloween. Book Page
  • Masterfully crafted. . .a suspense-filled ghost story set in rural New Hampshire. . .This is a great read filled with real-life characters, an intricate story line and just enough 'spooky.' Grand Rapids Press
  • Compelling. . .a ghost story in the tradition of such classics of the genre as 'The Turn of the Screw' and 'The Haunting of Hill House.' Tulsa World
  • This moody, atmospheric story chills the bones and doesn't let up until the last brutal page. It is a creepy gothic mystery just right for Halloween. Parkersburg News & Sentinel
  • Echoes of Rosemary's Baby and The Shining. . .Read if you dare, but keep an extra light on, and make sure your seat is in the full upright and locked position. USA Today
     
  • Riveting. . .seamless. . .a hell of a good ghost story. Justin Cronin, author of The Passage
  • The Night Strangers boasts all the trappings of a classic Gothic horror story, reminiscent in places of the spousal secrets in Nathaniel Hawthorne’s ‘Young Goodman Brown,’ the thrills of ‘Rosemary’s Baby,’ and the psychological frights of Daphne du Maurier. . .A perfect book for Halloween. . .That thump thump you hear as you read is only your heart leaping from your chest. Keith Donohue, Washington Post
  • Shades of The Shining make for a haunting tale. . .A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over. Family Circle

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cindy | 11/8/2011

    " can't quite give it a 4, but it is a well written creepy story. Anise is one sick puppy. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Arielle | 11/7/2011

    " I had to stop reading this early on because I don't do well with frightening stories, but what an amazing writer! If it were only less creepy. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary Catherine | 11/6/2011

    " Would have gotten four stars but the ending was absolutely horrible. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Heidi | 11/5/2011

    " Official confirmation that I am not a fan of this genre. Stephen King meets Danielle Steel. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Kerry | 11/5/2011

    " Read half of this book but it never grabbed me. I'm giving up. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Susan | 11/5/2011

    " This was almost a four-star, but not quite! It reminded me a LOT of a Jodi Picoult book. I just felt it needed a little more, a twist, something. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jenn | 11/4/2011

    " A very creepy book...with a few surprises to be had, especially the ending. I haven't read a book like this in quite a while. I wasn't really "scared", just had a palpable sense of unease throughout the whole novel; I really didn't know what was going to happen. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jessica | 11/4/2011

    " This was my least favorite of all the Chris Bohjalian books I've read. It read like a horror movie and the ending was unsatisfying. It's too bad, because I found his other books riveting. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Doris | 11/3/2011

    " I was very interested in the plane crash details and the aftermath for the pilot. He's not Solly Sollenberg, but who is. Had a surprize ending and I really enjoyed the book. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Chris Bohjalian

Chris Bohjalian is the author of numerous books, including several that made the New York Times bestselling list. His novel Midwives was a selection of Oprah’s Book Club. His work has been translated into more than thirty languages, and three of his novels have been made into movies.

About the Narrator

Mark Bramhall has won thirty-four AudioFile Earphones Awards and has twice been a finalist for the Audiobook Publishers Association’s prestigious Audie Award for best narration. He has been named by Publishers Weekly and AudioFile magazine among their “Best Voices of the Year” in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013. He is also an award-winning actor whose acting credits include off-Broadway, regional, and many Los Angeles venues as well as television, animation, and feature films. He has taught and directed at the American Academy of Dramatic Art.