Extended Audio Sample

Download The Last Magazine: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Last Magazine: A Novel, by Michael Hastings Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael Hastings Narrator: Ramiz Monsef Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A posthumous debut novel—wry, wise, and outrageous—from award-winning journalist Michael Hastings, based on his experiences working for Newsweek

The year is 2002. Weekly news magazines dominate the political agenda in New York and Washington. A young journalist named Michael M. Hastings is an intern at the Magazine, wet behind the ears, the only one in the office who has actually read his coworkers’ books. He will stop at nothing to turn his internship into a full-time position and has figured out just who to impress: Nishant Patel, the international editor, and Sanders Berman, managing editor—both vying for the job of editor-in-chief. While Berman and Nishant try to one-up each other pontificating on cable news, A. E. Peoria—the one reporter seemingly doing any work—is having a career crisis. He has just returned from Chad, where instead of reporting on the genocide, he was told by his editors to focus on mobile-phone outsourcing, as it’s more relevant. Then suddenly, the United States invades Iraq—and all hell breaks loose.

As Hastings loses his naïveté about the journalism game, he must choose where his loyalties lie: with the men at the Magazine who can advance his career or with his friend in the field who is reporting the truth.

The Last Magazine is the debut novel from Michael Hastings, discovered in his files after his death in June 2013. Based on Hastings’ own experiences, it is funny, sharp, and fast-paced, a great book about the news game’s final days in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh’s Scoop, Hunter S. Thompson’s The Rum Diary, and Calvin Trillin’s Floater.

Download and start listening now!

9739

Quotes & Awards

  • “[Hastings’] dialogue pops off the page…The suffering amid the insufferable is comic gold, and Hastings had no time for heroes. The world he created is filled with lost boys stamping their feet for validation. This could be the perfect summer bro comedy. Paging Judd Apetow!”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “A convincing account of the perils of war—and of the journalistic wars of an institution under siege from New Media…The Last Magazine remains a loving account of a profession Hastings believed was honorable and tried to honor. Only the guilty have something to fear.”

    San Francisco Chronicle

  • “Surely Michael Hastings would have savored the taste of revenge had he lived to see his first novel, The Last Magazine, published…The humor throughout is searing….entertaining.”

    New York Daily News

  • “Narrator Ramiz Monsef makes the most of the novel’s diverse characters…He crafts an educated Indian lilt for a senior editor, a slight Southern drawl for a high-profile writer, and a crisp British accent for a blogger. As the story bounces between the points of view of Hastings and Peoria, Monsef blends humor and drama in a well-done narration.”

    AudioFile

  • “Powerful, sharp, often funny, and very compelling reading.”

    Booklist

  • “A posthumous novel about the news business…In a way, the book reflects Hastings’ career arc, from unpaid intern at Newsweek to one of the essential war correspondents of his generation. A ribald comedy about doing time in the trenches and the bitter choices that integrity demands.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations