Extended Audio Sample

Download The Kings and Queens of Roam Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Kings and Queens of Roam, by Daniel Wallace Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Daniel Wallace Narrator: Angela Brazil Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $21.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Helen and Rachel McCallister, who live in a town called Roam, are as different as sisters can be: Helen older, bitter, and conniving; Rachel beautiful, naïve—and blind. When their parents die an untimely death, Rachel has to rely on Helen for everything, but Helen embraces her role in all the wrong ways, convincing Rachel that the world is a dark and dangerous place she couldn’t possibly survive on her own … or so Helen believes, until Rachel makes a surprising choice that turns both their worlds upside down. In this new novel, Southern literary master Daniel Wallace returns to the tradition of tall tales and folklore made memorable in his bestselling Big Fish. The Kings and Queens of Roam is a wildly inventive, beautifully written, and big-hearted tale of family and the ties that bind.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BBCA_001365

Quotes & Awards

  • “There is much magic in Daniel Wallace’s superb new novel—curses, caves, even a haunted wood—but the most impressive magic is Wallace’s understanding of the human heart’s depths and vagaries. The Kings and Queens of Roam is a fairy tale for adults.”

    Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author

  • “An imaginative, sentimental modern-day tall tale…Wallace’s far-fetched, rollicking yarn, written in the vein of Manly Wade Wellman and Fred Chappell, consistently engages the reader.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Brimming with his brilliant visions and wise observations about life. Part fairy tale, part myth and legend, the city of Roam and her inhabitants—both living and dead—materialize in ways that are equal parts comedy and tragedy.”

    Jill McCorkle, author of Life after Life

  • “I paused just as often to savor the beauty of Wallace’s sentences as I did to wipe away tears at his characters’ predicaments. An epic and modern fairy tale of sisters and friendship.”

    Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief

  • “Reading The Kings and Queens of Roam is like living, for a few hundred pages, in another world: beautiful, epic, tragic, and ultimately redemptive. In Roam Daniel Wallace has created his own Macondo. This is his best novel yet.”

    Wesley Stace, author of Charles Jessold, Considered as a Murderer

  • “Wallace’s eerie fairy tale for grown-ups is a melancholy yet enchanting pastiche of love, loss, redemption, and revenge.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • Selected for the May 2013 Indie Next List
  • A BookPage Book of the Day, May 2013
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations